1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking guide for newbies here...

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by NF7-S, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. NF7-S

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2003

    Posts: 5,722

    Re: Re: Overclocking help


    don't forget voltages can kill components!

    the guide tells you to slowly add a bit at a time, and to one component at a time - I'm not sure advising to up all these at the same time is a great idea.

    if the CPU can clock to 2.2, then in theory the memory sounds to be the weakest link, try upping the RAM ONLY first (IMHO), as per the guide (re: my comments if you had read the guide!?)

    Dekim - not sure mate, I think it's just value over performance the 2500 offers the better deal?

    Elyman - no idea mate...have a play and let us know :)
     
  2. Chong Warrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 12,044

    Location: Manchester

    Re: Re: Re: Overclocking help

    Those are very safe voltages I told him to try, It's not like I said put 2v through his CPU and 3v through his RAM.

    Also don't forget the NF7-S undervolt's the CPU aswell, I'm very dubious when people claim they have their XP2500+ at 11x200 = XP3200+ at default volt's on an NF7-S and it's 100% stable.

    I'm not saying it can't be done but I reckon there are very few XP2500's that will do that and play games or run prime95 fault free on one of these mobo's, as it's really only getting around 1.62v.

    By suggesting he up the volt's to 1.675v it's just making sure he's at least giving the CPU 1.65v which is default. Hardly going to cause it to overheat is it?
    1.7v through the northbridge won't damage anything either.

    The only slighty dangerous voltage raise is to the RAM, as the mobo's already overvolt the RAM by 0.1v, but it does sound like it's a RAM problem so he needs to try it.

    I will never advise anyone to do anything regarding overclocking unless I know 100% what I'm talking about. Overclocking on the NF7-S I do:) I know these boards inside out.
     
  3. NF7-S

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2003

    Posts: 5,722

    I was just saying that it's probably better to adjust one thing at a time mate :)

    Not only that, you said yourself that the RAM sounds suspect...so why not try that first?

    Also, with the northbridge - I thought these weren't great on the NF7-S unless cooling had been improved?

    Not doubting you're knowledge (even if u do support Spurs!! :p)

    Agree that I think many are too impatient and just lumping it to 11x200, testing it for 10 mins and thinking everything is dandy...that's a short-cut to expensive pops IMHO!

    Everyone (who is new to OCing) should do things as per the guide...or expect bad things to happen...the guide is like a fool proof idiots guide, learn to walk before running please chaps!! :D
     
  4. Dataisgod

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 24, 2003

    Posts: 245

    Location: Ireland

    nf7-s thanks for the overclocking guide its been a great help and i forward it a good few people when they are asking for overclocking advice.

    anywho i was wondering could i use it/borrow heavily from it, to create an overclocking sticky in the hardware modding section on www.boards.ie (a vbulletin board as well but not just for hardware and software)

    the hw modding section is getting an overhaul and an overclocking sticky is a suggestion.

    would this be ok?

    cheers

    data
     
  5. NF7-S

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2003

    Posts: 5,722

    yeah, no probs mate - the more it helps the better.

    as a note to those who tinker with memory timings...apparently it doesn't make that much difference these days - I found an interesting feature...just thought I'd englighten anyone thinking of trying this too...

    http://www6.tomshardware.com/motherboard/20040119/index.html
     
  6. Dataisgod

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 24, 2003

    Posts: 245

    Location: Ireland

    thanking you mate
     
  7. rudidudi

    Associate

    Joined: Apr 27, 2004

    Posts: 17

    Excellent post for noobies like me - thanks

    :)
     
  8. MoNkEyMiKeY

    Mobster

    Joined: May 17, 2004

    Posts: 4,662

    bump
     
  9. mrthingyx

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Apr 3, 2003

    Posts: 15,202

    Location: Cambridge

    Just because the 'search' button would seem to have disappeared judging by some recent threads...

    You know who you are...

    ;)
     
  10. NF7-S

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2003

    Posts: 5,722

    LOL :D

    *bump*
     
  11. helpimcrap

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 13, 2004

    Posts: 12,330

    Location: Leicestershire

    quality guide.

    thanks. :)
     
  12. NF7-S

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2003

    Posts: 5,722

    bumpy up here - over 10,000 reads!! :eek:
     
  13. specofdust

    PermaBanned

    Joined: May 15, 2003

    Posts: 3,938

    Location: The Chair

    Righty, this seems to be the one to post in.

    I want help Oc'ing my barton 2800+, but I don't(DO NOT) want to up the voltages at all, partially because the cpu's already at 55 degrees, and partially because I feel that by just upping the FSB my cpu is going to get a lot less ****** if it goes wrong.

    I've got a:

    barton 2800
    MSI - KTV4
    512Mb PC2700
    Whatever bios came with the thing

    should I just up the FSB by 5Mhz increments and then stop when it wont pass prime95 and leave it at that or what?
     
  14. fiShBoNe

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 10, 2003

    Posts: 159

    yeah, pretty much..
    upping the vdimm for ** ram won't make cpu run hotter, but making the cpu running faster generally makes it hotter.

    can't see much will go wrong apart from having to clear cmos..
    as long as u watch the temps.

    at 55, u might want to look into for some better cooling tbh
    what memory have u got btw?
     
  15. specofdust

    PermaBanned

    Joined: May 15, 2003

    Posts: 3,938

    Location: The Chair

    Just some Hynix 2700, running at 2.5 3 3 7 IIRC, without any heatspreaders or anything.
     
  16. fiShBoNe

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 10, 2003

    Posts: 159

    hmm i get a feeling your fsb would get limited by your memory...
    but you might be lucky i guess, see if u can hit 200mhz.
     
  17. specofdust

    PermaBanned

    Joined: May 15, 2003

    Posts: 3,938

    Location: The Chair

    FSB limited by memory? So would I be able to push it up by maybe 10-20 Mhz? It'd be cool to reach say, 3000 speeds. Will I need PC3200 If I wanna go further?
     
  18. fiShBoNe

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 10, 2003

    Posts: 159

    PC3200 can run 200mhz
    but some PC2700 can be overclocked, this of course is if they are good quality ram. Some ram are designed and made for having good overclocking ablilities, while others (e.g unbranded & etc.) are expected to be running at default.
    maybe u can with a bit of vdimm upping... but i wouldn't get your hopes up with those ram tbh.
     
  19. specofdust

    PermaBanned

    Joined: May 15, 2003

    Posts: 3,938

    Location: The Chair

    So I basicly need to get some PC3200 ram. Thanks anyway fishbone :)
     
  20. NF7-S

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 25, 2003

    Posts: 5,722

    yes mate, get some faster RAM (fastest you can afford within reason) - also drop the multi back to 10 before you start...the faster the FSB the faster everything works - not just the CPU.

    Read the guide first tho mate, be sure to lock the AGP bus etc.