1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,774

    I just hope EK do a WB for it
     
  2. whiteturbo

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 7, 2017

    Posts: 27

    Am i allowed to sell my new Sapphire Nitro plus through this thread?
     
  3. flea.rider

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 930

    no
    there is a place but you need so many posts ..
     
  4. BigDools

    Hitman

    Joined: May 4, 2003

    Posts: 865

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    How does this card handle freesync in comparison to older AMD cards , my knowledge is that freesync only works between 35 and 90 fps so i have always made sure i have stayed with in those frames .

    is freesync still worth using or just run everything at max ? just trying to justify the upgrade from what i currently have .

    my monitor is the MG279Q.

    any help greatly appreciated
     
  5. Ebrahim Ali

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 17, 2018

    Posts: 35

    I have a samsung cfg70 .Its range is 70 to 120 and the Vega 64 will run almost anything in that range.I feel 144 is just as smooth and a tad bit more responsive but with a little bit of tearing.
     
  6. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 2,429

    Man you really have to appreciate the build quality of the nitro+. It upsets me hiding it away in my case, feels German like build quality. The vapour chamber keeps the card stone cold. I'm hitting 60c in battlefield!
     
  7. BigDools

    Hitman

    Joined: May 4, 2003

    Posts: 865

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    I was just about to hit the buy button and noticed they are now back to £428 ,looks like the fury is staying in there until the nitro goes back on offer
     
  8. ShortWarning

    Mobster

    Joined: May 10, 2004

    Posts: 4,626

    Location: Middlesex

    I have the same monitor and a Red Devil vega 64. It handles it fine in the 57-144 range in CRU. Even if on the odd occasion it goes lower I don't notice due to LFC.
     
  9. BigDools

    Hitman

    Joined: May 4, 2003

    Posts: 865

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    57-144 Range , can you tell me how you have done this i was not aware freesync worked up to 144 on this monitor
     
  10. ShortWarning

    Mobster

    Joined: May 10, 2004

    Posts: 4,626

    Location: Middlesex

    Download a program called "Custom Resolution Utility" (or CRU). In here you can set your freesync range, the range has been tested by lots of people and they settled on 57-144 being the best with no bugs.
     
  11. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 2,429

    how does a 1700mhz Vega 64 compare vs a 1080ti?
     
  12. pieman109

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 7,056

    Location: Ealing

    Just a query regarding these game codes you get with the vega 64/56, etc. I've registered with AMD rewards a while back and I've since heard nowt from them. Whats the procedure to get hold of these codes so I can download? I know The division 2 isn't out yet, but resident evil 2 is (I think), so I'm wondering how to hold of it.
     
  13. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 32,287

    Location: OcUK HQ


    Shall be back on offer this Wednesday for week. :)
     
  14. BigDools

    Hitman

    Joined: May 4, 2003

    Posts: 865

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    Quality service as always , thanks @Gibbo
     
  15. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 9,659

    Location: West End, Southampton

    I'm probably in a pretty good position to give you an idea as I have s vega64 system (in my sig) and a 1080ti system as a second system for SIM racing. I clock mine at 1700/1100 for gaming and 1750/1180 for benching. In gaming is say it's half way between a 1080 and 1080ti. If you head over to Firestrike benchmarks charts https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/firestrike-standard-bench-thread.18665940/ you'll see my vega64 hit over 27k graphics score where as the 1080tis hit around 29k to around 34k depending on the OC.
     
  16. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 2,429

    thank you, I acutally downgraded from a 1080ti, no regrets as I need it for apple products ;)
     
  17. saddler

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2005

    Posts: 514

    Im looking to upgrade my gfx card from a 1060 as I want to move that to another machine. Ive been leaning toward a RTX2070 but the Vega64 does look to be better value for money. Can any owners help with the following questions:

    - Can Vega64 handle 1080p and 1440p gaming at 60+fps on the vast majority of games?

    - How good is it at VR? I want to try VR sims (racing, flight, space) and wonder how Vega64 compares to a RTX2070 in VR.

    - Can it encode video as well as Nvidia GPUs? I use my 1060 a lot for h265 encoding and dont want to take a hit here.

    - Will I be ok with a 650W psu as i know Vega 64s draw more power than Nvidias cards?

    Ive no interest in ray tracing or 4k gaming at this time. It will be paired with a Ryzen 2700x so shouldn't be cpu limited.

    Thanks
     
  18. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 9,659

    Location: West End, Southampton

     
  19. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    I'm having serious issues trying to get the adrenalin drivers to install.
    I tried installing them on my r390 but the installer kept hanging on the detecting hardware screen.
    So I tried installing my vega 64 - and it's still hanging on the detecting hardware screen.
    Any ideas what's causing this?
     
  20. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 2,429


    DDU Uninstall then re install driver