1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 30,565

    Its in the same vain that AMD clock their current GPU's about as high as they can go so they somewhat keep up with nVidia, in the same way AMD also did that to the FX-9590, so it could keep up with a 3770K.

    That is and was pathetic.

    Here Intel are introducing a brand new platform on their 10nm node, and it can't keep up with AMD's older architecture without running the memory at close to 4Ghz, the Ryzen 3700u is the same as the three year old 14nm First Gen Vega iGPU's refreshed on 12nm.

    Ice Lake was supposed to be Intel's new wunderkind.

    No wonder Intel's top brass looked like this at Computex, They don't have any answers to what AMD are doing these days.

    PS: you'd need to be pretty desperate to hire Ryan Shrout for PR. Its a bit like the Tories hiring Alastair Campbell

    [​IMG]
     
  2. smilingcrow

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 27, 2007

    Posts: 604

    It's ironic though as on the one hand loads of people on this thread want to know how high they can overclock the RAM with Zen 2, yet some people are complaining that Intel's stock speed is too high! LMAO. ;)
    The bias is so transparent with some and that bloke in the video you linked is one of the worst I've seen. What a joke.
     
  3. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,360

    Location: Surrey

    For optimal latency, the limits are around the same <as before>.
     
  4. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,073

    Location: PA, USA

    So just gotta balance latency vs freq again? Are they easier to reach though?
     
  5. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 30,565

    Thats simply because 'on Zen / Zen+' the CPU performance scales with Memory Speed.

    At over 3000Mhz the gaming performance is very good, the thinking is at over 4000Mhz it might be mind blowing, so of course people are keen to see Intel and beyond levels of memory speeds.


    Apparently 4000Mhz memory is easily achievable on X570.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 1, 2019
  6. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    Of course it scales, you only have to look at my posting in the R20 thread to see that. I have the highest ram speed along with only a 50mhz higher clock than the Ryzen 2700x below mine. The difference is actually down to ramspeed.
     
  7. pete910

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,467

    Without knowing the timings it's kinda meaningless to a degree
     
  8. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 30,565

    Or this... first thing i did when i got mine....

    [​IMG]


    This is too true.
     
  9. smilingcrow

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 27, 2007

    Posts: 604

    You seem to have a split mind on this:
    On the one hand the RAM speed helps the Intel iGPU dramatically.
    On the other they are pathetic for running high RAM speeds.

    They are only supporting LPDDR4 above 3,200 not DDR4 so it's not likely to be damaging power consumption much.
     
  10. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 30,565

    I can't dumb it down any more for you.
     
  11. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    To be honest it wasn't the first thing i did when i got mine.
    I just did what i always do with ram, and clocked it as high and as tight as i could. Never was and never have been interested in what some site has done. They are ALL complete rubbish when it comes to ram, they will be this time round as well because ALL off them have no idea what they are doing.
     
  12. smilingcrow

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 27, 2007

    Posts: 604

    Agreed, you already did magnificently in that regard. You are a master of attempted obfuscation.
     
  13. Potatowithearsontheside

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 2, 2019

    Posts: 476

    Are you aware that he was quoting someone that has access to a Zen 2 CPU?
    If @Silent_Scone says the optimal latency limit is the same, then you can bet that its the most definitive indication that we'll get in this thread for the time being.
     
  14. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,358

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Been looking into RAM, I think I will have to settle for 16GB for now and upgrade in future if I have the need to. Found some GSkill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR for a decent price. From what I can gather it's B-die too. Any reason not to pull the trigger on them?
     
  15. The Old School Gamer

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 292

    Location: Brexit-Excommunicado

    Save some cash and just go for: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/team...3200mhz-dual-channel-kit-black-my-08l-tg.html (unless you want RGB)

    Good timings and they should OC nicely.
    Put the money you save towards a better GPU or CPU.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  16. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,073

    Location: PA, USA

    I struggle with my ram when it is NOT using the XMP profile. Doesn't even matter if I set it to the same settings manually, it just doesn't want to play ball. I used to have a lot of issues with my 1600 and it losing overclocks, memory freq but has been stable for a long time now thankfully. My assumption is that by gen 3 they have pretty much resolved this stuff bar beta bioses. I do recall silent scone saying that there were still some issues compared to Intel overclocking though.

    Looking forward to it. Looks like the beta bios for my b350 tomahawk supports the "new upcoming" cpus which is great news.
     
  17. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,358

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Interesting. Food for thought. Really don't know a lot about RAM to be perfectly honest. The 8pack RAM would be better at 3200mhz and the lower latency? I guess there's no telling if Zen2 will run the Gskill at 3600mhz nicely just yet so hard to know.
     
  18. The Old School Gamer

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 292

    Location: Brexit-Excommunicado

    They would be perfectly acceptable @3200, but most people are pushing these far higher than that without a problem (read the customer reviews).
    Personally I'd say the sweet spot is somewhere around 3466.

    Review conclusion: https://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/team_dark_pro_8_pack_edition_review,12.html
     
  19. KentMan

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2016

    Posts: 357

    I have those Gskill 3600mhz C16 RGBs and they dropped straight into my CH6 and run on the Stilts fast 3200mhz preset no issues.

    I will be moving them to my 3800x build and I'm hoping they'll run at 3600mhz with no issues at all
     
  20. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,358

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Sounds good. It's looking like a close call between the two. I don't need RGB but the G.skill stuff sure is good looking!

    That's good to hear. I am very tempted by them. It also helps that I have vouchers to use so the cost difference isn't the end of the world.