1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**THE AMD DRIVERS THREAD**

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by pgi947, Apr 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Thanks, I'll do this as well.
    Just never had this sort of issue with drivers before.
    GPUZ records it fine. I've ran furmark etc and they all record it fine as well. Just seems to be hardware monitor, dxdiag and sleeping dogs. Very frustrating.
     
  2. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,214

    Location: United Kingdom

    On the cards? You have crossfire?
     
  3. Phixsator

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 10, 2012

    Posts: 3,475

    The last thing that might not be so bad an idea would be a fresh install. A complete format and reinstall. Of course that would also be a tad annoying if your not the kind that already does it like 2 times a week like some of the rest of us.
     
  4. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Hoho, sorry LtMatt. I meant 'on the cards' as in the expression. Maybe shouldn't use that in a graphics card forum :)

    Twice a week? Blimey! Nope, I try and avoid it as much as possible. Only just got skyrim running how I want it mods wise.
    I suppose it shouldn't take too long. Got most of my files and steam etc on my other drive. It would completely clean it up and get rid of all traces.
    I'll try the other steps first, fingers-crossed.

    Thanks folks.
     
  5. martos123

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 6, 2010

    Posts: 304

    I've had a few Red Screen crashes since going to 13.10 in Saints row 4 and Blacklist. No issues with temperature, and ULPS is definately off according to Afterburner. I have cleaned the drivers out and reinstalled, but still having probs. Seems to be ok for a while and will then just crash.

    I have also removed overclocks on CPU, but issue still there.
     
  6. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,214

    Location: United Kingdom

    Try bumping dram voltage in your bios a notch or two and see if it goes away.
     
  7. sportbilly

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 1, 2009

    Posts: 80

    Has there been any indication when the frame pacing improvements are likely to be brought to eyefinity ? I expect 2 cards driving 3 screens create a lot more synchronisation issues !

    I have a 6990 using 3 screens at 5760x1080 and I'm really tempted by a 7990 which will get pretty close to doubling my performance in a lot of games and usefully move from 2gb per GPU to 3gb which is likely to help at eyefinity resolution. However, I am a little hesitant to commit without seeing an improvement or at least some technical website having actually seen the improvements at eyefinity.

    Cheers
     
  8. martos123

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 6, 2010

    Posts: 304

    Have bumped DRAM to 1.675V (was 1.65 previously as this is the rated voltage for my RAM). Will see how it goes, thanks LtMatt!
     
  9. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,214

    Location: United Kingdom

    Its normally either lack of dram voltage or lack of voltage to the core of the gpu. :)
     
  10. MG42Maniac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 28, 2005

    Posts: 1,642

    Location: Lymington

    I'm running the 13.10 betas but I'm still getting choppy gameplay (ULPS is off). The game in question is Far Cry 3. Is this game always going to be choppy when running Xfire? If I use just one 7950 it's fine and totally smooth. I'm very new to Xfire so this is the first game I've played with it and even with the newest beta drivers it's dreadful. My next game will be Crysis 3. I hope it's better optimised!
     
  11. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,214

    Location: United Kingdom

    Farcry 3 runs like my underpants after a dodgy curry. Its a bloody mess. You can make it smooth by doing the following.

    Download radeonpro. Setup a farcry 3 profile. Change vsync to always on, lock fps limit to vsync limit in radeon pro. In game disable vsync and set gpu buffer frame to 1.
     
  12. MG42Maniac

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 28, 2005

    Posts: 1,642

    Location: Lymington

    haha nicely put!

    I'll give those suggestions a go, cheers!

    EDIT: Just tried it out, perfectly smooth, top man!
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2013
  13. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,214

    Location: United Kingdom

    Good lad. :)
     
  14. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 453

    Morning

    Just an update on my issue (for those that are interested;))
    I've tried all the options people have suggested on here, even reverted to using the old driversweeper instead of driverfusion, and no dice. I finally did a manual wipe of all AMD/ATI drivers, folders, registry entries etc and then installed the 13.4 drivers. This seemed to work, hardware monitor reported my card as a 7900 series. Dxdiag did the same. Managed to get a quick 20 mins on sleeping dogs and all was fine with the world. I restarted my machine and BAM! back to 6850!!!! I'm finally giving up and doing a fresh install. Just hate not knowing why this issue is happening.
    I have a theory that my asus motherboard was in love my old asus 6850 and just can't let her go....
     
  15. Ferrari100

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 23, 2013

    Posts: 511

    Location: Gggg

    far cry runs smooth for me on my 7990.
    Really Smooth at 1080

    And amazingly well at 4k too considering its not supported officially with the 13.10 catalyst
     
  16. Confused Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,655

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    I've been keeping an eye out, but haven't yet seen anything from AMD saying they're working on Eyefinity support, just lots of websites reviewing the 13.8 drivers saying it's going to be coming later. Really hoping that it doesn't just get swept under the carpet and forgotten. :(

    That said, I never notice any stuttering in games as long as the FPS is high enough, so moving from a 6990 to a 7990 can only produce a smoother experience than you've currently got, so my vote would be to upgrade while the 7990's are so cheap.
     
  17. 7stars

    Associate

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 23

    yes, at default Crossfire and Far Cry 3 don't agree :D
    with those Radeonpro tweaks it improves for sure but is not perfect... perfect (or almost) is SINGLE GPU, definitely.
    The only games I consider really playable now with Crossfire are Battlefield 3 and Metro Last Light (after patch 1.4) the others (above all by Unreal Engine 3) are not smooth as single gpu, sometimes stuttering or abnormal frame drops...hence something wrong. It's hard now to suggest Crossfire...I don't know if with today AMD hardware and graphics engines is indeed possible to find a definitive solution...just wait and see :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013
  18. sportbilly

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 1, 2009

    Posts: 80


    That is what I am worried about - that the suggested eyefinity improvements never materialise on the 6990 or even 7990 (and 6xxx and 7xxx crossfire) and instead the architecture has some improvements built in for the new range addressing the issue in a different way.
     
  19. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,214

    Location: United Kingdom

    They will. The thing is it takes time to perfect. It took months to get all dx10/dx11 games sorted so obviously dx9 and eyefinity will take a while as well. I would rather they take longer and get it right first time, like they did with the 13.8 beta than rush out a driver and causes multiple issues for users or even start killing cards or worse. Better to take their time and get it spot on first go imo. Otherwise the wolves will be waiting to descend.
     
  20. bigmac121

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 23, 2009

    Posts: 1,619

    +:p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.