1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** The AMD Navi Thread **

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by subbytna, Aug 20, 2017.

  1. ltron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 30, 2014

    Posts: 1,284

    At least Ryzen 3000 looks really good, if true of course.
     
  2. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I feel your pain, dude. I feel your pain.
     
  3. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 18,491

    Location: Planet Earth

    If AMD can offer more like RTX2070 performance for RTX2060 pricing for the $399 model it would be something,but any less and people will buy the RTX2060,as Nvidia will have RTX as a feature they might or might not use. Also AMD has no excuse not to be able to beat the RTX2060,when the Turing RTX dies use a fair percentage of the chip for RT and tensor cores,which is not used in most games.
     
  4. KillBoY_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 3,769

    Location: Oxford

    Yep I remember playing D3D on a 486sx 25mhz, picking between running it at 50% view window on a 14" monitor or disabling sound for it to be playable, also surely you must of had at least a 486DX 66mhz+ for quake 1 ? the SX chips could'nt play quake 1 as the maths co-processor was disabled.

    Now i feel old
     
  5. Trustdesa

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 29, 2014

    Posts: 184

    If Nvidia announces next week RTX with lower price and newer higher bandwidth card at same current price AMD is dreaming to ask premium price for those performances. Instead of competing they are doing them a favor...
     
  6. Zeed

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 4,854

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    I had DX2 when Quake1 came out :D then I had pentium pro 75mhz hehehe Pentium was running at almost 90mhz if i remember good the OC on that :D
    @LePhuronn it sucks so bad i just staying away from Online shooters now. From having 2.5- 3:1 KDR Im like 1:2 now dont want to play online shooters anymore.
     
  7. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 749

    Location: Up Norf

    buyers will just go Nvidia anyway.
     
  8. KillBoY_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 3,769

    Location: Oxford

    When me and my dad in stalled a Sound Blaster pro a whole 2x speed cdrom we changed the cpu to a DX-2 66 but the MB official didn't support the FSB at the time so ended up being Oc'ed to a staggering 83mhz.
     
  9. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 5,819

    Don't! :D

    30 FPS is a unplayable resolution and painful for the eyes and brain in any game. Any lower is just a slideshow, not gaming.

    Nice try of rolling, though D:
     
  10. HeX

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 20, 2004

    Posts: 11,686

    Location: Huddersfield, UK

    Console gaming would like to have a word. They've been doing fine with 30fps for years. Not that it's good, 60fps should be minimum in this day and age for anything, but 30fps is far from unplayable.

    As Zeed says, I remember playing the original Tomb Raider on PC using a K5 166 and a 2MB S3 Virge! at about 10-15fps and I put a lot of hours into that! Simpler times before we were all spoilt with a bajillion pixels and a squillion Hz and now it's much harder to go back.

    No way I'd be playing anything at that fps now though :D
     
  11. Zeed

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 4,854

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    maybe for You I'm not ********* i can handle 50+ hours of gaming with no sleep brakes ect.
    I'm old school we used to do speed and do 2-3 day quake3 arena sessions mixed with star craft every other weekend

    I got eye drops next to my monitor no pain no play
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
  12. Zeed

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 4,854

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    NO LIGHTWEIGHT HERE MATE im 14 hours in Division 2 atm got those puppies to get me going.
    [​IMG]

    Telling no life like me that i cant play at slideshow fps or the cinematic 30 ?? LOL
     
  13. greatash

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 29, 2013

    Posts: 389

    If those leaks are true that is pretty disappointing. Was expecting V64 performance (3070) to be sub $/£300 and the 2070 performance like card to be under $/£400.

    This is just matching existing nvidia price/performance.

    Nv can just knock $50 off their current 2060/2070 and those Navi cards are pointless.
     
  14. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,682

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    AMD Hype Train in danger of being derailed....!
     
  15. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    It always does. Looking like the Navi car will catch fire though...
     
  16. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,682

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    If it's faster than my Radeon 7/2080 I'd go ape**** anyhow so am happy ;) :D
     
  17. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 5,819

    Except that the Navi cards will have much more room for discounts as being manufactured on the superior process. The RTX cards won't get meaningful discount anyways because their GPUs are large and their yield is abysmal.
     
  18. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 18,491

    Location: Planet Earth

  19. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 3,742

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

  20. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 30,348

    Location: Warwickshire