1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,519


    Any chance of sharing those settings?
     
  2. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,853

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Great news.

    V64 is the best card around at the moment for serious gamers.:)
     
  3. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,853

    Location: Dalek flagship

    I am a bit wobbly updating at the moment as the Bacardi has taken a serious bit of err benchmarking.:D

    I hope you are keeping well Tony.:)
     
  4. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 8,942

    Location: West End, Southampton

    If you look back through this thread it'll be in here, prob a fair way back now. I'll post them up again tomorrow evening as I won't be near pc till then.

    Here you go, settings for 1750/1150. Does do 1180 mem speed with same voltage, i just cant find that post, thats what the firestrike run was done at.
    https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/posts/32199108/
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  5. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 8,942

    Location: West End, Southampton

    Yep I'm good Kev thanks, might pop up and check out your latest toys soon if that's ok??
     
  6. Th0nt

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 21, 2005

    Posts: 6,125

    Location: N.Ireland

    :o:eek:
     
  7. faceman123

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,519

    Lmao literally my reaction, the two Megatron's of the Vega 64 thread....
     
  8. Sumanji

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 12, 2003

    Posts: 8,046

    Location: Boston, MA

    I realize the answer is super nuanced, and has probably been discussed ad infinitum in this thread, but...

    What are the optimal settings in WattMan to get the best boost performance? Do I just max out the Power limit and then dial back the core voltage to 1100 mV on States 6 and 7?

    Cheers,

    Su
     
  9. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,853

    Location: Dalek flagship

    You are welcome to take one of my Turing cards for a test drive.:)

    The hard bit is finding software that the cards can use.:eek:
     
  10. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 18,868

    Location: The KOP

    Heard they is only one single race track open allowing Turing. Its quite pricey though.
     
  11. Morve

    Gangster

    Joined: May 28, 2017

    Posts: 454

    Also the Radeon software will tell you, Display , hover over Radeon freesync and it will tell you the range of the monitor
     
  12. sanadsaad

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2013

    Posts: 39

    Just used Panos's settings which were running fine till the new driver update. Currently running on 19.1.2. System turns off every now and then (not frequent) and radeon says settings have to be reverted to default due to unexpected system failure. When the system shuts down, I cannot turn the PC on unless I switch the PSU off and then on again. Is this a PSU issue or a driver issue? The PSU is a Superflower Leadex Platinum 850W. Any help will be appreciated. GPU is a Sapphire Nitro Vega 64
     
  13. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 8,942

    Location: West End, Southampton

    Vroom vroom.
     
  14. TrixX

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 532

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

    Likely a driver issue. If the settings were fine prior to the driver then it's not likely to cause other hardware to cause issues with a driver change. Revert back to 19.1.1 or 18.12.2 and see if you have the same issues.
     
  15. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,537

    Location: United Kingdom

    Or perhaps new driver optimisations are getting more performance from the GPU and his previous borderline stable settings are now unstable. Does it happen at stock? If so then yes perhaps a driver issue.
     
  16. zoffster1

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 9, 2017

    Posts: 17

    Location: Manchester

    Wondering if any of you can shed any light on some mysterious behaviour I'm seeing when trying to overclock my Vega64 for the first time.

    Following the guide:https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/t...king-undervolting-information-guide.18793012/

    I have tried undervolting and overclocking. According to logs, the GPU frequency is up and yet when running firestrike the performance is significantly less. Any idea why a frequency increase would cause a decrease in framerate?
     
  17. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,472

    Location: Knowhere

    I'd say it's simply expecting too much from the gpu, Panos won the silicon lottery, you likely haven't at least not to the same extent, you also need to take his LC bios & custom waterloop into account. If you want a stable overclock you'll need to start a lot lower and work up. Taking everything into account ie: temps & noise targets as well as performance my Vega 64 sat stable at 1692/1080, I could boot up with clocks like 1725/1100 & it would even do successful Firestrike runs & run some games like that but it wasn't a 24/7 overclock. Like I said aiming for Panos's clocks isn't realistic unless you also won the lottery, start lower & work up, It took me weeks to work out the best stable clocks for my Vega Red Devil. In the future you may also find that some games aren't stable at your 24/7 overclock but that's what the separate game profiles in Wattman are for. In some games I would get crashes that could be days apart, to completely remove them I used a 1687/1050 profile for certain games, once you enable the profile it automatically down clocks when you start that particular game. Sometime it won't but that's just a bug the driver team need to fix.
    I also found that there's a limit for clock by clock performance. I got to a point where I was at the sweet spot & pushing the clocks further was detrimental to performance. My sweet spot was 1692/1080 I found that I could run as an example 1712/1100 okay but when I benched at those clocks the performance results were lower than they were at 1692/1080. Every Vega is different and there's no quick way to get it right just take your time & start low.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
  18. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,472

    Location: Knowhere

    That sounds like it might be related to your cards sweetspot as I mentioned in the post above.
     
  19. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,045

    Location: In a house

     
  20. stuartharrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2015

    Posts: 313

    DDU fixed this, if anyone has the same problem - thanks @faceman123