1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. subbytna

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 22, 2008

    Posts: 9,419

    Location: Belfast

    That's possibly borderline, depending on what else you have in your system. If you have a lot of fans and other drives then it might be an issue. What's the rest of your spec? Have you an overlocked CPU?
     
  2. subbytna

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 22, 2008

    Posts: 9,419

    Location: Belfast

    A PSU is most efficient when the load is 50-60%. An 850 will bide him just fine.
     
  3. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,787

    Location: Knowhere

    If it was that bad it'd be time for a quick about turn & refund. :D
     
  4. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,787

    Location: Knowhere

    They recommend at least a 750w so going with an 850w means you're giving the psu room to breath. I went with the same for mine.
     
  5. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    Thanks for the tip. I had Chill with my R9 390 but never really needed to play with it that much.

    As regards PSU - I'm maybe being over cautious going for a 850w but for the extra £20-30 I'd rather be over than under cautious. Not really something you want to scrimp on in a PC worth several hundreds of pounds.
     
  6. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    Sapphire recommend 850w IIRC for the Nitro+
     
  7. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    Hi Supr3me. You seem to be in the exact same boat I've been in for the past 48 hours. Like you, I read numerous reviews and it was all 50/50 on whether or not a 750w PSU would be enough power.

    I have a Corsair CX750M and upgraded to a EVGA G2 850w to run the Vega 64. My reasoning bottomed down to - why take a risk on power and blowing up all the components when you can get a PSU rated for 850W with a ten year guarantee.
     
  8. Supr3me

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 2, 2018

    Posts: 70

    Location: Essex/London, UK

    i5-6500 3.2GHz
    Asus - PRIME B250-PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
    Kingston Fury 8GB DDR4-2400 RAM

     
  9. Supr3me

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 2, 2018

    Posts: 70

    Location: Essex/London, UK

    Yup sounds very similar. The Vega arrives tomorrow so I'll whack it in and see if it can handle it, but will probably look to upgrade the PSU just to be safe.

    Out of interest how much was your 850w and did you sell the 750?
     
  10. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    Got it for £120 from amazon. Not sold the CX750M yet as only ordered the 850 EVGA a couple of hours ago :D

    For reference - I've got an overclocked 4770k, two HDDs, one SSD, four case fans, fan controller, 2 LED strips. So it looks like a bit more power draw than you have.
     
  11. Supr3me

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 2, 2018

    Posts: 70

    Location: Essex/London, UK

    Ah ok - have you got the card yet? What are you upgrading from.

    Hoping we don't get any coil whine problems as reading a few threads on here where a few people have had horrible problems with that with this card. Fingers crossed!
     
  12. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    No should get the card tomorrow, same as you. Upgrading from an AMD R9 390 which has served my well the last 3/4 years - but I've got a new 1440p/144hz monitor that I want to get more out of.

    Yeh fingers crossed on the coil whine front. Just another lottery I guess. Its a problem I've never had with any components before so *touch wood* hopefully I luck out again.
     
  13. Supr3me

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 2, 2018

    Posts: 70

    Location: Essex/London, UK

    Like for like position, as I am also upgrading to a 1440p/144hz monitor. I've been running 1080 for last few years. What monitor did you go for out of interest? I would like to try and order one today so I can have everything set up for weekend.
     
  14. iamcll

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 11, 2017

    Posts: 51

    Not compaining or looking for help just seeing if anyone else has this issue, So here it goes, Does anyone else notice large system crashes (Like 2 screens going black or a nasty driver crash) when HBCC is enabled with 2+ montiors alt tabbing or watching a video while playing any kind of demanding game ?
     
  15. flea.rider

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 959

    just to let you know 2 yrs ago ? my evga 850 went pop .. well more like a bang ..lol .. but they make them that well that nothing else was harmed ..
    and 5 days yes 5 I had a new one at my door .. great service great psu
     
  16. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 319

    Location: Scotland

    That’s great and terrible news all one post lol

    How long had you had it running before the ‘bang’?
     
  17. flea.rider

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 7, 2017

    Posts: 959

    at least a yr .. I think ... but it was not the psu fault as I found out later ..
    but I'm not going to go into that ... cough cough
     
  18. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,331

    Location: United Kingdom

    No i do not see this behaviour.

    Is anything overclocked on your system and what are your system specs?
     
  19. Ebrahim Ali

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 17, 2018

    Posts: 35

    Hi guys
    So Ive been redoing my UV+OC on my Sapphire Vega 64.I settled on p6 1000mv/1592mhz and p7 1100mv/1682mv and finally HBM 1020mhz. All this gets me to 1615mhz@1,03v in games.
    Now my problem is that if I try to rasise the HBM any higher than 1020mhz the HBM immediately drops to 800mhz.Previously When I was using driver version 18.12.1 I could raise it to 1040 and above, now with 18.11.1 it caps out at 1020mhz?
    Im using 18.11.1 as the later drivers cause problems with my fan control and I encounter a bug where core and HBM get stuck on 2d clocks.
    Is there something im missing with the HBM(Samsung) or is that it for me on this driver?
     
  20. Ebrahim Ali

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 17, 2018

    Posts: 35

    Ok I figured it out "HBM Voltage" was too low.Stepped it up a bit and now I can hit 1100mhz on HBM.