1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    No it is nothing like that
    Undervolting 140mv and have a cooler faster running quieter card versus one you cannot touch at all or games crash and is too loud to hear over and so hot it throttles, is a variance in product quality.
     
  2. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Like having a car you can't drive over 60mph without it making a horrific noise when everyone else, can drive faster and no noise at all
     
  3. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Also you don't spend 650 on an amd card to just never be able to touch it or it crashes.. ..


     
  4. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,741

    Location: Ireland



    Just for the people that didn't know. :p
     
  5. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    How can he keep a straight face doing that hahahaga
     
  6. spook2575

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 23, 2007

    Posts: 762

    But mine didn't come with a pci cover!
     
  7. L-Digital82

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 27, 2019

    Posts: 35

    I’d be interested if people could share their cards default and optimal discovered settings so far for comparison.

    I’ll start, haven’t really been able to get any extra juice out of mine, even keeping default clock and only increasing power limit or memory speed reduces my time spy score, however it does undervolt like a dream so it’s nice and quiet for me.

    Sapphire

    Default
    Clock speed 1802
    Voltage 1038mv

    Optimal
    Clock speed 1802
    Voltage 915mv

    When running heaven with either of these settings the frequency actually seems to sit around the 1750 mark.
     
  8. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,451

    Location: Essex

    Ive been playing around anybody else tried the auto memory overclock?

    [​IMG]

    1235mhz memory and a big uplift in benchmarks.
     
  9. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,072

    Location: PA, USA

    1235mhz? Holy heck
     
  10. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Me and vince just been playing with this. It worked for me too, I got 1150 hbm with the button
     
  11. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Sapphire
    Default - 1800
    1061mv

    Optimal - 1800
    980mv benchmarks
    1061mv games

    Press the auto overclock memory button
    1800 core
    1150 hbm

    8931 in timespy
     
  12. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,451

    Location: Essex

    It goes faster too... quite a bit faster infact with these clocks. my best runs so far!
     
  13. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Press the reset to default on wattman.
    Then press the auto memory overclock button people! Tell us what you get
     
  14. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,451

    Location: Essex

    Im not sure we can count the default, mine varies reboot to reboot. Ive had defaults as low as 1037 rebooted reset the driver and im at 1111mv.

    My "actual" clocks with the memory button thing though is
    1771 core
    1235 hbm
     
  15. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,456

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Press the auto memory overclock button then press apply we really wanna know what you get
     
  16. malachi

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 27, 2006

    Posts: 8,923

    Location: Earth

    So who has gone from Vega 64 to Radeon 7, what's the verdict? Especially at 4k?
     
  17. TrixX

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 4, 2017

    Posts: 533

    Location: Australia - Sunshine Coast

  18. Dave2150

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 31, 2002

    Posts: 6,584

    Location: Wales

    Sure you aren't getting performance regressions with higher HBM clocks?

    I get a timespy graphics score of 8957, at stock gpu/memory but with 970mv underclock. My overall timespy score is low due to having a 6700k quad core:

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Davedree

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2010

    Posts: 2,978

    Not a great graphics score in time spy, only about +4-5fps compare to my lc64. How about fs normal,extreme and some real game benches.
     
  20. Dave2150

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 31, 2002

    Posts: 6,584

    Location: Wales

    Was your LC64 at stock? Drivers for Radeon VII don't' properly support overclocking yet, so most are running stock, just with undervolts for temps/noise.

    Here's my first firestrike: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33315642?

    Games are 20-30% faster on average for the ones I've played so far.