1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 21, 2018

    Posts: 763

    Location: Ashton

    Fair enough, I was starting to get worried there haha
     
  2. Harbz

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 598

    Location: West Midlands

    Thanks. I cancelled my order from the other shop and just ordered from OcUK.
     
  3. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 32,351

    Location: OcUK HQ

    I do my best it’s not easy when I’m not even in the UK but I said at the start of this launch OcUk would get the most and generally be first and we have delivered.

    I’ve also being working with TeamGroup to get more 8 Pack memory options and this morning Team engineers finally finished their testing and will now start producing under our 8 Pack brand the following that are perfectly suited to Ryzen and also fine in Intel and again use screened Samsung B die and we shall be cheaper than G.Skill on equivalent kits:

    3600 CL14-15-15-35 1.35v 8GBx2/8GBx4
    3200 CL14-14-14-31 1.35v 16GBx2
    3600 CL16-16-16-36 1.35v 16GBx2

    I suspect we will see our first deliveries end of July and though our current 3200 and 3600 kits work fine these are a little better.

    Now the bad news memory prices increased 5% today as did NAND and were hearing it’s just the start but we’re hoping it’s just a blip and things will settle again as we don’t want ram prices exploding again.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  4. welshrat

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 31, 2011

    Posts: 312

    Well after much thought I have phoned and changed my order from a 3700X to a 3800X, probably nothing in it but I have a feeling the all core will hold out better on this chip and I want something to last me at least 2 years. I just feel the 3700X is like the 2700 (non X) from last year.
     
  5. Incubuss

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 2, 2019

    Posts: 1

    I have 2 packs of CMW32GX4M2C3466C16 (i.e. 4x 16GB 3466Mhz C16 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro) paired with a Gigabyte x570 Master and a 3900x.

    I must admit, getting them to work at decent speeds has been the most difficult part of the build by a significant amount. Although they're rated for 3466, I can't get the system to boot at anything above 3000Mhz with all 4 DIMMs filled. I may be able to push this slightly further, or a BIOS update might help a bit, but having read a few other forums it seems that this is a fairly common as they are Dual Rank to reach 16GB capacity per stick.

    I've seen this described as the "worst possible case", and although 3000Mhz seems like it might be as fast as it'll go, 64GB does seem to work fine. I'll spend a bit of time trying to tighten up the timings, which might offer some improvements, but the key take away seems to be that you need to decide between capacity and speed when it comes to RAM configurations.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  6. stoke1863

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 4,562

    Location: Chesterfield

    order shipped! thanks OCUK @Gibbo
     
  7. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,587

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Perhaps not. I just wanted to make sure they didn't reply with something along the lines of "Yes, our Zen2 blocks are due out next week". I can order an AM4 block now I think.

    Yes that is quite possible.
     
  8. Lolik

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2019

    Posts: 189

    F5 magic works, confirmed:
    Dear ..., Your Order has been packed and is in the process of being shipped.
    :cool:
     
  9. brightside229

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 10, 2009

    Posts: 919

    Location: Newark

    which cpu?
     
  10. stoke1863

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 4,562

    Location: Chesterfield

    3700x
     
  11. Lolik

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2019

    Posts: 189

  12. brightside229

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 10, 2009

    Posts: 919

    Location: Newark

    Yea i can see its showing as in stock on the web, 3800x still pre-order. I am hoping they are working through the stock and its not that the 3800x has not turned up with the 3700 :o
     
  13. wookiee87

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 28, 2017

    Posts: 1,225

    Location: united kingdom, shropshire

    spent £1185 for all my new items and not one packet of haribo :(
     
  14. Cookie12

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 23, 2006

    Posts: 293

    Just had an email to say my order is ready to collect in store.

    3700x :D
     
  15. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 34,610

    Location: Welling, London

    I’d write to your MP. That must warrant some sort of parliamentary inquiry?
     
  16. ben90

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 3, 2009

    Posts: 1,262

    Location: Wiltshire

    This situation is far too serious for sarcasm.
     
  17. no idea what

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 9,587

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Typical, all the AM4 EK blocks are out of stock on OCUK now :( Ordered elsewhere for tomorrow though :)
     
  18. Sin_Chase

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 13, 2004

    Posts: 20,535

    Haribo have failed us yet again with ridiculous UK stock shortages and unknown lead times. They over-promised with their new Starmix range and come launch day the StarMix Hearts and Stars haven't even been sent to reviewers and only the US seems to have got stock.

    Gibbo - Any news from the Haribo distribution centres?
     
  19. Sin_Chase

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 13, 2004

    Posts: 20,535

    I got my Hardline loop parts ordered on Saturday knowing full well there was going to be a run on parts :eek: