1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Driver Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,762

    Location: Cornwall

    I thought it was decided that this was working as intended? Why call it a fix if it wasn't broken?
     
  2. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,162

    Location: Dormanstown.

    I still get it lol.
     
  3. Shiari

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 11, 2013

    Posts: 795

    Location: Nottingham

    I know right! Next bug below that was one I was also getting, it was notifying me twice.
     
  4. ree

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 22, 2016

    Posts: 1,281

    so it's working as intended :p

    boys from amd had a long new year of hitting the bevvy hard and just needed to put things on a list so not to be fired :D
     
  5. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 18,566

    Location: The KOP

    Because it is. I was waiting for this reply lol
    So I even taken a picture but not at pc right now will post later.

    If you check for update. The driver still says recommended driver 18.12.2 and new optional 19.1.1
     
  6. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 18,566

    Location: The KOP

    I think the confusion is from how amd name the notification.
    And I believe you shouldn't get the update message if you already running beta driver.

    For example
    If you running 19.1.1 you should only get a notification if a new driver is ready 19.2.1 for example.
    If you check manually then you get told a recommended driver is available 18.12.2 and optional 19.2.1
     
  7. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,152

    Location: Knowhere

    Update for 21:9 VSR support

    I just installed 19.1.1 and VSR is now working with 3440x1440 monitors.

    Great news :D

    I just tried some Wolfenstein 2 at 5120x2160 and it did surprisingly well staying north of 60 for the most part, There's a selection of the usual suspects that need a lot of tweaking to run well but for the most part they manage to look as good at lower settings on the higher res as they did at higher settings with the lower res so it sorta cancels it out in those games making it a completely pointless switch :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  8. EastCoastHandle

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2018

    Posts: 304

  9. SpudMaster

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 23, 2004

    Posts: 2,710

    Location: blackburn

    Anyone else getting a black screen issue with the latest drivers? I'm having to stick with 18.12.1 as any drivers later than those give me a black screen when I restart. Windows starts to load but after the Windows logo I just get a black screen. I have to go into safe mode to remove the drivers so I can reinstall 18.12.1.
     
  10. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,152

    Location: Knowhere

    I'm using Vega64 with 19.1.1, no problems to report yet.
     
  11. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 18,566

    Location: The KOP

    @GoogalyMoogaly @Martini1991 @Shiari

    FYI
    This is how the driver will list updates available. Currently installed beta driver, recommenced driver will be the last WHQL driver and the latest new beta driver will be shown as optional.

    The confusion is coming from the software popping up with a older driver, and I believe only when the user manually checks for update it should list the older driver.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. EastCoastHandle

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2018

    Posts: 304

    I agree it's confusing. Sure we know we are using beta drivers.
    However, IMO, AMD should just leave that alone and go back to the way they did this before.
     
  13. Armadillo

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 29, 2004

    Posts: 3,362

    Does AMD have the option to force adaptive v-sync yet (so v-sync on when hitting refresh, and off if you drop frames)? When I still had my 290 you had to use radeon pro or similar to get it. I did search, but a lot of people seem to confuse adaptive v-sync with adaptive sync.

    I guess with freesync being cheap and fairly common, there's not much call, but it's still a nice option to have.

    Thanks.
     
  14. chaosophy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 3, 2007

    Posts: 1,552

    Location: London

    I think AMD Enhanced Sync basically does this.

    At frame rates at and above refresh rate it will display the latest full frame rendered - so basically vsync but it can discard an older frame from buffer to display the latest frame to minimise input lag, with no tearing - below refresh rate it's basically vsync off, so you may get tearing but again it tries to minimise input lag.
     
  15. weldon855

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 21, 2013

    Posts: 603

    Location: Ireland

    There was no confusion, it was a bug. The release notes confirm this so hopefully it's fixed now.
     
  16. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 18,566

    Location: The KOP

    Agreed the pop up telling you a new driver is available was the bug that AMD fixed. Like a said above and where I am not wrong is when you manually check for an update! See image above. This is what AMD has done for a very long time.
     
  17. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 19, 2004

    Posts: 6,456

    Location: n/east-the toon

  18. SpudMaster

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 23, 2004

    Posts: 2,710

    Location: blackburn

  19. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 26,719

    Location: In a house

    Was only a Beta then.
     
  20. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 11,886

    Location: PA, USA

    Get the notification EVERYTIME I boot up. Mildly irritating to have it pop up when I have a newer driver installed. Dumb.

    Of course... I am the type that is mildly obsessed with closing out notifications so for me it is annoying.