1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Z390 Aorus Owners thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by LambChop, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 15,247

    Last edited: Apr 26, 2019
  2. FredBasset

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 22, 2009

    Posts: 216

  3. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 15,247

  4. Colonel_Klinck

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 3, 2007

    Posts: 761

    Location: London, UK

    Am I missing a setting here guys? I have G-Skill 3600CL16 which is Samsung b-die. If I try to tighten the timings from the XMP which is 16-16-16-36 to 15-15-15-36 the frequency drops to around 3422-ish. I've never had this on previous motherboards but this is my first Gigabyte. I can set frequency to 3600, up the dram voltage to 1.4v and IO and SA to 1.27 so no shortage there but I can't tighten timings. Any ideas where I'm going wrong?
     
  5. Robert896r1

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2018

    Posts: 350

    My Pro does the same. On the pro this was related to the trfc timings. If I went too low, the frequency would drop. Same with Cas.

    Try to relax your tRFC while keeping 15-15-15-36.

    On the whole RAM overclocking on the Gigabyte boards isn't a great experience.
     
  6. Colonel_Klinck

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 3, 2007

    Posts: 761

    Location: London, UK

    Cheers for reply. Yeah I watched Buildzoids vid using my board and he says it overclocks ram well but with 4 sticks not 2. I'll give that a try though.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2019
  7. Colonel_Klinck

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 3, 2007

    Posts: 761

    Location: London, UK

    So 15-15-15-36 worked once I relaxed the TRFC. Cheers for that. I'll continue to tweak over the weekend.
     
  8. Robert896r1

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2018

    Posts: 350

    Glad! mind sharing a screenshot of your timings after you're done tweaking?
     
  9. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 15,247

    gigabyte test more with 4 kits rather then 2 like asus does, or prioritises .
     
  10. Colonel_Klinck

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 3, 2007

    Posts: 761

    Location: London, UK

    I'm tempted to buy another kit and make it up to 4x 8gb. It does seem a little extravagant as I've not found a game yet that that is leaving my system short of ram. Having 11gb of vram obviously helps.

    No worries :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2019
  11. FredBasset

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 22, 2009

    Posts: 216

    I am 99% confident that this situation was caused by the RGB Fusion software, or more precisely a process it installs.
     
  12. RedvGreen

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 2, 2009

    Posts: 3,511

    Location: Midlands

    Does this motherboard have any quirks? I'm thinking of installing 2080ti, M2 SSD, i9 CPU and 32GB RAM.
     
  13. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 17,600

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Which board because this thread covers all of the Aorus boards? The biggest problem with the Gigabyte boards for me is the awful bios. I came for having Asus boards which are widely accepted as having the best bios but with the reduction of quality and features yet charging more for their boards I jumped ship to Gigabyte only to discover the bios is terrible. Don't get me wrong, they are cracking boards and UK RMA is a bonus but they really need to completely overhaul the bios.
     
  14. Colonel_Klinck

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 3, 2007

    Posts: 761

    Location: London, UK

    Yeah I came from MSI which had a great bios. I'd tinkered on a mates Z170 Gigabyte bios and found the bios on that to feel antiquated. Z390 is better than that but the layout is just not been thought through. Still the hardware is fantastic so its definitely with the purchase.
     
  15. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 15,247

    guessing at least with bios's, they can be redesigned/tweaked/improved but board PCB cant - your stuck with the design :D
     
  16. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,444

    Anyone got the mini ITX wifi one and overclocked an 8700k on it?

    Toying between that and the Asus Z390 mini ITX one.

    Not sure if one has any major advantages over the other?
     
  17. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 15,247

    I had the z370 version, Z390 is greatly improved with better heatsink and VRMS! mine was getting toasty running 5.2ghz with 1.44v !!!!! around 100c VRMs when doing stress tests, 70c when gaming . Z390 will be a lot better !

    Aorus use IR 3553 40A powerstages , 6 of them were as ASUS use NCP302045 45a again 6 of them. IR units are the better mosfet generally

    also audio is better on the Aorus and believe has better wifi

    customer service is miles better for Gigabyte then asus
     
  18. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,444

    Cool, so to clarify you're recommending the Aorus over the Asus?

    I'm glad you feel the Z390 is a big bump over the Z370, was actually contemplating a Z370 version too as they're cheaper. But if it's worth the jump I think I'll stretch for the 390
     
  19. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 15,247

    4 phases vs 6 from z370 to 390.

    old z370 uses OnSemi mosfet, both for hi and low (4C10 & 4C06). z390 uses IR units which are a single intergrated mosfet so you don't have two low and two Hi units to make one phase . Z370 Units are rated to 44amps roughly , also the PWM controller on the z390 version is better.

    then audio & features

    z390 aorus -
    • ALC1220-VB Enhance 114dB(Rear)/ 110dB(Front) SNR in Microphone with NICHICON Audio Capacitors
    • Intel® CNVi interface Wi-Fi 802.11a/b/g/n/ac, supporting 2.4/5 GHz Dual-Band
    • BLUETOOTH 5
    • 2x m.2
    z370 aorus-
    • ALC1220 120dB SNR HD Audio with Smart Headphone Amp - no higher end caps and older ALC1220 chip
    • older Wifi chip and using Bluetooth 4.2
    • 2x m.2
    z390 strix
    • same wifi and m.2 as aorus 370, same ALC audio as z370 aorus 7
    personal experience , go the z390 ! even if its asus, aorus, msi, asrock etc
     
  20. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 1, 2008

    Posts: 3,444

    Nice, thanks, will definitely go 390. Just realised they have Bluetooth 5 too, which I think I'll benefit from. I wear my Bose QC35 bluetooth headphones to watch and listen to media, with my current cheapo USB bluetooth adapter it loses signal really easily if I stray far from my desk, which is annoying.

    Definitely edging towards the Auros at the moment considering it's £50 cheaper than the Asus.