1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**THE AMD DRIVERS THREAD**

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by pgi947, Apr 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MeMeMeMe

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2009

    Posts: 2,719

    Last time I ran Crysis (6000x1200) I got pretty good performance, can't remember the FPS but it was smooth. CPU isn't overclocked, didn't disable any cores - GPUs weren't 100% use

    Admittedly I wasn't running AAx8, which would probably do it. That seems like ridiculous overkill on a game which doesn't work too well with AA at all (I remember being advised to use the console command to activate its implementation of edge-detect AAx4 so that foliage looked its best).
     
  2. Bodom

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2010

    Posts: 384

    Loving the new beta driver every game I have played so far seems to be running really smooth.
     
  3. ahenners

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 31, 2010

    Posts: 1,304

    Location: Lancashire

    Is this new beta driver largely for xfire setups? Or is there some bonus to a single card over 13.4?
     
  4. Steampunk

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,282

    All new drivers have other fixes that aren't mentioned, and changes that affect single card performance too.
     
  5. ahenners

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 31, 2010

    Posts: 1,304

    Location: Lancashire

    Thanks, wasn't sure with it being a beta. Will give it a go.
     
  6. jellofund

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 19, 2011

    Posts: 147

    Am I right in thinking that AMD now include the latest CAPS profiles in with the beta drivers, so you don't need to d/l & install them seperately?
     
  7. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,003

    Location: United Kingdom

    Correct.
     
  8. jellofund

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 19, 2011

    Posts: 147

    Thanks for the quick reply LtMatt - much appreciated.

    I thought that was the case but just wanted to be 100% sure.
     
  9. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Hopefully this is the right forum.
    I've never had this issue before, but in dxdiag, hardware monitor and in Sleeping Dogs game, they all display my old graphics card details.
    I've upgraded from an asus 6850 to the HIS 7950. I've upgraded drivers on various cards with no issue before. I've followed the first page of this thread to the letter, but still it seems there is something detecting my old card. I'm sure this is hampering my performance as sleeping dogs on normal settings only gives me 30fps with lows of 14fps!!
    Any help please?
     
  10. Steampunk

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,282

    Uninstall the drivers, then use the AMD wipe tool to get rid of anything still lying about. Then reinstall the latest drivers.
     
  11. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,003

    Location: United Kingdom

    I'm guessing you might be cpu bottlenecked if your sig is up to date.
     
  12. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Hello.

    Yeah I tried the AMD tool as well. It seemd to work, then when I restarted again the old values returned. It's as if they're ghosted somewhere and keep defaulting? I've even tried ccleaner, running driver wiper in safe mode etc all to clear registry entries. I'm thinking manually cleaning the registry may be the only way.
     
  13. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Would my cpu really hold it back on just normal settings? I've not even installed the HD content.
    I do know it's one of the hardest games to get up and running. Very badly optimised.
     
  14. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,003

    Location: United Kingdom

    Actually the game is extremely well optimized.

    I've seen a 7850 get bottlenecked by an i3 Ivybridge cpu with hyper threading in this game so i would suggest your problem likely lies with your cpu.
     
  15. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Blimey! Never thought it was that intensive. I did notice during the benchies that my gpu was 100% load.
    My only caveat to that would be the fact I have lower performance with my new card than the old.
     
  16. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,003

    Location: United Kingdom

    What is your gpu usage like while playing the actual game?
     
  17. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    It still loads out and I get screen tearing and bad stuttering. It ran smooth on my old card with just normal settings. I've also completely uninstalled the game and cleared all my old saves and settings so it would start fresh. I'm convinced it's due to a driver clash with the old drivers. Just don't know how to fix it
     
  18. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,003

    Location: United Kingdom

    Try following steps 1-10 in this guide and see if that fixes the problem. If it doesn't then you can rule out driver issues i expect.

    I assume you're using the latest 13.10 beta drivers?
     
  19. Phixsator

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 10, 2012

    Posts: 3,271

    I would disable Windows auto driver download from windows update just to be on the safe side.. Makes no sense but neither does the rest of your problem from what i been able to read so fare.
     
  20. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Ok, thanks. I'll try that when I get home.
    Driverfusion is the same as driversweeper isn't it? It's the first time I've used it as I always used driversweeper.
    I tried the 13.10 but had the same issues so went back to the 13.4. I was hoping the jump from 13.4 to 13.10 then back again using all the uninstalls and wipes would finally erase the old ones.

    If that fails then I can see a clean install on the cards. Oh joy :rolleyes:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.