1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 3,489

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    Then i suggest you actually look at the shop website.....................................clearly there are NO binned SKU's. So you are still talking crap. 8 Pack is always looking to bin Sku's...............it's what he does. But if there are no Sku's to bin in the first place, it's an exercise that dosn't even happen.
     
  2. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,573

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I'm using the stock cooler on my 3900x until I get a water block, it's doing a pretty good job to be fair. In CB R20 it's hitting just over 4GHz all core and temps are in the 70's.
     
  3. stoke1863

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 4,562

    Location: Chesterfield

    I ordered a H100i just for the looks but I'm unsure if it's needed really, might return it.

    How loud is the Prisim?
     
  4. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 4,279

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Same, exactly here
     
  5. Zeed

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 5,327

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

  6. N19h7m4r3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 13, 2008

    Posts: 9,313

    Location: Ireland


    Ram clock at 3792Mhz! Did you manage to keep the IF at 1:1?
     
  7. Drollic

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2013

    Posts: 3,545

    Location: East Midlands

    Can understand short term but that's about it. Temps won't get too silly as the all core will just drop.
     
  8. 8 Pack

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: Feb 20, 2012

    Posts: 9,992

    Location: John Smiths Stadium

    Yeah he did.... But R15 score is low for clocks...
     
  9. Zeed

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 5,327

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    not mine so far only 3 people at OCN gotten Zen2 ill start playing tomorrow
    @N19h7m4r3 you can force 1:1 it needs bit extra Soc and there is new voltage that comes out from Soc for infinity fabric default its 0.950volts this is set at 1.050 to get going with 3800 1:1

    We got guy that got AC'sunit outlet hooked up directly to hes pc case if I find photo ill link it. From California or whatever so hes got ac on 24/7 anyway. I hate him for hes temps :D
     
  10. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,573

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Yes I am hoping WC will improve AC frequencies. The stock fan is quite annoying as it ramps up and down constantly. I'm used to AIO with fans at fixed 800rpm.
     
  11. awaybreaktoday

    Mobster

    Joined: May 15, 2006

    Posts: 4,053

    Location: London

    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 9, 2019
  12. Zeed

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 5,327

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Zeed

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 5,327

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    I think second. Will report what I get on mine tomorrow. So far 2 guys that been overclocking Zen from day one got started from interesting values. That first screenshot passed 1 hour of Aida stress test.

    I passed 2000 point on my 2700x in Cb15 so see what new Zen2 brings :) My daily 24/7 was 1970-1980 range.
     
  14. Potatowithearsontheside

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 2, 2019

    Posts: 607

    He's the guy that did the Ryzen: Strictly Technical review over on Anandtech when Ryzen first came out, and also has been doing the same elsewhere for Zen 2. He's also well known for being among the first to do a deep dive on RAM subtimings for Ryzen CPUs.
     
  15. gilljoy

    Hitman

    Joined: May 26, 2008

    Posts: 869

    Quick question, which cooler for a 3700X & a Meshify C?
     
  16. TheMoeBlob

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 15, 2018

    Posts: 30

    I am going to be sticking with the stock wraith for a while when I get mine. Otherwise the NH-U12A should be great
     
  17. Harbz

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 598

    Location: West Midlands

    @Gibbo, if I order a 3700X tomorrow what’s my chances of getting it on Thursday? I have it pre-ordered elsewhere but they won’t have stock for 10 days ☹️
     
  18. awaybreaktoday

    Mobster

    Joined: May 15, 2006

    Posts: 4,053

    Location: London

    Question to all:

    Will threadripper 3000 cpus destroy the 3900x and 3700x in gaming considering it will have a far higher amount of level3 cache?
     
  19. TheMoeBlob

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 15, 2018

    Posts: 30

    Last gibbo said there was enough 3700x to cover the preorders and some still left over
     
  20. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,573

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Unlikely. Threadripper will most likely have higher core counts at lower frequencies which isn't what games like for performance.