1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by RoosterC, Oct 4, 2019.

  1. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,810

    Looks promising on the red dead online front...been playing all morning and havent had a single 2001006 error, hopefully that means they have fixed that online issue :)
     
  2. Witcher1980

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 23, 2017

    Posts: 548

    Location: Westleton

    What do you guys use to take screenshots, mine always come out looking blurry like below.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. theone8181

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2013

    Posts: 4,086

    is that using the photomode?
     
  4. Witcher1980

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 23, 2017

    Posts: 548

    Location: Westleton

    No that was using MSi, I have tried the photo mode and that looks rubbish for me as well. Maybe I should try it again, all the pictures everyone else posts look great. Can't even make out the MSi OSD in mine lol
     
  5. Azraeluk

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 12, 2005

    Posts: 666

    Location: Doncaster, South Yorks

    I've recently upgraded to a 3600 on an Aorus B450 Pro and was running the "latest" bios (F42f) which gave full ABBA support (AGESA 1.0.0.3) and works great with everything until RDR2, tried all the fixes and proved that it worked or at least started the game using the ropey GTAV launcher thing.

    Flashed the BIOS back to the F40 which has AGESA 1.0.0.2 and lo and behold RDR2 runs up a charm, performance is decent once I've tweaked to what I think is an acceptable level.

    Oh running at 1080p on a 1060 6gb.

    I have a sneaky thought that the DRM embedded in the launched is having some weird conflict with AGESA 1.0.0.3 ABBA, sadly It might be a month before AGESA 1.0.0.4 is out for my board.

    Clearly not enough testing was done by R* before launch and they don't know now how to fix it, I have had a support ticket logged for almost 48 hours now and silence from R* is deafening.

    Flashing a BIOS shouldn't be a fix to launch a game, I can see many inexperienced users bricking their systems trying to get it working.

    For me this is a worse launch than Arkham Knight!
     
  6. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 17,758

    Kind of glad I held off picking this up now! So many people having issues, but a few also having no problems. I’ll pick it up after Christmas I think.
     
  7. Amatsubu

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 8, 2012

    Posts: 2,845

    The blur is due to the way Pro upscales to 4k in this game, it's borked. I played the entire game on a 1080p display and it looked really good. At 1080p it also has less drops than the One X even (meaning it doesn't drop at all) but most people probably played in the borked 4k mode.

    PC obviously looks noticeably better but still.
     
  8. Len Dananey

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 23, 2019

    Posts: 502

    The game looks quite good maxed out, but certainly not amazing.
     
  9. andicole0

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 12, 2005

    Posts: 6,182

    Location: Robertsbridge

    Wow what are you looking at?
    Andi.
     
  10. jpm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 14, 2004

    Posts: 1,227

    Location: Abertillery, South Wales

    Its what I had to do, Keeping an eye on the Gigabyte site to. But at least Destiny 2 launches with 1.0.0.2 if I recall that's the bios people were having trouble with (a update was already out when I got my 3700x) so will leave it as it is for the moment.
     
  11. Strudders

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 27, 2011

    Posts: 2,566

    Quite good comparison

     
  12. Len Dananey

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 23, 2019

    Posts: 502

    Maxed out at 1440p mate, not that impressed at all tbh. Game is ok but certainly nothing special.
     
  13. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,810

    Can I ask, what games graphics do impress you, just so that we have a bar by which to judge that comment. I think RDR2 aesthetically looks absolutely stunning. I certainly in no way, if I was being truly honest and objective, would describe the graphics as nothing special. Easily up there with AC Origins and AC Odyssey, two recent titles which I also thought looked aesthetically and atmospherically stunning.
     
  14. Len Dananey

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 23, 2019

    Posts: 502

    I thought AC Odyssey looked garbage too tbh mate. Battlefield 5 now that is impressive. This is nothing special for me personally, really don't like it. Don't rate the graphics and really dislike the gameplay but that is my own personal opinion, each to their own. Have asked for a refund.
     
  15. Bounce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 22, 2011

    Posts: 1,417

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Its basically GTA 5 graphics?
     
  16. Len Dananey

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 23, 2019

    Posts: 502

    GTAV Graphics where stunning, this is not in the same league as GTAV if you ask me. GTAV was a great game in every way for single player experience. Loved Witcher 3 graphics too. Hopefully my refund goes through so I can get this off my pc.
     
  17. Bounce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 22, 2011

    Posts: 1,417

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Why are you refunding it?
     
  18. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,810

    I can understand you wanting a refund, tbf you've not had much positive to say about the game at all so makes sense for you to refund it.

    We'll have to agree to disagree on the graphics then because I think RDR2, AC Origins and AC Odyssey are all terrific looking games, on a par with BF1 and BF5 for me. But I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder of course and its human nature to see more negative things where youve already got a lot of negative feelings toward (and vice versa)
     
  19. Len Dananey

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 23, 2019

    Posts: 502

    I don't like the gameplay or anything else about it mate. Just waiting for it to go through now.
     
  20. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,810

    Well you can get it off your PC right now, no need to wait for the refund for that at least, always nice to get 110+ Gb of space back :)