1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zen 2 Owners Thread!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by SiDeards73, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 22,379

    Location: MediaCityUK

    No one tinkered with 3700x? Seems this is the most unpopular chip, my temps are through the roof on auto.
     
  2. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 19,867

    Location: London

    I now hvae these options on my x370 board. I've just left it all on auto but will also try adding +200 to PBO. I assume the mobo will handle stability?
     
  3. roysters

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

  4. Temi_D

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 31, 2009

    Posts: 2,151

    Location: 127.0.0.1

  5. roysters

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

    Thanks, ill add this to my short list.
     
  6. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 17, 2005

    Posts: 8,961

    Running a EVGA GQ 750w 80+ Gold on my 3900x/1080Ti machine.

    Running it in Eco mode and tbh I can't every tell if the fan is spinning up or not.
     
  7. roysters

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

    Hmm, so it seems 850 should be good enough! im just thinking ahead which is why i was thinking 1000
     
  8. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,567

    Location: Lincolnshire

    850w plenty good enough. I have a Superflower 750w, I don't think the fan ever even comes in on it with a 3900x and GTX1080.
     
  9. schumi84

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 5, 2006

    Posts: 3,532

    Location: West Ewell, Surrey

    I’m still using my trusty Corsair HX620 modular PSU that I must have owned for a good 7 or 8 years; hasn’t missed a beat.

    With regards to RAM timings I got my 3466 set up with a slight bump in voltage (1.37) and haven’t tried lowering it yet.
     
  10. Sin_Chase

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 13, 2004

    Posts: 20,534

    All my stuff arrived. Need to see if I can build it in free time as working all Friday and weekend.

    Going to be itching!
     
  11. 69Dude

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 7, 2019

    Posts: 40

    The stock f2 bios and f4 bios on the Aorus pro both juice the chip with volts, they use nearly 1.5 half the time. The chip is perfectly stable with a manual 1.35

    Using the stock cooler on the 3900x reaches about 65c, idle is 40c.
     
  12. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,567

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I read manual voltage will limit your single core boost. 1.45v is perfectly normal too on light loads.
     
  13. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 12,503

    Easily enough. A decent 650w bronze would be good enough.
     
  14. Tomuks

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 1, 2019

    Posts: 52

    [​IMG]

    2x16GB
    also regarding idle vcore, I have read that this is normal, but problem is that at least for me it never downclocks to 1V or so if using ryzen power plans... as it should definitely do at least on balanced plan...
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  15. TerrierHTFC

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 21, 2009

    Posts: 188

    Got mine built last night and all seems well. Seems a little hot at idle (mid to late 40's) but seems like the default voltage is too high?

    Happily windows booted straight up from my old build with minimal fuss so hopefully no issues and a clean install wont be required.
     
  16. roysters

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: London

    Power supplied ordered. Now just need to figure out ram... any recommendations? I can start with 16 but definitely need 32gig.

    I got a spare kraken x62 so be interesting to see what temps this gives me compared to my 7940x
     
  17. Drollic

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2013

    Posts: 3,537

    Location: East Midlands

    I think it's down to the reporting. On normal windows plan it's 15ms response time so shows the downclock and lower voltage. Due to ryzen power plan being new and for 3000 series, it's 1ms response time is meaning reporting software constantly showing higher than idle voltage as if there's always some load when there isn't. At least that's how I read into it. You should find on new patched software (shortly) the reporting is correct without changing anything in bios.
     
  18. Nutella33

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 15, 2011

    Posts: 2,882

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cbls9g/the_final_word_on_idle_voltages_for_3rd_gen_ryzen/

    AMD explained this in the post above, There is an observer effect at the moment with some programs. Latest chipset drivers, bios and May 2019 windows 10 update, you should be below 1v on the ryzen plan when idling. The image in the link there shows a 3900 at 0.384v
     
  19. Smak

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2010

    Posts: 193

    Hey guys, thinking of purchasing the following to finally upgrade my X58 platform, any suggestions, alterations etc? Gone for the MSI board as the fan looks like it's in a better position than most and wont be obscured by the GPU. I will be pairing with 2080ti and used mainly for gaming on 4K OLED.

    My PSU is now 10yrs old (750w BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 7), worth changing as well, any suggestions?

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £1,129.46 (includes shipping: £10.50)
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  20. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 895

    See if you can qualify on this.

    https://www.msi.com/Promotion/I-Love-You-3000-AMD/