1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Ryzen 5 3500X / 3900 (non-x) ???

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by The Old School Gamer, Dec 8, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Joxeon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 2,046

    Location: Uk

    Would it have not been better to get a 3900x at the start and save all the faff?
     
  2. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    Nah it's all a bit of fun. :D
    I am an PC enthusiast after all.
    Tinkering and messing around is my thing.
     
  3. mi9tchy

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 16, 2005

    Posts: 891

    Location: london

     
  4. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    ^^ AMD made a phone call I reckon.

    I have actually spotted a new 3500X listing for £135 + £20 P&P.
    But for that price l would definitely lean towards buying the 3600 from OCUK instead.

    My 3900 has been dispatched, it should be in my hands by the weekend. :p
    It will be interesting to see how well the 3900 boosts via PBO compared to my 3900X.
    If the Tom's Hardware (US) review is anything to go by it should only be marginally slower in real performance terms.

    I am quite surprised there generally isn't more reviews (and interest) for the 3900 non-X out there.
    12 core / 24 thread CPU with a 65W TDP... that is just tech sexy to me lol. :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  5. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 12,636

    Still a few places showing the 3500X in stock. One is way overpriced and an other is in single digits. The Ryzen 1600 AF looks the better chip with the run on the 3500X.
     
  6. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    Arrived today. :)

    I'll install it into the X570 TUF later on tonight and do some benchmarks.

    Any benchmark requests? let me know.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2020
  7. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,893

    Location: Leeds

    people have run the 3900 none x on hwbot on ln2 and it was almost as fast as the top 3900x.
     
  8. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    Here ya go...

    In my case the 3900 is performing better than my 3900X with PBO enabled.

    But there are other factors to consider.
    The 3900 is running on a newer X570 chipset vs the 3900X which is running on a older X370 chipset.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  9. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 12,636

    What is the batch code?
     
  10. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    Interesting... :cool:

    ALL core boosting via PBO is maintaining a higher clock speed on the 3900 vs the 3900X.
    The 3900X still clocks higher on a single core boost as the 3900 tops out around 4.35Ghz vs 4.65Ghz.

    This does kind of explain why I'm getting better benchmark scores out of the 3900, it is technically clocking higher on a multi-core load. :)

    *This is not a true apples-to-apples comparison though as the CPUs are running on different motherboards.
    But the 3900X is water cooled so it's not being thermally constrained.


    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2020
  11. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 12,636

    Is that under highend water?
     
  12. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    see my sig.

    The 3900X is being water cooled.
    The 3900 is being air cooled by a Be Quiet Dark Rock.

    Can't explain it really, could be that X570 mobo is more optimised.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2020
  13. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 12,636

    Strange. I think you dropped lucky on the 3900 and unlucky on the 3900X.
     
  14. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    Yeah could well be.

    Anyone getting above 4.2Ghz all core boost out of their 3900X on PBO?
     
  15. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 27,065

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    Wont it boost higher due to no threads?
     
  16. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    Going by this graph by fpsreview, 4.3Ghz (give or take) is about where 3900X owners should be maxed out on PBO.
    So my 3900X is 100mhz down (give or take), but my 3900 is right where it should be.

    At launch my 3900X was unstable with the old BIOS version(s).
    So it could be it's been slightly degraded or as jigger said I'm just a bit unlucky on the quality of the chip.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2020
  17. subbytna

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 22, 2008

    Posts: 9,419

    Location: Belfast

    3900 cpu? Is that new? I know about the 3900x but not the 3900
     
  18. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    The 3900 is only available on the OEM supply channel for approved system integrator's.
    They are not meant to be on retail sale anywhere as a stand alone product.

    AMD call it the 3900 'Pro' on their site but as far as I can tell it's the same CPU/spec.
    https://www.amd.com/en/products/cpu/amd-ryzen-9-pro-3900
     
  19. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 12,636

    Looking at your image I don't think this 3900 is a pro. I've used a couple of Pro chips and it was marked on ISH as Ryzen 7 Pro 2700X
     
  20. The Old School Gamer

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Twilight Zone

    My point was it's the exact same technical spec.
    So for all intense purposes it is the same chip besides what they are officially calling it and printing on the CPU.