Virgin Media Discussion Thread

TNA

TNA

Soldato
Joined
13 Mar 2008
Posts
21,626
Location
London
They couldn't sort my account out and wouldn't match the pricing error. I then tried to cancel. It took 45 minutes and one of the rudest CS staff I've ever spoken to who then refused to give me their full name or cancel it. They finally said my order has cancelled but my account area is still active and I've had no emails to say it's been cancelled. I'd post the cancellation bit at the bottom of the contract but I bet they'll claim they never received it. Here's to another 45 minutes of my life wasted on the phone to simply cancel an order.

This happened to a family member also. Virgin CS is terrible.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Jun 2007
Posts
19,451
Location
Downtown
No, the disconnection work order would be completed down prior to the install work order being completed - you will never have two active accounts, but will be billed your notice period on the first account regardless.
Thanks.

So my dad's connections ends on the 18th Aug. All services.

I went ahead with a new order in my mother's name however it didn't let me choose an install date. Just says equipment will be delivered sometime this week. Just modem and stream box.

I take it I just let things play out till the 18th and swap over the equipment or can I do that prior to the 18th?
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Jun 2007
Posts
19,451
Location
Downtown
Thanks.

So my dad's connections ends on the 18th Aug. All services.

I went ahead with a new order in my mother's name however it didn't let me choose an install date. Just says equipment will be delivered sometime this week. Just modem and stream box.

I take it I just let things play out till the 18th and swap over the equipment or can I do that prior to the 18th?
So to answer my own question.

Virgin have automatically moved the new connection date to the day after old contract disconnects. Perfect.

However the cheeky so and so's are trying to charge £35 for the stream box when the original documents show £25.
 
Associate
Joined
30 Nov 2003
Posts
2,388
So to answer my own question.

Virgin have automatically moved the new connection date to the day after old contract disconnects. Perfect.

However the cheeky so and so's are trying to charge £35 for the stream box when the original documents show £25.
That is correct if you cancel the new account starts the day after the old one expires. I have to go through this again soon though refreshingly when my 18month came to an end they offered me a 6 month extension at existing pricing so kept that. will be looking for a new deal 100 or 200 soon I guess.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Jun 2007
Posts
19,451
Location
Downtown
That is correct if you cancel the new account starts the day after the old one expires. I have to go through this again soon though refreshingly when my 18month came to an end they offered me a 6 month extension at existing pricing so kept that. will be looking for a new deal 100 or 200 soon I guess.
Yes. And you can book the new contract weeks in advance. They'll sort the start date.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Nov 2004
Posts
4,075
Location
London
Did you upgrade at all, I have just upgraded to 1 gig mine goes live Wednesday

I was going to but they sent me an email about HUB 5 free upgrade(on Hub 3 currently) which arrives Friday however when I upgrade to that I wonder if they will know I'll have Hub 5 and will not send 4? guess
once activated they can see on their systems?

Let us know how your 1gb goes. :)
 
Associate
Joined
23 Oct 2006
Posts
905
Location
Lincoln
I was going to but they sent me an email about HUB 5 free upgrade(on Hub 3 currently) which arrives Friday however when I upgrade to that I wonder if they will know I'll have Hub 5 and will not send 4? guess
once activated they can see on their systems?

Let us know how your 1gb goes. :)
Yeah reading thought all of this virgin 1 gig doesnt get a good report! I hope mine is ok!
I need it stable thats all as i work from home all time so fingers crossed.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Nov 2004
Posts
4,075
Location
London
Yeah reading thought all of this virgin 1 gig doesnt get a good report! I hope mine is ok!
I need it stable thats all as i work from home all time so fingers crossed.

Are you on VM already? if so what speed? to be fair it should be fine if you already on VM and it's stable but got to admit I am very happy with my 500mb might keep it longer as I had BT 70mb speed or so for ages.
 
Associate
Joined
23 Oct 2006
Posts
905
Location
Lincoln
Are you on VM already? if so what speed? to be fair it should be fine if you already on VM and it's stable but got to admit I am very happy with my 500mb might keep it longer as I had BT 70mb speed or so for ages.
Yes we are with them i have the old M650 package, that said they are sending me a new router for the 1 gig and that makes me nervous, the old hub is fine in the mode its in and has been sold for months and months, the issue i find with virgin as soon as they issue you with new kit thats when the problems start! i have Unifi access points in the house and garden, so it will just be a modem!
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
3,621
Location
Sussex
Tried to get them to shift on the price at renew but they wouldn't. I can't play the game this time and I can get fibre so i'm having 500mb Vodafone installed tomorrow, if it works ok I will cancel Virgin.
Been with them for a long time and managed to get a decent renew each time but this time they wouldn't shift and with working from home we can't play the cancel game. A sad goodbye tbh, my connection has been rock solid for years but I don't need the tv or the phone anymore and it just doesn't represent good value now.
 
Associate
Joined
30 Nov 2003
Posts
2,388
Good M100 + talk weekends deal is back via MSE £100 bill credit effective £17.40 this is slightly cheaper than same deal am currently on from 18 months ago. Expires 11 August. Time to do the retentions dance again :)
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom