1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. Grim5

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 6, 2019

    Posts: 2,304

    Focus on lowering the timings, if you can get it to 3600 CL14 with 1800IF, the gaming performance will be just as good as you had with 3800, if not better
     
  2. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,597

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    But I'm on 1900 3800 cl14 now 62.5ns, hurts me to go down to 3600
    All is fast and stable apart from the sound issues, cinebench good, 3dmark good, stress test good, memtest for 12 hours all good
     
  3. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 19,081

    Location: London

    I'm still waiting for the 1004 Agesa. :o
     
  4. Grim5

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 6, 2019

    Posts: 2,304

    Then try for CL12
     
  5. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2007

    Posts: 17,496

    Location: North West

  6. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: Nov 8, 2007

    Posts: 10,833

    Location: Outer Space

    What's the exact RAM you are using, that's some good going! :cool:
     
  7. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,597

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Trident z royal 4000 cl 17 my friend, the one with the crystal topping
     
  8. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 19,081

    Location: London

    Thanks. Yea seen it's been out for a while now but dont really want to be running a beta version on y system.

    What the heck are Asus playing at. It's been 5 months since this Agesa first started to be released and they still haven't managed to release it across all their lineup...

    It feels bad to spend £180 on an x570 mobo just for an up to date bios... but it's tempting. :o
     
  9. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,547

    I moved to Gigabyte in the end. X370 is not something ASUS are willing to support properly any more.
     
  10. Joxeon

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 565

    Location: Uk

    Or grab a b450 max and save yourself 90 quid.
     
  11. Scramz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,649

    Location: Kent

    Is that as in 14-16-16-36 @3800Mhz
     
  12. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,597

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    14,16,14,14 32,48
     
  13. Scramz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,649

    Location: Kent

    Just did a dirty auto everything then plugged 3800Mhz 1:1 at 14-16-14-14-32 and I am getting 65ns.

    With a quick tweak a week or so about I got down to 64ns but I am not sure what I am doing wrong to not get the numbers down.

    EDIT: Even 14-14-14-14-32 is not yielding less than 65ns.
     
  14. Illuminist

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 3,597

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    The sub timings are where the tweaking begins, have you used the ryzen ram calculator?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
  15. Scramz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,649

    Location: Kent

    I have, I will give is another go.
     
  16. Scramz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,649

    Location: Kent

    Used the RAM cal and I am down to 63.6Ns but oddly, 16-16-16-32 and 14-16-14-32 have the same 63ns.

    I do wonder if using a 3600x over a faster 3800x+ would make a difference.
     
  17. gupsterg

    Hitman

    Joined: May 23, 2016

    Posts: 692

    Location: Lurking over a keyboard

    The R7 3700X I had was no better than R5 3600 when compared at 3733MHz, the R7 couldn't do 3800MHz.

    2 CCD CPUs bench better in AIDA64 from my experience, even when you put aside the write difference, this is R5 3600 PBO+150MHz 3800C16 Samsung B die vs R9 Stock 3800C16 Samsung B die vs R9 Stock 3800C16 Micron E.
     
  18. Twinz

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 20, 2019

    Posts: 161

    Location: SW Florida

    Coming from a 3770k to this new architecture, I have had to change my thinking on how to identify instability. Zen 2 seems to be really good at "working around" instability, so BSOD's are seldom how instability shows up. I'm currently working on getting 2 sticks to run at 3800. The dram calc settings *almost* worked 16-16-16 32, but gear down mode renders more latency and worse Shadow of the tombraider benchmarks than 2T. When I see results like this, I assume I have a stability issue and make adjustments.

    I left the 2T in place and decided to tighten CL by one (15-16-16 32). Latency came in @63.0ns, and it's running memtest now.

    Basically, if better settings yield worse results, assume stability issues. (Run multiple tests to make sure worse results weren't just a fluke)
     
  19. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 19,081

    Location: London

    Tomahawk?

    I read on the product page that it supports memory speeds up to 4133(OC) MHz and yet online reviews say that it's weak point is the memory overclocking.

    Why is this board so highly rated on these forums?

    Is the Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO any good. Aesthetically speaking it looks better. :p

    ---

    Does the Max support PCI-E 4?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
  20. Joxeon

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 565

    Location: Uk

    I have my ram running at 3800/16 on the tomahawk and with tighter timings than my brother managed with his x570 taichi same ram so I wouldn't say ram oc is a weak point.

    It's well built with a good vrm and excellent heatsink so dropping in 16 cores in a few years isn't a problem.

    Do you need pcie 4? GPUs dont as the top ones only just max out pcie2 and unless your moving alot of data around then pcie4nvme isn't worth it either.

    No real reason to pay more unless you have an unlimited budget or need the extra features as that 90 quid saving could go into a CPU or gpu upgrade and give more bang for your buck.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020