1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The RX Vega 64 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,205

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Yes. I have an image, as also made relevant posts back in July 2018.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. pieman109

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 7,049

    Location: Ealing

    This is quite interesting, I swapped out my son's rx 580 for my Vega 64 last night just to see if would fit in his case (which it does with about 1/2" clearance in a Kolink strong hold). So while it was in there I thought I'd try to run it on a "Be quiet 500w psu. So, connected it up and booted to windows, fine i thought, how long would it last before it crashed in a benchie? Set wattman up and dropped the max frequency to 1500mhz, undervolted to 1075mv and gave it a go.
    Worked fine, tried another benchie, worked fine. In the end my son played an hours worth of Wow with no probs whatsoever and all the while I was checking the temps of the psu with my hand and it was barely warm. Gpu was pulling 180w btw
    So these vega 64 cards can run on a 500w psu, BUT, I don't kn ow for how long, or what would happen in other games (I heard that WOW is more cpu intensive than gpu) and I'll be replacing that psu with my old coolermaster, V700 for safety reasons, but it was interesting that it actually ran fine, nice and stable with a 500w psu.
    I do NOT recommend anyone try this long term, but as a stop gap measure it seemd to work ok
     
  3. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2010

    Posts: 14,185

    It's more about the quality of the PSU and how reliable/strong is their 12v rail.

    A undervolted and overclocked Vega64 consume around 230~290W (depending on the voltage and clock speed), so with the 3600x drawing around only...let's say 100W, that still only around 330~390W in power consumption, and with plenty to spare for whatever other components may require the power.

    So long as the CPU is not being overclocked using high vcore, 500W should not be a problem.
     
  4. suj999

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 18, 2009

    Posts: 286

    Location: Essex

    Anyone in here with vega 64 use it for DaVinci Resolve 16? What is the experience like?
     
  5. Goose

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,251

    Location: Kent

    I could really use a bit of advice. I've just got my first custom loop up and running so i'm now able to start messing around with Wattman. So far all i've done is undervolt the GPU and overclock the memory slightly (see image below).

    [​IMG]

    I've just been playing Tropico 6 and i'm noticing a lot of slow down (dropping to 40 FPS) and when i look at my OSD i can see the GPU downclocking and dropping the voltage A LOT, sometimes the GPU clock is like 24mhz!

    As you can see from my screenshot above i've locked it at State 6 and my understanding was that the GPU would never downclock/volt below that setting?

    Being water cooled temps are great so i dont know why the GPU behaving the way it is. Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  6. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,950

    @Goose I don't even bother with state 6, just lock state 7. First mistake I see though is the HBM voltage (which actually controls core voltage, and acts as the "floor", i.e. the minimum voltage the core gets) is set to be the same as P7 and is above P6. That's a no-no. It's gonna take a lot of tinkering & recording stats to find out what the ideal voltages are for your card, even when wanting maximum performance let alone also best efficiency.

    Give my settings a go, see how they do. https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/posts/32727890
     
  7. beerglass007

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 10, 2015

    Posts: 56

    What's a good option to cool my vega 64 asus strix the stock fans create lots of noise now
     
  8. Goose

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,251

    Location: Kent

    Thanks for that. Whilst that has improved things i'm still getting a lot of downclocking/volting. It regularly drops to 0.8v and 1100mhz. :(
     
  9. alec

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2016

    Posts: 245

    Simple and efficient - lower power limit.
     
  10. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,950

    That shouldn't happen. Must be that some component of the GPU is throttling. Definitely stress test it and monitor every temperature sensor for the GPU with HWinfo.
     
  11. Goose

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,251

    Location: Kent

    Which stress test would you recommend?
     
  12. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,950

    You can use Timespy extreme, but I like pure DX12 games as they seem to really crush the GPU. SotTR would be a good bet, max everything out and if you aren't at 4K then bump the MSAA high.
     
  13. Goose

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,251

    Location: Kent

    Turns out i'm actually a moron. For some reason the settings for tropico was disabled which is why it wasn't working as expected.

    I've played a bit more with the settings enabled and the core clock now stays above 1600mhz at all times although the voltage will still drop sometimes to below 1.1v. It seems to never ago above 1.1v though despite the Wattman setting being 1150 as per your suggested settings. I've also reduced the memory down to 1000mhz as 1075 was making things crash.

    Thanks for your help, btw.
     
  14. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,950

    Yeah, voltage generally sits around 1.1v, doesn't actually go all out even though it's like that in wattman, took me a lot of tinkering to figure it out. Glad it worked out in the end!
     
  15. Thekwango

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 10,816

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Changed out the utterly gash thermal pad?
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2019
  16. NathG79

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 19, 2012

    Posts: 142

    My MSi Wave Vega 64 LC was pulling 380w last night on RE2.
    1st time I’ve seen it go up that high.

    Is that normal?.
     
  17. R3v4n

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 22, 2010

    Posts: 118

    Can anyone with the Vega 64 nitro+ give me any insight on its 1440p performance @ stock values?

    I'm between the vega 64 and 5700XT I feel like with the AiB coolers the 5700XT is looking to expensive £440 minimum that's like £140 over the Vega 64
     
  18. BakE

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 17, 2012

    Posts: 5

    nobody runs vega 'stock' as the stock profile throttles the card

    but with a basic undervolt profile the nitro+ is a great card for the money you can get them at today
     
  19. BakE

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 17, 2012

    Posts: 5

    just booted pubg in training session 1440p ultra preset getting about 75-85fps with the default wattman profile but it made my card hot as hell itself.

    loaded my uv profile and temps went down to 55'c edge temp and fps went up to 85-95
     
  20. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,950

    Yes.