1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. Davedree

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2010

    Posts: 2,984

    Ok I guess it needs more time to see how well V7 scales. If by stock lc64 depends if you mean out the box or if you mean undervolting the stock clocks. With a held 1720mhz and 1170 hbm in timespy my Gscore is 8378.
    And a held 1680/1150 my fs g-score is 27309.
    When undervolted with V7 I expect you'd see some decent power reductions though.

    Thanks for your fstrike score it's the first real one i've seen, 28.5k isn't bad but still i'd want to see 29-30k.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  2. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,471

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Ahah !! Me and Vince are geniuses and with our combined power we have cracked it !!

    [​IMG]

    I'm going to try to get it over 1900 on the core now, BRB
     
  3. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,464

    Location: Essex

    im only running my tr at 3.7 and also have 64gb memory numa at 2933 right now so probably not the best for "benchmark" situations but the gpu memory overclock does give real world performance gains.
     
  4. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,471

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    [​IMG]

    There we go, proof it can be overclocked and undervolted and the HBM also, I KNOW there is a dip there, it needed slightly more mv than i gave it but its 1:30am and i will carry on tomorrow.
    Point is, the memory doesn't go down to a locked 800mhz, it stays at 1150 for me 1245 for @Vince
    And I can make the core lock at a much higher mhz which gains scores in benchmarks.

    I will do this properly tomorrow for everyone to see

    @Vince nice working with you
     
  5. Davedree

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2010

    Posts: 2,984

    Ah the old p3 state bug, just like vega has.
    Nice work see you for part 2.
     
  6. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 7,464

    Location: Essex


    Try it, leave the undervolt in place, hit the auto overclock memory, save it and see what you get :)

    Ill do a run tomorrow at 3466 (32gb memory) so take half out and ill put the threadripper at like 4ghz or something and see what I can get.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  7. fizzy

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 16, 2003

    Posts: 946

    Location: by my pc. :D

    Been trying a few things with mine.

    Stock voltage is 1060mV. Undervolted to 938mV and seems stable after running a benchmarks and playing a few games, inc wolfenstein II.

    Then enabled auto overclock memory option and it crashed in GT1 of timestrike, although went through demo first with no problems.

    Reset to defaults, re-enabled auto overclock memory and went through full Timestrike test fine. Memory speed peaked at 1172. Not a huge improvement in graphic score though - up from 8,975 to 9,025. Did notice that memory speeds dropped to 800 every now and again.

    Seems like a few other things need tweaking to get the best of these cards and find the right balance.
     
  8. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,759

    Location: Ireland

    3300-3500 rpm on the fans? :eek:

    Did you have to bolt the tower to the ground to stop it hovering its way out of the room?
     
  9. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 27,868

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Welcome all and on TROH.:)


    The Roll of Honour.

    [​IMG]



    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, artur_k, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Dicehunter, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Illuminist, Link
    Date 09/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, vapor matt, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, spook2575, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, L-Digital82, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Uzu, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, drskiba, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, nashathedog, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Chud_Jenny, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Bloot, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Vince, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, zoffster1, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, FordneyMcCumber, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Vish Petrol, Link
    Date 08/02/2019, Make AMD Reference, Dave2150, Link



    To get on the Roll of Honour all you have to do is post a pic with your user name on it of your Radeon VII.
     
  10. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,479

    Location: Knowhere


    I didn't realise we had cores with different mv's (I must of missed it)

    My stock core settings are 1801mhz 1062 mv

    It's worth checking for a new bio's now & in a few weeks time, It's one of those things I forget to do.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  11. Bloot

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 9, 2018

    Posts: 83

    Location: Barcelona

    Am I the only one who thinks it isn't as loud as I would have hoped it to be by reading/watching the reviews? This thing at 100% is as loud as my 64 Nitro at 70%, sound is mostly hum air, Nitro fans noise was way worse imho.
     
  12. HRL

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 22, 2005

    Posts: 965

    Location: London

    Hahaha. You’ll have to speak up, he can’t hear you!
     
  13. Illuminist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 26, 2017

    Posts: 2,471

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    That's 1mv higher than mine and does yours undervolt?
     
  14. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

    looks like the standard MV core voltage differs from boot to boot, so an average MV core is going to be hard to find. maybe the only thing we can try is minimum voltage core for the same bench, but even that could
    be un reliable system to system with different PSU's.

    Glad to see you have had some good results now, from yesterday maybe wanting to return it, to showing promise with a clean driver install. nice

    hopefully we will see improvements in drivers over the next few months once amd get to grips with the new PCB layout and higher memory potential.
     
  15. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 230

    Location: Cornwall

    Morning all!
    Been reading what people have been experiencing. I tested the card isn't faulty yesterday before I wait for a water block. Had to use my sons system as mines still got my Vega in the loop. Only a 2400G so did hold the card back in IPC and only having a 8x pci-e lane didn't help either i'm sure.
    The stock mv is looking to differ a fair amount across this small sample size so far! Mines using 1074mv out of the box.
    What does seem to be coming apparent is the fan curve is a little lazy like when Vega released. Its looking very easy to lock the cards up as a result of t-junction maxing out.
    I used 973mv on my card which was fine. What i suggest people do is use Timespy stress test (the most boring 15 or so mins of your life lol) as this gets the card warmed up. With the very low undervolts on air I've seem they more than likely to crash after some screen flickering during the test.

    https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/382744
    [​IMG]

    Did any else get a card with tape on?
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  16. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 10,695

    Location: Ye Olde England

    Looking at undervolting at stock clocks, Anyone got any good numbers as to where to start ?
     
  17. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,479

    Location: Knowhere

    It does but it costs performance, even if I overclock it as well.
     
  18. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex


    I would start at 980mv and run heaven, lower 10 at a time and you will see sparkles when you get to low, then raise up 20mv and run time spy and some games. this worked for me, I can run heaven at 930mv but let it sit at 950mv. 920mv shows the sparkles for me.
     
  19. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 230

    Location: Cornwall

  20. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

    I think this shows just how good the thermal interface used as standard is, even he says its not worth changing and should last a long time.