1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** The AMD Navi Thread **

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by subbytna, Aug 20, 2017.

  1. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 4,013

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I've always said September. I don't know why, but I've always said September.

    If we can't buy Navi in September I'll have a tiny nibble of my hat, not eating the whole thing :p
     
  2. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 861

    Location: Up Norf

    Get a V56 as a stop gap. Great card.
     
  3. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

  4. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    So possible vega refresh at the under radeon 7 power? And navi for everything under that replacing rx 5xx series?


    Radeon vii
    Vega 2, 64 would explain that new pcb we saw
    Vega 2, 56
    Navi 20
    Navi 10

    ? ???
     
  5. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 3,136

    Idk, that sounds quite strange. Just thinking about it, that means it would be on 7nm and all the power savings of going that route will be negated by doing it with gddr6. So essentially you'll have a V64, just with different memory type, and perhaps not even as fast since if we look at 2070 vs V64 it's 448 GB/s vs 484 GB/s and we know for sure it's going to take a lot more bandwidth until there's a point of diminishing returns based on the VII. And would it even be cheaper to do it with GDDR6? R&D notwithstanding for actually getting Vega to work with GDDR6, the memory itself doesn't seem to be cheaper than HBM2 at this point.

    We might be overthinking this, and the Vega logos are just for the APU branding.
     
  6. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 4,013

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    New logo? Yes. Logo for Navi? No. Why confuse it with Vega?
     
  7. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 4,013

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    New logo? Yes. Logo for Navi? No. Why confuse it with Vega?

    Edit: Holy double post, Batman! Can somebody bin this off, please?
     
  8. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    You might be right
    I was thinking it was a vega 2 , 7nm but with gddr6 but yeah that seems odd
    Basically a radeon 7 with 8gb and gddr6 instead
     
  9. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 3,136

  10. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,456

    Location: In a house

    Just remember

    [​IMG]

    :p
     
  11. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 11,150

    Location: London

    Lol :D

    Was the same with Fury also :p
     
  12. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    And radeon vii
     
  13. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,456

    Location: In a house

    and Polaris :D
     
  14. TNA

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 11,150

    Location: London

    Lol guys :D

    Hopefully not the case with Navi. They just need to price it right, as I am not expecting anything special on the performance front this time. If they can improve on price for performance like they did with Ryzen, it will be a win.
     
  15. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Unfortunately I have been on the forums through releases by amd and have read this comment before, "as long as they price it right" , "as long as it is XYZ performance" but every time its a let down.
     
  16. Grim5

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 6, 2019

    Posts: 1,418

    Was Radeon 7 a disappointment? It wasn't hard to see where it would land, you only get so much from a die shrink, not miracles
     
  17. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,120

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    At launch it was, the drivers were a massive mess, overclocking and undervolting required black magic to work if even at all, performance was under a 1080ti/2080, fan curve was a joke and temps were on the limit of throttling
    Now however it is a monster and the drivers are outstanding, i am somewhere between 2080 and 2080ti and it undervolts better than a vega 64
     
  18. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 4,013

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

  19. Random Guy Esq.

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 1, 2014

    Posts: 2,266

    I think that's being misrepresented. She said;

    So I don't think she means it'll have some special tech we don't know about yet, just that the Ryzen architecture fitted in with Sony's requirements for PS5. Of course, it's likely just all marketing BS anyway.
     
  20. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 4,013

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I entirely agree. Choo choo!

    (sorry, slow work day)