1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - MODS & TWEAKS

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Neil79, 10 Nov 2011.

  1. agnes

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2006

    Posts: 16,356

    Location: Amsterdam, NL

    Cool? lol

    I'll check it out later.
     
  2. TheSwede

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 May 2007

    Posts: 2,863

    Location: Front of the PC

    A shoot in the dark here but since my google searchings is failing me I thought I throw it out here and see if anyone knows:

    Is there a mod that shows the Experience Bar in actually numbers or percentage instead of just a coloured bar ??
     
  3. Blackjack Davy

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2009

    Posts: 5,426

    Weapons and armour & texture most of which should just work with SE as they're unlikely to change the way models or texture work just a higher resolution. Anything involving scripts or quest is less likely and SKSE won't be available for some time. SkyUI may not ever be available as the developer has stated he's not interested.
     
  4. docsonic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2010

    Posts: 1,761

    I forgot about this! Once I finish Deus Ex I'll give this a try until the skyrim revamp releases (I never did finish it the 1st time around).

    Mafia 3 was going to be my next game but... yeah :rolleyes:
     
  5. adolf hamster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 8,101

    thread necro time!

    had a crack at the legendary edition, which has rekindles my love of skyrim, and good as it is the lack of mods dissapoints me.

    so figured i'd have a go with vanilla modded again, but finally actually clean up my mod list and replace all the steam mods with nexus versions.

    so, as is the way of skyrim modding one enb and a bunch of mods later (56 total, which is lightweight by my standards) all installed via nmm, ran loot, fired up and of course boom ctd.

    so is there any decent way these days of diagnosing a crash other than the old delete one mod at a time until it works?
     
  6. Michaeljcox24

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2010

    Posts: 1,868

    Location: West Bromwich

    If you haven't run a simulated load in TES5 Edit, you need to do that too.
     
  7. adolf hamster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 8,101

    so managed to get it to the being able to start a new game, using alternate start sleeping to load in the world and ctd, which narrows it down to every possible mod.

    is this the wrong time to admit i've never bothered with tesvedit due to it's level of confusion?
     
  8. Michaeljcox24

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2010

    Posts: 1,868

    Location: West Bromwich

    please follow Gophers guide on cleaning your masterfiles.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fw3g_N1jcZQ

    I used to find that instant crash to desktops when I clicked on SKSE.exe were down to something happeng when it was loading mods into the game.

    TES5 Edit is VERY useful at showing you what's going on while your game is booting up. If there's a conflict, it will flag it up. If you get stuck you can post back on here and I'll try and help.

    Before it came along you had to delete mods one by one, until you found the culprit. Using TES5, it makes fault finding a hell of a lot easier.
     
  9. GBRusty

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Feb 2014

    Posts: 1,101

    Location: Plymouth, UK

    Only used it once or twice (due to a ctd, natch) and the log is easily readable. It's usually the last entry (in red) that tells you what it was trying to do.
    I then foind I'd installed a mod and told it I had a DLC when I didn't. It didn't like that. So reinstalled mod, told it I didn't have DLC and boom! I was in and playing
     
  10. adolf hamster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 8,101

    ok, so cleaned the update/dlc's and a couple of mods with itm's doesn't seem to be saying any notable errors with all the mods loaded.

    using alternate start, so on a new game i spawn in the dungeon ok, can talk to the statue and use the bed, whereupon i get my ctd, seems to have trouble loading the skyrim spaces, indoor or outdoors doesnt matter, wherever it's meant to spawn me it crashes.

    must be a mod conflict of some kind, but loot and now tes5edit is coming up with nada in the way of conflicts
     
  11. adolf hamster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 8,101

    ok, so seems to have started working now, although it spawned me on solstheim so there's still potential to glitch out when i go back to skyrim itself, windhelm is such a city for mod ocnflicts.

    now my only problem is figuring out why half my mods arent loading when they claim to be.....
     
  12. Michaeljcox24

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2010

    Posts: 1,868

    Location: West Bromwich

    Sorry, I thought you're game crashed on boot. If it loads into the game fine then TES5 won't sort it.

    Can you post mod list (screen dump NMM is easiest way)
     
  13. adolf hamster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 8,101

    Will do, heading out here so will upload tomorrow
     
  14. Blackjack Davy

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2009

    Posts: 5,426

    Obvious question alert, you did sort your load order with LOOT yes?

    Adding a ton of mods in one go isn't the best way to go about things you really need to drip feed them in one at at a time until something breaks that way you know which one caused it.
     
  15. Rasseru

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jan 2017

    Posts: 582

    Has anyone got a list of mods I should install for insane graphics & immersive gameplay? 1070 soon to be SLi 1070.

    Like a mega-skyrim mod list without it getting into stupidness
     
  16. Michaeljcox24

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2010

    Posts: 1,868

    Location: West Bromwich

  17. Narj

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Feb 2010

    Posts: 13,126

    Location: London

    OK this is driving me nuts... I had some Reikling followers, two died in a Dragon Battle and I have one left. However whenever I fast travel or enter a new area, a few Reiklings spawn and attack me and my party. It's getting really annoying now. I try to dismiss the Reikling I have but he always continues to follow me. :(

    Anyone else had this and is there any way to fix it?
     
  18. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,678

    Location: Kent.

    Can you load an older save?
     
  19. Narj

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Feb 2010

    Posts: 13,126

    Location: London

    Really don't want to go down that road. :( I'll have a look but I just found that maybe it's something to do with a followers mod I have.
     
  20. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,678

    Location: Kent.

    Yeah, well that's a last resort. I have had to start all over due to bad mods/issues etc.