• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

BF V(5) MP CPU ulilization

Soldato
Joined
10 Oct 2012
Posts
4,091
Was wondering what kind of cpu util people are seeing during their mp matches in BF5. Im asking cause my [email protected] 4,4 locked is seeing above 85% powering a [email protected] clocks. Im also getting slight stutters from time to time. This is in DX11. If i try dx12, well, same story as BF1, it doesn't work well and stutters even worse.

Haswell is really starting to show its age it seems. Been serving me fine for a long time, if only the cash was there for an upgrade in core count.

Seems quads are getting hammered in this game. CPU performance mentioned at 7m13s
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
29 Jan 2015
Posts
4,839
Location
West Midlands
I have seen 75% usage on my 8700k at times during this beta, but for the most part it's about 50-60%. Quads with no HT are really struggling.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Jan 2017
Posts
406
I have seen 75% usage on my 8700k at times during this beta, but for the most part it's about 40-50%. Quads with no HT are really struggling.
Gav can you try disabling 2 cores and push the cache to 5Ghz and see how it performs?
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
7,596
Location
Sutton Coldfield
Ryzen 1600 here, 16GB and a Vega 64 playing at 3840x1600

GPU usage is around 90% - 99% and CPU usage is around 50% - 70%.

CPU not overclocked, VRAM at 3400

Thats on medium settings in game, everything default.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Jan 2017
Posts
406
Sure I'll get on that tonight, I'll post here with my findings. Why the 5ghz cache though?
I suspect the cache could help a lot and it's often forgotten in many reviews.
If you could do a quick test with these settings:
1. enable all cores and HT, 5Ghz core, cache default (4.4Ghz), ram at as much as you can
2. same as above but cache 5Ghz
3. same as above but disable 2 cores and cache 5Ghz

That would be interesting I think. Thanks Gav! If 1 and 2 turn out to be similar or unnoticeable in FPS then the ring bus is nowhere near its limit at 6 cores at least for this game. If 3 same as 2 then we could say that optimisation needs some polishing.
 
Soldato
Joined
29 Jan 2015
Posts
4,839
Location
West Midlands
I suspect the cache could help a lot and it's often forgotten in many reviews.
If you could do a quick test with these settings:
1. enable all cores and HT, 5Ghz core, cache default (4.4Ghz), ram at as much as you can
2. same as above but cache 5Ghz
3. same as above but disable 2 cores and cache 5Ghz

That would be interesting I think. Thanks Gav! If 1 and 2 turn out to be similar or unnoticeable in FPS then the ring bus is nowhere near its limit at 6 cores at least for this game. If 3 same as 2 then we could say that optimisation needs some polishing.

Gotchya. I'll repost here, either around midnight or in the morning.
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Oct 2012
Posts
4,091
Overclocked my 4790k to 4.7 and cache to 4.4 and my 1886 ram to 2000mhz only changing cas 9 to cas 10 while upping the dram voltage a tiny bit... Stuttering seems to be gone now.. personally dont like to be right on the edge of working/not working but its better than nothing i suppose. Seems util has dropped 5ish %.. this is a very rough estimate, take with a bucket of salt.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Jan 2017
Posts
406
seems like games and apps have now been starting to push bandwidth limit much more than before, with Intel I have seen reviews reporting up to 39% more fps when overclocking the ram from 2133 to 4000.
For example:
2133 to 3200 causes 20-25% increase, 2133 to 3600 causes 26-31% increase and 2133 to 4000 causes 32-39% increase in average and min fps.
Result_SniperX_3600CL19.jpg

Source: http://oc.jagatreview.com/2018/07/h...-skill-sniperx-ddr4-3600cl19-16gb-kit-2x-8gb/

Although timing is still pretty loose since the ram is hynix C-die, good b-die should do 3600mhz 15-15-15-35-1T and 4000mhz 17-17-17-34-1T pretty easily.
This makes me wonder what a good setup with good b-die + single dimm board + good CPu really can achieve. Something like 5.4Ghz core 5Ghz cache and 4400Mhz 18-18-18-36-1T tight would be amazing :D
 
Soldato
Joined
28 May 2007
Posts
16,792
What are the recommended specs? I just had a look on the EA site but can't find them.
 
Soldato
Joined
29 Jan 2015
Posts
4,839
Location
West Midlands
seems like games and apps have now been starting to push bandwidth limit much more than before, with Intel I have seen reviews reporting up to 39% more fps when overclocking the ram from 2133 to 4000.
For example:
2133 to 3200 causes 20-25% increase, 2133 to 3600 causes 26-31% increase and 2133 to 4000 causes 32-39% increase in average and min fps.
Result_SniperX_3600CL19.jpg

Source: http://oc.jagatreview.com/2018/07/h...-skill-sniperx-ddr4-3600cl19-16gb-kit-2x-8gb/

Although timing is still pretty loose since the ram is hynix C-die, good b-die should do 3600mhz 15-15-15-35-1T and 4000mhz 17-17-17-34-1T pretty easily.
This makes me wonder what a good setup with good b-die + single dimm board + good CPu really can achieve. Something like 5.4Ghz core 5Ghz cache and 4400Mhz 18-18-18-36-1T tight would be amazing :D

And they say 3200 is enough......
 
Soldato
Joined
29 Jan 2015
Posts
4,839
Location
West Midlands
Had some time to play about this morning @BTVA here are my findings

5.0ghz core / cache 4.4 / 4000 C18 RAM. I turned the resolution down to 1080P to remove GPU as bottleneck. Same map, same class used for each test to try and make it as fair as I could. Each bench ran for 5 minutes.

Average framerate : 134.3 FPS
Minimum framerate : 109.0 FPS
Maximum framerate : 144.9 FPS
1% low framerate : 89.9 FPS
0.1% low framerate : 27.4 FPS




5.0ghz core / cache 5.0 / 4000 C18 RAM. Again, same settings as before - no noticeable difference.

Average framerate : 136.2
Minimum framerate : 107.8
Maximum framerate : 144.3
1% low framerate : 91.1
0.1% low framerate : 27.9


And lastly, 5.0ghz core / cache 5.0 / 4000 RAM C18 / 2 cores disabled.

Average framerate : 132.0 FPS
Minimum framerate : 96.6 FPS
Maximum framerate : 145.4 FPS
1% low framerate : 82.2 FPS
0.1% low framerate : 28.4 FPS









CPU utilization went from 50 - 70% to 80 - 90% with 2 cores disabled. With only 4 cores active the GPU utilization also dropped. This was not the case on 6 cores, it was pegged at 99%. However as you can see from the results it did not affect the performance much as you would expect and only the 1% lows were that much different.
Anyone on a 4 threaded CPU will struggle hard with this game, those on an 8 threaded will just about get by.
Hope this helps.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jun 2009
Posts
6,828
So basically cache frequency doesn't change anything (beyond 4.6 GHz at least) and it will use 6+ cores.
 
Top Bottom