1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** The Official iOS 15 Thread ***

Discussion in 'Apple Software' started by Rhys, 7 Jun 2021.

  1. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    ;)
     
  2. volt9291

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 632

    Can’t update my iPhone XS. Going into software updates says iOS is up to date, showing iOS 14.7.

    Any ideas on what I can do to get it going?
     
  3. Jimbeam3678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Dec 2002

    Posts: 18,610

    Location: North Yorkshire

    Have you tried the slightly obvious reboot?
     
  4. Throrik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Sep 2009

    Posts: 2,127

    Location: Manchester

    Possibly a silly question that I could google, but I'm lazy.

    Can you get the new Safari layout like the phone has on the iPad Pro? I like the bar at the bottom.

    Also like the new notification size.
     
  5. Reuben klang

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Sep 2020

    Posts: 963

    Lovely thank you.
     
  6. volt9291

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 632

    Yeah - didn’t change anything.
     
  7. Jimbeam3678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Dec 2002

    Posts: 18,610

    Location: North Yorkshire

    Soft reboot? After that I'm out of ideas.
     
  8. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 29,610

    Location: Westchestershire

    So to end the tale of my woes, iPad is almost back to where it was. I've just lost access to Bethesda.net and Rockstar Games Social Club. Just awaiting responses from their support teams for account recovery.
     
  9. Sui

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,633

    Location: Brighton

    My watch isn’t giving notifications like it used to now I’ve updated my XS to iOS 15. Maybe it needs the WatchOS update!

    normally when phone is on DND mode, it’ll still vibrate on my watch, it just isn’t :(
     
  10. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2004

    Posts: 13,625

    Anyone running iOS 15 on a device with 2GB of RAM?
     
  11. Jimbeam3678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Dec 2002

    Posts: 18,610

    Location: North Yorkshire

    iPhone 8 have 2g ram? If yes, then yes. Runs ok no faster or slower than 14.
     
  12. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 9,523

    Location: Somerset

    Do not disturb is whacky now, I’m not getting any banners whilst unlocked? That was a toggle before that’s disappeared? Also you can’t long press notifications to get to their settings anymore, that was really handy.

    edit: Yeah notifications are fubar. Completely random what the behaviour is for me, some stuff has no banners or badges but is in notification centre. Doesn’t match the settings or how it worked before, smh why mess with something so fundamental. Can we still downgrade?
     
    Last edited: 21 Sep 2021
  13. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 9,523

    Location: Somerset

  14. OverDrive

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Feb 2012

    Posts: 629

    Location: Herts

    I’ve just been chatting on a FaceTime audio call and noticed that there is no longer a call timer on screen. I could see the call duration in ‘Recents’ after the call ended though. I couldn’t see any way of getting a live timer, I did look around. Am I missing something?

    I’m using an iPhone 12 Pro Max.
     
  15. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 27,436

  16. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 9,523

    Location: Somerset

    Well now your options are either get spammed to death with notifications, or turn on DnD and lose them forever into the abyss. Restoring 14.8 now, but got a bad feeling it won't let me recover the old backup aswell.
     
  17. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 27,436

    I was happy with it before, I had some people added to my favourites so they can call/message me overnight. My frustration comes when I wake up before the alarm and it seemed to behave differently each time I tried to switch it and the alarm off.
     
  18. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 9,523

    Location: Somerset

    Just managed to restore to 14.8, had to use an older backup but as most stuff is cloud anyway not sure what I’ve actually lost.
     
  19. Reuben klang

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Sep 2020

    Posts: 963

    The way I had DND before was between the hours of 22:00 and 08:00 I get nothing.

    It was simple, straight forward. This new stuff is a mine field.

    My alarm would go off at 05:30

    What’s the easiest way for me to set it up similarly?

    *edit*

    It’s just the same?
     
  20. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 234,255

    Location: In the radio shack

    Alarms haven't changed. I just had to turn my scheduled DND back on again.