*** HP Reverb G2 Owners Thread ***

Associate
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
1,315
Location
Belfast
I had a g2 around a year ago and ended up selling it due to issues, namely performance drops while playing steam games and having to deal with WMR. Can anyone confirm if the experience is better now 1 year later?
 
Associate
Joined
20 Aug 2019
Posts
2,115
Location
SW Florida
I had a g2 around a year ago and ended up selling it due to issues, namely performance drops while playing steam games and having to deal with WMR. Can anyone confirm if the experience is better now 1 year later?
Yes.

Built a rig in February of 2021 and had a lot of issues.

Just built another rig for someone else (with another G2) a couple months ago and it has been solid.
 
Soldato
Joined
23 May 2006
Posts
3,040
the.main issues I had with my G2 were with the launch cable. since having it replaced things have been vastly improved. it's still not as nice as oculus , it still feels like software sitting on top of software.rather than a directly supported headset like my rift was when using native titles... but it is more than usable and I love mine.
 
Associate
Joined
30 Dec 2017
Posts
24
Hi All,
would appreciate any help. The white light on the small power box on the G2 cable is not on. Tried different plugs and even the fuse but no power to the headset. I assume the cable has failed? Anyone know where I can get a new one? HP appear to be out of stock.
thanks
Josh
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jun 2007
Posts
8,580
A quick google and an online retailer has them due in stock 22 june.
Mines been fine but I was going to pre-empt an issue and get one... Forgot and now I'll have to wait... Hopefully mine will last


Hi All,
would appreciate any help. The white light on the small power box on the G2 cable is not on. Tried different plugs and even the fuse but no power to the headset. I assume the cable has failed? Anyone know where I can get a new one? HP appear to be out of stock.
thanks
Josh
 
Associate
Joined
30 Dec 2017
Posts
24
Thanks. Went to EBay cause didn’t want to wait until June. It arrived today and is the V2 with the power button, but….. the headset is still dead. Tried different wall plugs and PC ports but the screen just says connect headset.

Anyone else had this and have a fix? I am out of warranty :(

Josh
 
Associate
Joined
30 Dec 2017
Posts
24
Update. bought a new power adapter and the light came on the new cable but nothing from the headset at all. Still not powering up. So if the original power cable wasn't lighting up but the new one is could it be something like a lightning strike or power surge?

Josh
 
Associate
Joined
2 Jul 2003
Posts
2,235
Update. bought a new power adapter and the light came on the new cable but nothing from the headset at all. Still not powering up. So if the original power cable wasn't lighting up but the new one is could it be something like a lightning strike or power surge?

Josh
Maybe try your luck with customer service. Perhaps warranty reset after the new cable was sent out to you to replace the glitchy version 1?
 
Associate
Joined
30 Dec 2017
Posts
24
Called them. Out of warranty so they say they can’t help. best suggestion they had was go to Ebay for help where I bought it from.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Oct 2002
Posts
639
what batteries are you guys using? i bought a set of PKCELL Ni-Zn AA which are 1.6V but they're all dead despite saying they're at full charge. I have loads of fantastic eneloops but they're only rated to 1.2V.
 
Top Bottom