Quake II RTX

Joined
22 Feb 2019
Posts
1,164
Location
Guernsey
Will this work at all on Pascal hardware or is it exclusively Turing?

Nvidia has enabled ray tracing on pascal.
How well it will run on pascal is a different matter though.

https://videocardz.com/newz/nvidia-to-enable-directx-raytracing-dxr-for-pascal-and-volta

[EDIT]

Hmmm dunno exactly... tends to indicate you need RT cores.

Quake II RTX Minimum System Requirements
OS: Windows 7 64-bit or Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64-bit
Processor: Intel Core i3-3220, or AMD equivalent
Memory: 8 GB RAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060, or higher
Storage: 2GB available space
 
Caporegime
Joined
30 Jul 2013
Posts
25,011
I never thought Quake II was a particularly great game (in single player)

As a tech showcase, sure...but it only came out 11 months before Half-Life, which was a much better game.

I did play a fair bit of Deathmatch, Q2 CTF, and 'Action Q2' though.
 
Soldato
Joined
6 May 2009
Posts
18,196
Why's it all bright? yuck

Like Quake 1, the originals were dark and gritty. This looks way too like Crysis or Farcry
 
Man of Honour
Joined
13 Oct 2006
Posts
82,314
OS: Windows 7 64-bit or Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64-bit

Surprised it doesn't need Windows 10 - but assuming Vulkan is used I guess it won't have the same requirements as a DX implementation.

Why's it all bright? yuck

Like Quake 1, the originals were dark and gritty. This looks way too like Crysis or Farcry

I'm disappointed by the blue and yellow skies and sunlight colours - seems whoever did this completely ignored the original setting - though a blue sky does change the look and feel of the original in quite a strange way for instance (not RTX):

https://imgur.com/IDQ0Ypi
 
Last edited:

Raz

Raz

Soldato
Joined
18 Sep 2003
Posts
4,966
Location
Nowhere
Reminds me more of Serious Sam than something that's meant to be dark, gritty and 'alien'.
 
Associate
Joined
16 May 2007
Posts
847
I'll be trying this with my 1080ti and I'll report back here how it runs unless someone else beats me to it.
 
Caporegime
Joined
30 Jul 2013
Posts
25,011
https://store.steampowered.com/app/1089130/Quake_II_RTX/

So how fast is it?
On a GeForce RTX 2080 Ti with a not-quite-final version of Quake II RTX, we saw roughly 97 fps at a resolution of 1920x1080, with visual quality set to high. For comparison, we saw about 419 fps in Quake II, set to 1920x1080 with 8x anisotropic filtering and multisampling turned off, using the OpenGL 3.2 renderer on a Core i7-9750H laptop with a GeForce GTX 1660 Ti GPU. We had to patch the Steam version first using the Yamagi patch.

If you’re underwhelmed by 97 fps on a $1,200 GeForce RTX 2080 Ti card, remember what’s going on here. The game is implementing a fully path-traced renderer and is computationally expensive to run. It’s a technique that’s really only been used in 3D movies to date, and fairly recently, too.

It also yields some beautiful effects. Glass windows and water in Quake II RTX obviously seem like night and day from the original version. So if you’re going to snark about “only 97 fps” on a GeForce RTX 2080 Ti, know that a game session of Quake II RTX will easily render more ray-traced frames than a full-length animated movie, and in real time, too.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Oct 2008
Posts
5,733
No laughing. 42 FPS using a 2080 at the very start. :). Default settings - can't see much to change atm. Switched to OPENGL rendering and probably hitting the limit at 1000FPS.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
18 Feb 2015
Posts
5,906
Does the game scale well with resolution? ie are you missing out by going 1080p instead of 4k? usually these older games don't benefit much from it.
 
Caporegime
Joined
30 Jul 2013
Posts
25,011
Does the game scale well with resolution? ie are you missing out by going 1080p instead of 4k? usually these older games don't benefit much from it.
The original game is 370mb

This is a 1GB download, but I doubt 4k will change anything noticable, other than making the text really teeny tiny.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Oct 2008
Posts
5,733
Does the game scale well with resolution? ie are you missing out by going 1080p instead of 4k? usually these older games don't benefit much from it.
Only tried it for a few mins and assuming it's using my native res of 1440P to get the 42 - 48 FPS
Now tried 1080P and getting over 60 FPS now with global illum high. Looked nicer at 1440P I think but only tried both resoltuiosn quickly
 

Raz

Raz

Soldato
Joined
18 Sep 2003
Posts
4,966
Location
Nowhere
No laughing. 42 FPS using a 2080 at the very start. :). Default settings - can't see much to change atm. Switched to OPENGL rendering and probably hitting the limit at 1000FPS.

Just tried it and got 30-40fps (on a 2080). Not as smooth as I was hoping...
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Oct 2008
Posts
5,733
Just tried it and got 30-40fps (on a 2080). Not as smooth as I was hoping...
1080P and medium global illum seems best settings for 2080, should get 70-80FPS, more playable anyway :D. High will be around 60 FPS. I was using 1440P originally
 
Caporegime
Joined
8 Nov 2008
Posts
28,386
It's not often I get tempted about upgrading over one game but I'd love to try this out. Obviously, my GPU can't do RT...period, though I wish it could run it even at terrible something fps.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom