1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SimCity V (2013) - screens/artwork and information

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by DennisK4, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. abnewton

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2012

    Posts: 298

    No .... one of many great design decisions by Maxis :rolleyes:
     
  2. Schizophonic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 27, 2006

    Posts: 2,484

    Location: Northampton

    Guys, need help something very simple, When I build an Acology, do I export or use locally for my resources?
     
  3. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,730

    Location: South Manchester

    Use locally.
     
  4. anthony566

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 7, 2013

    Posts: 1,647

    Location: North East

    Last edited: Apr 20, 2013
  5. LateX'Dog

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 25, 2010

    Posts: 5,324

    Location: A house

    This update still doesn't fix the graphics problem with zooming and roads placed on raised terrain.

    It also doesn't make any mention of the 40 page thread on the support forum about people constantly crashing.
     
  6. LoopyOrc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 2, 2011

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Epsom

    Haven't played this since release week, maybe this patch will get me back in to it.
     
  7. anthony566

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 7, 2013

    Posts: 1,647

    Location: North East

    I'm still holding off until the bugs settle down .... But I am annoyed that I'm in this position :(
     
  8. corkhead

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 23, 2008

    Posts: 202

    Ive just come across the school bus bug :( this is the first time ive seen this so im wondering if this is a result of an update. I fixed it by buldozing the school but i was too late..

    No buses can get in/out of the school and so it means that the whole city loses its education level, industry and electronics factories lose all the workers. Nuclear plant loses workers and education level and goes boom :(


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmqItQitZdk
    Not my video but this is exactly what happened.

    I was in the process of creating an electonics factory and everything went pear shaped :(
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
  9. Bumhug

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 2, 2009

    Posts: 596

    Had this a couple of times, and with normal buses getting stuck at bus stops. Had half a city burn down due to a bus getting stuck at a bus stop and 4 fire engines just sitting behind it waiting for it to move. Which was kind of frustrating given it was on a high density avenue and they could of just driven round it :rolleyes:
     
  10. joedaviot

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 25, 2012

    Posts: 5

    thanks man
     
  11. A2BDriver

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 30, 2009

    Posts: 220

    Location: North YorkShire

    So update 2.0 is live, anyone like to share their experiences with it for me?

    I would but my game crashes within five mins all the time :(
     
  12. Lunatic Dreyfus

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2007

    Posts: 4,228

    Location: Returning video tapes

    First time I've played in about 2 weeks and have started a new region... Things seem a bit out of whack to be honest.

    Maxis may have gone full retard on their air pollution changes. :( I have a city of 614 people and things are already getting crowded in the local clinic. It's not right.

    For me the game has almost always been stable, even in the early days. One of its few positives in my book.
     
  13. ash7jar

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 27, 2004

    Posts: 514

    Location: Dorset

    My Sim City does not seen to update ? is there a way of checking what ver. no. I am running? many thanks
     
  14. Spektor

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 14, 2008

    Posts: 4,234

    It's been live for 24 hours with only you having bumped it; speaks volumes about this game :p
     
  15. TheKnat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 13, 2007

    Posts: 1,821

    Location: Lancashire, UK

    Played version 2.0 today. My existing city now crashes within a couple of minutes of playing, no matter what speed I run it at. Created a new city, played for a couple of hours. Logged out and tried to access it later on and its now stuck trying to rollback itself.

    I'm out
     
  16. Bobcat

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 1,530

    Location: Swansea

  17. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 15, 2003

    Posts: 12,624

    Location: Chengdu

    The game is just an absolute joke, it's just a shame people were so quick to depart with money for it!
    Hopefully lessons have been learned. Stop pre-ordering! :)
     
  18. LateX'Dog

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 25, 2010

    Posts: 5,324

    Location: A house

    Ok so i completely reinstalled the game last night and carried on in my region. Most of the problems i've had have been somewhat fixed.

    I would suggest you all try reinstalling the game and try again. Its a small download and doesn't take long.
     
  19. arknor

    Caporegime

    Joined: Nov 22, 2005

    Posts: 35,602

    Location: Newcastle/Zurich

    it doesn't fix the traffic
    the sims not "owning" anything
    the sims going to random jobs
    etc

    and appears to have created more issues than it was meant to solve
     
  20. mark43

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 14, 2007

    Posts: 3,696

    Yep, I read the update notes and there was nothing in there that made me want to give this game another try.

    As mentioned in the above post, it doesn’t fix things like traffic and sims not having fixed jobs. I suspect a lot of this won’t be fixed as it would all be quite complicated and they’ve kept it all quite simplistic.