1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Glaucus, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. darael

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 10, 2010

    Posts: 4,272

    I suppose I should be glad that MS didn't decide they wanted to delete of my files. Still, things could have been worse:
    Windows 10 KB4556799 update is causing audio issues and data loss for some users - MSPoweruser
     
  2. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Thankfully, no issues here (he says yet :p)
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2020
  3. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Just had another update, KB4497165.

    All i can find on it, is its Intel Microcode updates, but im on an AMD :confused:
     
  4. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 24,260

    I got this too and I'm on AMD. Very strange.
     
  5. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Was going to uninstall, but it would just come back through wouldn't it ?

    Looks like its from around February too.

    Strange indeed.
     
  6. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 24,260

    Only place I can see is Microsoft site telling me about the update.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4497165/kb4497165-intel-microcode-updates

    Can't find any more information what so ever. My system updated and installed fine but not sure what it's done.
     
  7. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Yeah same, went in very fast, and after the restart, it just quickly flashed up with the 'Configuring Updates, Don't Turn Off' message too.

    Hopoe it doesn't do owt untoward :p
     
  8. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 24,260

    Nah if anything it just won't apply. Microsoft has probably pushed it out to everything and forgetting to put it into the Intel group or something.
     
  9. ChrisLX200

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 23, 2004

    Posts: 1,909

    Location: Macclesfield

    Not sure I can make myself understood here :) Is there any way to increase the size of the 'grab handle' in window corners - the position the mouse cursor needs to be to get hold of it to drag when re-sizing? Currently seems to be about 1 pixel in size and an utter pain getting it in just the right position...
     
  10. darael

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 10, 2010

    Posts: 4,272

    I also got KB4497165 through Windows Update. I thought it was odd, because it seemed to be dated for January 2020, but I let it pass as I have a 7th generation i5.
     
  11. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Yeah it didn't seem too, as the configuring just flashed on and off.
     
  12. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Does anyone actually use the MS store ?

    Ive not been in it once, just no interest at all in the bloody thing :p

    EDIT:

    Actually, my Nvidia drivers CP comes through it :D
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2020
  13. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 13, 2003

    Posts: 16,452

    Location: UK

    I don't. There is nothing in it that appeases me that I can't get on the phone or tablet.
     
  14. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 6,093

    thats only if you install the DCH version of the drivers.

    Install the standard version and you dont need the CP from the store as its included in the drivers
     
  15. darael

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 10, 2010

    Posts: 4,272

    I remove the store and apps from my install images as, like yourself, I have no use for the store or apps. I just wish Microsoft would try to force the store upon us, such the Nvidia drivers. :rolleyes:

    The Nvidia drivers might be the one thing that makes me leave the store in my future images of Windows 10 installations. I worry that one day they remove the standard drivers for good leaving only the DCH drivers and that I need the store installed to install the Nvidia drivers.

    Although I still have no intentions of creating a Microsoft account to either use the store or log in to Windows.
     
  16. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 24, 2004

    Posts: 22,162

    Location: Devon, UK

    It's only there so Microsoft can say "look how many people use our store!" simply on the basis that it comes bundled with Windows 10. I'm not quite sure how they got skewered for doing the same thing with IE years ago, yet this time it's all fine. ;)
     
  17. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 6,093

    I also remove the app store from my W10.

    I have only just moved over to Nvidia for a GPU (AMD 390 8GB to a 2070S) and see nothing has changed with the CP. without this you cannot access any settings so I hope they dont remove it from drivers.

    I had no joy trying to find the setup files for the CP either which im surprised about as you can normally find most things online
     
  18. darael

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 10, 2010

    Posts: 4,272

  19. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 6,093

    I found the page quite easily by going to google and typing in Nvidia standard drivers and it was the first result.

    first result was “Advanced driver search” which was what I used to download the standard drivers yesterday
     
  20. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,478

    Location: In a house

    Ahh well, if you need an MS account to use the store, then i can't use it anyway, as ive not got one either :p