1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD x470, B450 motherboard on zen2

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Simon Belmont, Jun 20, 2019.

  1. an0nym0us

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 15, 2019

    Posts: 1,140

    Would be interesting to know the cause of these issues on the MSI AM4 motherboards.
     
  2. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 26,260

    Location: Rutland

    Aorus Elite is pretty well priced. Decent VRM compared with the cheap X570 boards. £210 with a promotion for £30 of steam vouchers currently.
     
  3. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 12, 2009

    Posts: 2,017

    Is this a problem over multiple forums? I've seen so many people raving about the 3600 B450 combo with the Tomahawk coming out best, I was literally about to buy one today. Gamers Nexus said yesterday it was the best MB at this price point @10:02: https://youtu.be/zuyuS04lD4o
     
  4. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 11,104

    I don't know really. I've only really seen the thread on the MSI site. https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=321288.0

    It's also been mentioned on Tech Power Up, but that references the thread on the MSI site.

    Hardware wise, the Tomahawk and Carbon are highly rated for the price point they are at; partly the reason I decided on getting a Tomahawk and partly because new BIOS can be flashed without the need for a previous gen CPU; but upon seeing some people having issues, that has made me somewhat wary of buying an MSI board until they have released the 'max' 32MB versions of their boards.

    I had thought about waiting until B550 is out, but I didn't realise at the time that would not be until next year. I'll likely waint until MSI has released their 'max' boards, and go from there.
     
  5. almoststew1990

    Soldato

    Joined: May 12, 2011

    Posts: 5,044

    Location: Southampton

    I'm not sure if I want to get an Asus Prime x570-P for £200 (I lolled when the sumary on Anandtech states "The ASUS Prime X570-P sits at the lower end of the X570 product and has an MSRP of $160") or an MSI Carbon AC B450 Max for £125 (hopefully). I really can't think of a good reason to spend the additional £75. Although I am also not sure if I am going 3700x or 3800x.
     
  6. Darren_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,533

    Location: Kent ,UK

    x570 Elite, good board , just they stripped the Audio down grade to alc1200
    no, no for me, ALC 1220 or up :)
     
  7. kiteloopy

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 13, 2008

    Posts: 2,637

    Location: Notts / Reading

    Update on my side.
    So I logged a ticket with Gigabyte last night reporting that my x470 aorus ultra gaming wont boot with any more than 16Gb of RAM (Running F40 Bios) and this morning I got a update on my ticket. They have passed me bios F41b - which I think is a development type. It is not yet listed on the bios website. Will give that a try tonight.
     
  8. Johnny_Alpha

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 9, 2019

    Posts: 11

    I ordered a Tomahawk along with a 3600x last week and finally got the chance to assemble it this morning and failed to POST. I flashed with the Q-flash method both V17 and V18 BIOS and it always 'looked' like it had worked but all I ever got was the CPU error LED when I powered it up. I called OC to see what my options were and they said if I drove to the store they would put an old CPU and flash it that way. So that would be 120 mile round trip!! I asked to just return it as it wasn't fit for purpose and they said they would only return it as unwanted along with all the caveats that cover it. So I've now had to pay £7 to get it returned and been effectively forced into buying a 570 board at over £100 more as they're more likely to run straight out of the box.

    As I'd 'treated' myself to a new PC at a signifaicant cost MSI have managed to ruin the party! Needless to say the new MB is not MSI.....
     
  9. Copesman

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 9, 2018

    Posts: 25

    I really wish there were some b450 combos with the motherboards bios already updated. Cant really justify paying more for the motherboard than the cpu.
     
  10. naffers

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 274

    Location: Bristol

    Does anyone know if Overclockers are willing to flash the bios of the non x570 boards before they're sent out if requested?

    I'm getting tempted by the b450 m-ITX boards but don't want the hassle of getting flash kits from AMD or buying a 2000 process just to flash and then return.
     
