1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The first "proper" Kepler news Fri 17th Feb?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by dave_beast, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. ALXAndy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 23, 2010

    Posts: 9,333

    Posted both of those Physx videos earlier, saw the pic of the dude with 4 monitors. It's just basically today in one thing haha
     
  2. Jas1222

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 4, 2012

    Posts: 269

    Yeah also includes information about the efficiency, power, TXAA and GPU boost which we already knew really, at least its officially been said though.
     
  3. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 14,454

    Location: Planet Earth

    I preferred the music in the HD7970 infomercial though!! :p
     
  4. Rroff

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 46,691

    No but working towards those capbilities means we can have ingame environements that are increasingly more interactive and more believable in motion. Things like liquid physics and hair can break the immersion currently in most games when you notice the hair is flat, static textured or water is just billboard spites and some basic polygons with a moving texture.
     
  5. MichaelM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 25, 2008

    Posts: 1,261

    Location: Dublin

    Completely off topic but it's related videos have one called called "riding the booster with enhanced sound"...it's crazy!
     
  6. rallyslag

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 30, 2008

    Posts: 476

    Location: surrey

    looking at the graph ,its not much of a boost 100 mhz maybe ??
     
  7. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 24,776

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Correct, the boost is marginal, unless you set overclocks.

    For example, when I ran Heaven earlier my GPU clock increased too 1201MHz, yet when I was playing Quake III it stayed at 1006MHz. Yet I had not changed any of the settings in afterburner.

    The new software has a ton of new cool features, this shall also be launched tomorrow and is all new with GTX 680. :)
     
  8. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 14,454

    Location: Planet Earth

    So it can auto-overclock itself to 1.2GHZ or is that the manual overclock you are talking about??
     
  9. Rroff

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 46,691

    Default setting allows it to auto boost +/- 20% with the default "spun up" clock of 1006.
     
  10. MichaelM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 25, 2008

    Posts: 1,261

    Location: Dublin

    What time and inventory stock levels? ;)
     
  11. thezakarum

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 1,204

    Location: Hampshire

    1pm and the GTX680 is the MASTER of stock levels. :p
     
  12. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 14,454

    Location: Planet Earth

    You mean the high card launch STOCK MASTER!! :p
     
  13. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2010

    Posts: 13,297

    While I don't always agree with others, and I seem to disagree with you more than agree with you in the pass...I guess we are in agreement for a change that it kills our brain cells reading Ghost's posts. He now has the honour of being the first person to be added to my ignore list since my joining of this forum 2 years ago.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  14. adey

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 6, 2010

    Posts: 767

    Location: Bristol

    hope the cool new features will also be available on the 660/670? :D
     
  15. Calabi

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 7, 2008

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Kent

    So is this going to be any good for rendering?
     
  16. WingZero30

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 1, 2010

    Posts: 6,957

    Location: London

  17. bagaante

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2012

    Posts: 281

    nice one
     
  18. [timko]

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 20, 2004

    Posts: 3,792

    Nvidia didn't allow them to shave whilst they were testing the cards, and they didn't even have so much as a mustache to begin with! :D
     
  19. Macro

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 9, 2006

    Posts: 5,454

    Nvidia in "auto over-clocks for benchmarks but doesn't do anything in actual games "shocker ;) :D :p
     
  20. xsistor

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,549

    Location: London

    Yeah cos clocking to 1201MHz is so very important in Quake III
     


Share This Page