1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The Official Elite: Dangerous Thread ***

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Zefan, Jun 17, 2015.

  1. SirJinks

    Gangster

    Joined: May 31, 2014

    Posts: 366

    I haven't played in a couple of months, being at the mercy of MEF and the rng killed it for me, so am not up on all that the patch entails. How will it be harder?
     
  2. mattyg

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 17, 2007

    Posts: 5,824

    There are a number of mission exploits that are supposed to be getting closed off.

    "Quince scanning mission exploit"
     
  3. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,611

    Location: Leicestershire

    While I understand its an "exploit" as such, people want you to scan something, whats actually wrong with going somewhere, scanning what they all want you to scan, and then selling them all copies of the data?
     
  4. Shac

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 72

    Sounds like a good business plan to me..
     
  5. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,611

    Location: Leicestershire

    If anything they should just remove the ability to self destruct and spawn back in the station to collect..
     
  6. IvanDobskey

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 2, 2010

    Posts: 5,745

    Location: East Midlands

    Does anyone know the correct FOV setting for use on 21:9 ultrawide?

    I seem to get bad fisheye whatever I set it to? Have I got another setting wrong?
     
  7. NeoWave

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 10, 2016

    Posts: 374

    Location: England

    You haven't got stuck in the terrain in your SRV multiple times… though I suppose FDev could probably just look at the log & give you the mission win (if it isn't fixed).
     
  8. SPG

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2010

    Posts: 3,468

    Exactly.

    Nothing wrong with stacking missions from various people.

    Same as massacre missions.

    If one person wants 5 ships killed and another person wants 20 ships killed why should the 5 person say Oooo no I want my 5 separate.

    My advice to anyone who wants to play this game is get as much money as you possible can in the shortest time possible. It opens up the game to play it at your pace anyway you want.
     
  9. kration

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 22, 2012

    Posts: 849

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Just an update if anyone has the same problem...

    This issue is caused because the game thinks you have landed, even though you are in space. To solve it, press the 'thrusters up' key for a few seconds as though you are taking off. The ship should now respond.
     
  10. Fishbait

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 12, 2012

    Posts: 1,345

    Nothing to stop you just splattering yourself across the planet/moon at full speed ;)

    Also, self destruct has its uses. I was out of fuel once so couldn't do sod all. It was the only way to continue the game.
     
  11. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,611

    Location: Leicestershire

    Well yes, but what I mean is you should have to get back to the relevant station after the scan to collect, so you have to survive....
    And yes, self destruct is perfectly legit, but the game should make certain allowances when its being exploited in this fashion.
     
  12. One Vision

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2015

    Posts: 350

    How the hell do you fly your ship down to a planet surface to specific coordinates? Like barnacles?
    Stuggling abit with this....were is R2 when you need him...R2 were are you :)
     
  13. Fishbait

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 12, 2012

    Posts: 1,345

    Fly around close enough to the planet that you can stop engines & it'll still move you around, at a slow enough speed you can watch coords with ease.
    It is annoying, but get used to it.
    Then it's a case of shifting which way you're pointing.

    Or, you can find someone that's been to the one you're trying to get at & get them to wing up. They can head right towards the thing you want to see, as it's saved in their system.

    Don't forget to scan the main part, so that you can return with ease any other time.
     
  14. One Vision

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2015

    Posts: 350

    Thanks for that!
    So if you scan do barnicles it show up next time on on scanner?
    Looking for Meta Alloys as thought id engineer up the ASP. First time engineering, all i did in the early Alpha days of this game i just made tons of credits and then took a break just as Horizons come out. Thats why im asking nOOblet questions that have already been asked long ago.
     
  15. Fishbait

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 12, 2012

    Posts: 1,345

    Yep, shows up on scanner just like bases etc do.
    Makes life hell of a lot easier :D
     
  16. One Vision

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 8, 2015

    Posts: 350

    What times the stream tonight?
     
  17. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 8,935

    Location: UK

    7pm.
     
  18. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 8,935

    Location: UK

    26th for 2.4 launch :)
     
  19. atomic7431

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 18, 2004

    Posts: 2,221

    Location: U.K

  20. Fishbait

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 12, 2012

    Posts: 1,345

    Retaliation? Is that the retaliation the Thargoids did after humans fired at it?
    Must be, because I've only seen one ship attacked by Thargoid, rumoured at that, on dev stream.
    Hmm, so I've got less than two weeks to get to witness a Thargoid before the new patch drops eh? :rolleyes:
     


Share This Page