1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 10,423

    Location: Northern Ireland

    what high horse?! :confused: you asked about the warranty situation, it was explained to you. then you start waffling on about county courts.
    i'll let you look up consumer law for yourself. i'm scared to answer you now :(
     
  2. BubbySoup

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2003

    Posts: 2,698

    Location: Cardiff

    Well this is from the CAB website - it's pretty black & white to be fair;

     
  3. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 10,423

    Location: Northern Ireland

    and you can get off your high horse too :p sorry @delvey, i couldn't resist :D
     
  4. BubbySoup

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2003

    Posts: 2,698

    Location: Cardiff

    I like the view from up here :D
     
  5. delvey

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 18, 2014

    Posts: 80

    I asked about the warranty situation. I then asked what would occur if an item has purchased as a gift. Two different matters, which you seemed to have combined into one

    Anyway, I'm waiting for CES
     
  6. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 10,423

    Location: Northern Ireland

    what are you waffling on about dude? 2 different matters maybe but the answer is still the same - though technically very simialr matters - i think you just didn't believe what you were being told so tried to come at it from a slightly different angle.
    Q1) what is the warranty situation with this card i'm thinking of buying of 2nd hand
    A1) no warranty unless transferable
    Q2) if someone buys a gpu as a gift is the warranty transferable
    A2) no warranty unless transferable or as i explained the purchaser makes the arrangement with the retailer to have the giftees details on the purchase invoice, or as per some bricks and mortar stores supplies a gift receipt

    how is any of that me getting on a high horse. apologies if it came across as such but it wasn't meant to and i don't see how it could have but apologies if it did.

    btw i doubt CES will shed a whole lot of light on gpu's but you never know, fingers crossed. also the month old gpu at sub 300 quid was a steal - assuming the seller hadn't fried it somehow. was it an ebay sale or someone you know selling?
     
  7. delvey

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 18, 2014

    Posts: 80

    Other forum. Need to drive a long way to pick it up.
    RTX 2060 might be announced at CES
     
  8. Bobillot

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 3, 2019

    Posts: 8

    [​IMG] Here is my new RX Vega 64 Special Edition, it has been nothing but a huge pain in the ass. I have spent all day nearly every day for a week and a half trying to overclock it and get it to run Fallout 76 worth a damn. still only getting 29 fps or so and no matter what it will not run full screen and take full advantage of the card. I have tried INI's for days with read only, and before that you could not overclock it it would run like trash with the Wattman app and no MSI afterburner to over clock it would want to crash and be unstable, finally i found it was the Wattman app and so I went back to the 17.7.2 drivers and it fixed the OC problem, it will only clock to 1600Mhz V1200 power +50 power ram 1000Mhz V1025 Any more it says no I have even changed bios'es and tables.
     
  9. Th0nt

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 21, 2005

    Posts: 6,024

    Location: N.Ireland

    Say wahhhh
     
  10. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 260

    Location: Mondas

    What temps are you getting I’ve played about with several vega 64s and they cannot be brute forced to overclock as the temps go through the roof. Try to under volt P6 to 1080 and P7 to 1100 and monitor your temps. Might be worth trying a different game as this version of fallout is a buggy mess
     
  11. Bobillot

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 3, 2019

    Posts: 8

    Indeed that, Fallout 76 and fallout 4 are both buggy messes, under stress test loads i'm getting 67C to 70C on GPU and 64C to 67C on HBM2 all stable, I can run everything else in full screen perfectly at max settings like Metro 2033 reduex at max 60 fps at 1080P its like nothing to the card but as soon as its not full screen it goes to hell, RE7 at max settings at 1280x720 averages at 136 FPS and i monitored RE7 at 1440P it stutters and throttles from temps at my current settings. You would think with Liquid cooing it would stay cooler. My HD7970's Sapphires stay cool with air at 1150Mhz 65 to 72C at full load their even blowers.

    I will give your seggestion a try "eeil"

    https://www.furaffinity.net/view/29961123/ here is a pics of my set up.
    https://www.furaffinity.net/view/29965049/
    https://www.furaffinity.net/view/29965088/ P.S. its all SFW
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  12. flea.rider

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 591

    wow cramped case .. is your rad venting to the outside ? looks like it's backed onto the edge of the mother board ..
     
  13. Bobillot

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 3, 2019

    Posts: 8

    No the rad dumps to the inside they both do but there is plenty of air flow out ward it was done to make use of the dust screens that the case has. And no there is plenty of room between the rad and the mo-bo see. To flea.rider
    https://www.furaffinity.net/full/29969441/
     
  14. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,141

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    What Cpu do you have out of interest?

    *Edit I found out you have a FX 9370

    Your problem here my friend as I suspected is that with this cpu and ddr3 you are horrifically bottlenecked playing any game that uses Cpu reliant games, expect stuttering and way below expected framerates until you can get yourself a ryzen 5 or above
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  15. Bobillot

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 3, 2019

    Posts: 8

    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  16. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,141

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    It's a confusing world, that although you are at 4.8ghz on 8 cores,it's actually way more underpowered than a 6 core ryzen 5 at 3.8ghz, it has to do with instructions per clock cycle or IPC.
    The ram does not help matters although it's the CPU that is causing you the biggest problem in this scenario.
     
  17. Bobillot

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 3, 2019

    Posts: 8

    Understandably, It makes sense I had forgotten about that little caveat, I was thinking on getting a Threadripper 1900X as my next CPU then when funds could allow moving up to a 2990WX I have had this system for 6 years now and I just Removed my dual Sapphire HD 7970's they are wonderful cards
    I can still run a lot of things at max without a hitch
    "Thank You for your help Illuminist."
     
  18. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,649

    Location: Ireland

  19. BubbySoup

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2003

    Posts: 2,698

    Location: Cardiff

    That's why it's slow, only 6hp...
     
  20. silversurfer

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2004

    Posts: 18,634

    Location: Stanley Hotel, Colorado

    ha :D

    The problem with the cpu is its not really fair as its probably down to single core speeds more then it should be.
    In a more distributed task that might be a great CPU for all I know but with games far too often its leaning on just 1 core. Hence how the word throttle pops up with 8 cores somehow

    I also swapped from 8 core to 6 for that reason though my 8 core was very slim line well made 50w only, high core use needs perfect segmentation of the workload and games are uneven. Would like to find a game that perfectly soaks up all the cores and put them to useful work in a game. GTA5 really isnt bad engine for multi core, might be a couple more. Arma is awful, havent tried the latest Dayz version of that engine so i hope they moved it on as a giant landscape surely should like cores