1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Battlefield V performance

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kirby Wurm, Nov 11, 2018.

  1. DarkHorizon472

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 16, 2007

    Posts: 2,253

    You could try turning off SuperFetch as games like BF 5 means it can work against them. If no difference turn it back on again.
     
  2. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2004

    Posts: 2,522

    Location: London

    Anyone else done this? It sounds promising from the internet?
     
  3. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 17,579

    Location: London

    I get freezes as well. Running buttery smooth then grinds to a complete halt for a second or two then continues.

    Can run lovely for an hour plus but then get above issue.

    I think it's the Frost Bite Engine. (DX12).
     
  4. Beta Reverse

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 8, 2014

    Posts: 11

    Yeah, exactly that. Already thought there was something with my pc, but glad to hear it's just a crappy engine.
     
  5. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2015

    Posts: 2,800

    Location: London

    I did some dirty sniping last night and since replying before I noticed occasionally it happens on the odd map. Kinda seems like a bit of a game issue, but as you say it’s not a huge deal as it goes away pretty swiftly and I’ll be honest I’m usually dead anyway ;)
     
  6. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 26,719

    Location: In a house

     
  7. tywyn

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 12, 2009

    Posts: 122

    If I buy a Ryzen 7 2700x and a RX 580 8GB will I be able to play BFV at the highest settings, or will I need a better card?
     
  8. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,265

    Location: Ireland

    Depends on your res.
     
  9. tywyn

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 12, 2009

    Posts: 122

    It's going to be 1080p, that why I ask as the FPS will be capped at 60 FPS on my Sony wall mounted TV. I don't see the point on spending too much on a card if I'm only going to get 60FPS max, but there again if I'm spending £1100 on a new base unit then I would like to play it at the highest possible settings. I may get a Samsung 4K TV in the future, and I could always upgrade the GFX, but I would really like to play BFV at full settings on 1080p if I'm shelling out for a new base unit.
     
  10. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,265

    Location: Ireland

    https://www.techspot.com/review/1763-radeon-rx-590-crossfire/

    580 is in this review gets good performance at 1080, though that is with a slightly faster cpu.
     
  11. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 37,605

    Location: Autonomy

    You’ll need a better CPU the i5 8600 beats 2700x at 1080p

    Only when you go 1440p upwards does the margin with Ryzen and intel drop
     
  12. Brazo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 22, 2016

    Posts: 2,148

    I’m sure the Ryzen will cope with the 60fps his tv is limited too.
     
  13. delvey

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 18, 2014

    Posts: 78

    What he said
    Ryzen 2600 is faster in BF 1 than the 8400 at 1080p, so I imagine the 2700x faster than the 8600 as well
    https://www.techspot.com/review/1627-core-i5-8400-vs-ryzen-5-2600/
     
  14. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 37,605

    Location: Autonomy

  15. delvey

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 18, 2014

    Posts: 78

  16. Poneros

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,222

    Go with the 580, the extra power won't be wasted because it will ensure smoother frametimes which is very important, especially with 60hz display. More pertinently, there's no good savings to be had in exchange for giving up that power. The 580s right now are such insane value, definitely don't skimp on the GPU just for a few pennies. Crucially, don't listen to people who try to sell you on these Intel CPUs. They're giving the same ****** advice that used to be given to people when it was i5 = 4c and it was all like "4c is fine, you don't need any more", or advocating lower vram amounts were also "fine" because when you run out of vram your card can't cope with the games anyway, and other such pearls. The people who followed that advice regretted it. That being said, I don't know if the extra cost of the 2700x makes sense over the 2600, especially at 1080p 60fps considering it's double the cost. I'd lean towards no.

    https://www.gamersnexus.net/hwreviews/3407-intel-i5-9600k-cpu-review-vs-2700-2600-8700k
     
  17. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2015

    Posts: 2,800

    Location: London

    Anyone else struggling with crashes on recent updates? I’ve been getting the game just freeze and back to desktop, repair game and works but just started happening too often so I’ve had to disable DX12 and it’s now fine.

    Doesn’t appear to be RTX related as I turned it off and still the same issue until I turned DX12 off altogether... I will say one thing, the game looks noticeably worse to me now without it :) - I know it doesn’t seem to do a lot but damn you notice it on the snowy maps!!!
     
  18. DarkHorizon472

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 16, 2007

    Posts: 2,253

    Mines been fine since release.

    That kind of crash normally comes from issues around overclocking, power or temps. Sometimes it can be drivers / bios. When BF1 kept crashing for me I had to reseat all my ram, must have knocked it or something. Apart from that in BF V the only crashes to desktop I have has is through overclocking my GPU too much.

    (Just read your post properly now, could be a driver issue.)
     
  19. Smffy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2015

    Posts: 2,800

    Location: London

    Hmm, well I’ve already nudged voltage down to cope with the map load torture test ;).

    I have no real overclock on my GPU, it’s been fine for ages just the other day crashed once and then since that got worse until I turned off DX12. The GPU is just running as it naturally does right now, it should just step down if there is a temp problem but there isn’t. Memory is fine I would think as again it’s fine on DX11... the RAM is running 4,133mhz as it has done for a long time.

    Maybe I’ll try it again after the next update, just feels like it’s bugged out is all, annoying as it was perfect.
     
  20. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 17,579

    Location: London

    BFV scales with cores. Benchmarks I've seen has the 2700x at the top of the list.