1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Driver Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 11,171

    Location: Milkyway Galaxy

    @LtMatt you still the AMD rep ? Any chance you could push for a tiny tiny addition to OSD system monitoring ? CPU Die Average Temp and CPU Clock :D
     
  2. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,300

    Location: United Kingdom

    Not the community rep here no, but i still work for them.

    Request it as a future feature.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,784

    Off topic I know but what do you do now ?
     
  4. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,300

    Location: United Kingdom

    A few things Pete, now a Tech support engineer.

    I create FAQs, knowledge based articles (some of the stuff found here) L2/3 tech support (via service request on the amd website and the AMD Support forums).

    I stopped being the official AMD community manager of OcuK back in May 2015.

    I visit here as a user now not as a rep of AMD so anyone looking to report issues should do it through the official channels.
     
  5. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,013

    AMD on are their way up and up and.... We need a new forum rep. :)
     
  6. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,300

    Location: United Kingdom

    Not my call unfortunately. :)

    How are you getting on with your Asrock 5700 XT bug? I'm betting it's no 7870 is it.
     
  7. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,013

    In performance terms its everything i wanted, its really quick and the power efficiency is pretty good too, ASRock could have done a much better job on its cooler tho, its not a cooler for a card of its calibre, i have to work on keeping it within reasonable temps and i know what i'm doing.

    The Navi GPU its self is very good i like it.

    I have had problem with the drivers, it freezing and even BSOD very occasionally when loading Youtube, and the Image quality for recording is frankly not comparable to the image quality on the GTX 1070 it replaced, i'm using Mirillis Action to get that quality but i'm using AMD's encoder... so it can do it, it just doesn't, AMD recording software need work on the image quality.

    As for the new software UI and features... love it, Nvidia could learn a lot from it, their software is ridiculously dated in comparison.

    I made a detailed bug report about the freezing / black screen / BSOD issues....

    Some constructive feedback i hope :)
     
  8. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2005

    Posts: 14,823

    Location: North East

    Did any of the tips i give you humbug help with tearing or did you not see the post, if not go back and have a look if you want.
     
  9. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,013

    I don't use Chrome, FireFox.

    I have updated to Windows 2004 and turned off VVR in the Windows Graphics Settings, so far no screen tearing or Freezes / BSOD. :)

    thanks for the info....
     
  10. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2005

    Posts: 14,823

    Location: North East

    Np. Hope it helped a bit.

    Also check monitor drivers, dunno if i said that, if official crashes try the generic windows one, helped me with freesync to work at least. Also refresh rates, also if ur mb is using pcie4 try pcie 3 setting, some say it might help if u get more crashing.
     
  11. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,013

    You did, i never install Monitor Drivers, just use the generic windows ones, Motherboard is PCIe 3 only.
     
  12. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,013

  13. pugheaven

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 22, 2008

    Posts: 2,580

    Location: Bryn Celyn Wales

    I've gone back to the March 19th I think they are... the 20.3.1 drivers... both the 20.4 and 20.5 both cause problems with a white screen during gameplay and dropping out 2 of my 3 DP monitors... now I've gone back to these 20.3.1, nothing and solid as a rock. So, I won't bother upgrading drivers as I don't necessarily use the latest and greatest games so, if it ain't broke don't fix.
     
  14. SkeeterUK

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2005

    Posts: 14,823

    Location: North East

    Could be a setting causing it in gfx options, ive read changing aa to SMAA (1TX) may help. Maybe go through em to try find one causing it. If its not the aa options. Try directional occlusion to off also. Try different modes like windowed or the other ones, could be vsync issues.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2020
  15. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,784

    I think I've found the problem with your 5700xt woes



    :D
     
  16. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,784

    Nice, was that a choice in job roles or more of a promotion thing, Just being nosey :)

    Tell ya boss you're getting flak for deserting us OCUKers :D
     
  17. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,013

    lol.....

    I'll try that.
     
  18. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,300

    Location: United Kingdom

    The offer of a permanent contract rather than contracting was the deciding factor, and it turned out to be the right move. :)
     
  19. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,784

    Nice one ! :cool:
     
  20. Yrkoon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 15, 2006

    Posts: 2,124

    Location: Edinburgh

    recently played that game again and had no problems on vulkan, fps was stuck to 200 though for max.

    5700 pulse gpu.