  11. tonyt3rry

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 16, 2011

    Posts: 1,442

    Location: Liverpool

    if you get a board with bios flashback you can install a bios without a cpu installed
     
  12. havenrl

    Hitman

    Joined: May 19, 2011

    Posts: 805

    Location: Ireland


    I'm in the same situation.
    I bought b450 tomahawk from a different supplier.

    I used the flashback button, and it worked.

    Installed my 3700x, got to the bios a few times, but most of the time blank screen and cpu error from the bios light.
    I simply don't know what to do, other than return the b450 and purchase x570.

    Re seat the cpu try again.
    Re flash the bios.
    Return the board.

    Thoughts?
     
  13. naffers

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 274

    Location: Bristol

    Yeah I've seen a couple support that feature - but limiting my board choice based on that doesn't feel right.

    Going to have to do some more video review watching :p
     
  14. an0nym0us

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 15, 2019

    Posts: 1,140

    Unfortunately none of the ITX B450 motherboards have the ability to update the BIOS without a compatible CPU.

    I think someone posted that they phoned OCUK to enquire about the BIOS update prior to shipping, but think they were told no. Might be worth calling to double check.
     
  15. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 12, 2009

    Posts: 2,017

    I could be wrong but all this talk on the net is about the tomahawk not b450. The bios needed for 3000 is seemingly larger than the MB can take, hence the MAX versions of 32mb coming out soon, so instead msi strap on some watered down bios? I haven't seen these problems for other b450's, just ram problems.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  16. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 2, 2002

    Posts: 6,560

    Location: N.Ireland

    I sent a web note to ask if they could pre flash the bios on a B450 board and was told they could not...

    My kit arrived, including the MSI B450 Tomahawk, as im coming from Intel, i have no older AMD CPU to put in and flash, so i formatted and old 128mb flash drive to fat32 and put on the latest V18 bios from MSI.
    I plugged in the two power leads from the PSU, and the USB to the correct port and hit the bios flashback button and let it finish, then once done, built the board into the case ect and powered it up... No screen came on... so i plugged the flash stick back in and ran it again and boom,, Bios loaded and all working now.
     
  17. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 11,104

    I hope some others will release some updated revisions of existing 450/470 boards, such as MSI are planning to do. They may not though, as I think this is only something MSI are doing because of the problems people have encountered, which is most likely a result of MSI having to strip their BIOS down to fit 16MB EEPROM chips.

    It's difficult to know what to do. From what I've seen some people say; some got it working after flashing just the once, some needed to flash more than once, but I've seen some people say it worked maybe once or twice after flashing, then refuses to work after rebooting.

    I'm not really sure why it works for some people and not t

    You could try reflashing the BIOS again. Either you'll get success or you won't.

    If it were me, I'd probably return the board and wait until MSI releases the updated 'max' version of the Tomahawk, then get that. Paying the extra for an X570 board, is something I wouldn't want to do. Heck, I'd probably rather wait 6 months untl B550 boards are out than pay £200+ for a decent X570 board.

    You could always consider a Gigabyte board instead, as they have a service where you can send them the board to be flashed with latest BIOS; you just pay for the shipping.
     
  18. havenrl

    Hitman

    Joined: May 19, 2011

    Posts: 805

    Location: Ireland

    Yeah, I gave it a few tries.
    Had enough in the end, with a few hours spent.
    Sent the B450 board back for a refund, and just ordered X570 Gigabyte Ultra to complete my build.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  19. LoopyOrc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 2, 2011

    Posts: 1,128

    Arriving a bit late here but which X470/B450 boards are the hive mind recommending to pair with the 3700X? Having a hard time finding any that specify they support 3600mhz DDR4. I'm looking at the B450 Tomahawk but looks to only support 3200mhz.
     
  20. MegaPinches

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 9, 2015

    Posts: 572

    I doubt the b450 are gonna list higher than 3200 odd because ryzen 2000 not officially supporting it.

    I'm waiting for the Tomahawk max for the bigger bios but....

    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450-TOMAHAWK-MAX/Specification

    For AMD Ryzen Gen3 (R5/R7/R9)
    2667/2800/2933/3000/3066/3200/3466/3600/3733/3866/4000/4133 by A-XMP OC mode