1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up Pi-hole

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by NoNameNoNumber, 5 Nov 2016.

  1. jellybeard999

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,859

    Location: North East

    Yes. It works fine with a public DNS (eg google 8.8.8.8). It doesn't with the Pihole IP.
     
  2. Ad_Augendae

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Mar 2018

    Posts: 374

    the pihole just resolves on port 53 dns queries but your need to change those on the router

    what is the ip of your dns servers ?

    so my pihole servers are 192.168.0.8 and 192.168.0.10 so thats what I would set my dns to in the router

    In any case you would turn off dhcp on your router if you was using the pihole as dhcp

    strike that.

    but those routers are very limited, and I am not familiar with that Hub setup

    It depends how that router is setup, if your disable DHCP for the Lan then the router might also be disable local dns forwarding. I don't see why you would want to forward dns from the router when pihole is handling the DHCP and DNS. Also some devices/routers do forced DNS direction.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 4 Jan 2022
  3. jellybeard999

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 7 Feb 2004

    Posts: 7,859

    Location: North East

    I'm happy for the router to handle DHCP. I only changed it as I read it can sometimes avoid conflicts.

    I've set the DNS in the below page. This used to direct to the talktalk DNS

    If I use the pihole ip address I get the "ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED" error.

    There is also this page, but I have left it at default.


    EDIT - Though this suggests the second DNS page is the one I should be changing?

    https://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/Articles/Using-3rd-Party-DNS/ta-p/2205279

    But then for the first I have the option of "default" which just plugs in the talktalk DNS, or manually specify, where I can enter whatever I want, which doesn't work! It seems like the first one makes the difference.

    EDIT 2 - Tried with "DNS WAN IPv4" set as 8.8.8.8 and "Static DNS Server Configuration" set as pihole and it seems to work. Maybe I'm missing something, as this seems the wrong way round to me, but it seems to work. Fingers crossed.
     
    Last edited: 23 Sep 2021
  4. Ad_Augendae

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Mar 2018

    Posts: 374

    I would get another solution if your router isn't dealing with dns, ie if you use the router to forward dns, even if it works it still leaves you in the same position, move away from it and get something else or use the DHCP/DNS in pihole. Get a modem solution then buy something that you can put openwrt on or OPNsense pfSense this will give you more fine control.
     
  5. Danthus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2010

    Posts: 15,390

    Which is the best Docker to use for PiHole on Unraid?
     
  6. GR63

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 May 2021

    Posts: 1,039

    Location: Herts

    Best in what way? Surely much the same
     
  7. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,380

    Location: UK

    I use the official pihole-template one in community applications with no issues, but I agree, I can't think there's much difference to the other template available in CA.

    edit: looks like the other one supports DNS-Over-TLS and DNS-over-HTTPS if that's a requirement for you.
     
  8. bloodiedathame

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 May 2007

    Posts: 8,440

    Location: Surrey

    Here's a weird one.

    Fortnite updated recently to use Unreal Engine 5, and since then me and the kids had been unable to crossplay from any device in the house, PC, Switch, PS4, Xboxes...

    I couldn't figure it out, then had a brainwave that PiHole might be blocking something... Lo and behold, hundreds of blocks to xmpp-service-prod.ol.epicgames.com

    Whitelisted it and problem solved!

    Hopefully that helps someone!
     
  9. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,015

    Location: N.Ireland

    Thanks for sharing!
     
  10. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,069

    I am finding it extremely hard to get the Daily Mail iPhone app working with pi-hole.

    Awful app i know, but my wife reads the showbiz pages on it so wont let this go. I have eventually by trial and error got to a point where articles will refresh, and some images will load in a very hit and miss nature. If i start whitelisting any further requests i get unacceptable levels of adverts starting to appear.

    Very annoying! Any of you found the same?
     
  11. bloodiedathame

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 May 2007

    Posts: 8,440

    Location: Surrey

    Get her a subscription to Private Eye? ;)
     
  12. Bluecube

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Feb 2011

    Posts: 2,742

    How dare you insinuate that OCUK forumites read the Daily Mail!!
     
  13. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,069

    Haha, i knew would be a controversial one :D Awful app, and now hate it even more with the hassle its giving me!
     
  14. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,380

    Location: UK

    I had this and more. In the end I gave up and reserved a static IP for her phone and used the groups facility of PiHole to put that IP in a group that basically had a hugely reduced blocklist of known phishing sites and left it at that so she gets lots more ads than me but can still catch up on who's ******* who from celebrity love brother in Chelsea or whatever.
     
  15. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,069

    Haha :) Good suggestion, right now as a temporary fix i have put her phone onto an external DNS. Ironically though i now get complaints that the adverts are everywhere (which they are, its near unusable, full screen videos which you cannot cancel until after a count down etc - who puts up with this ****?)

    I need to spend more time on it i guess, the phone produces absolutely loads of requests dependent on article requested - i need to eliminate each one, one by one.

    Annoying as the desktop site displays perfectly with zero ads, but of course she wants to use the app (fair).
     
  16. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 3,026

    Look through the query log and search for the IP address that the phone has got. You'll then be able to see the DNS queries that it has (on the grounds of good taste when thinking about the Daily Fail) denied. Look for the timestamps to see which queries were getting blocked at the time she tried to load that hate filled app.

    From there you could add those hostnames to the whitelist. You'll likely need to add quite a few.
     
  17. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,069

    Thanks for the reply (genuinely :)) but i know how it works - it generates LOADS! Due to the way the app caches articles and content you also need to repeatedly install and uninstall the app data between each query, i'll need to put in the time to go through each one, one by one, blocking it, retrying, unblocking, repeat :)

    Annoying!
     
  18. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 3,026

    There was a degree of sarcasm in my reply, but the intention was to help :)
     
  19. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,069

    Agree about the app - as BigT mentioned, they appear to have the showbiz whose ******* who this week section covered though :p
     
  20. Danthus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2010

    Posts: 15,390

    I am really struggling to get this working via an Unraid docker.

    I can't resolve and DNS names, I can ping the Docker container IP but not browse any website.