How to cope?

Soldato
Right, bit of a semi-long read but bear with me.

Around a year and a bit ago I managed to land my dream job, at the mid point of my career and couldn't have been happier. it was a great move into something I wanted and will never get the chance to do again, it's only a five year job role.

Just before I started there was a change in management, the guy who interviewed me left and a new guy took over his role. No worries there as he seemed a nice bloke when I met him on my first day.

Around six months into a HUGE learning curve I get given my first job on my own. Was a relatively difficult bit of fault diagnosis into a system that I have never worked on before, and had already spent a couple of days trying to diagnose. I decide to ask my colleague what he thinks, as he's been there over 20 years. He's the only other person with any in-depth knowledge of the system in question.

So we're sat discussing system details etc, possible faults and the boss walks in, see's us talking and asks why it isnt fixed yet. I explain because I'm having to get advice on the fault. He starts saying how I'm taking the **** and just need to fix it. So off I go and try to do my best.

A day later my line manager says he needs a chat, calls me into the office to ask whats going on with me. I'm a bit puzzled as I thought I was doing relatively well at this point. Get told that he's been told by the boss I'm lazy and I'd rather spend time chatting to X instead of fixing the fault, citing the exact time I was trying to find the fault with X as 'chatting' instead of working. This made me fairly miserable for months.

This hit me fairly hard, I'm not lazy and I've worked my arse off to get this job in the first place. While in it I'm regularly the only person in my trade available with one subordinate compared to all of my previous roles where theres been around 5 trade supervisors and 7-10 subordinates.