1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. atpbx

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 21,452

    just skimming through and seen this post.

    Dont take the Division 2 hanging and crashing as a sign of an unstable computer, its a buggy unstable piece of **** at the best of times and will do that on any machine.
     
  2. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 20,024

    Location: London

    Yep. Switching to DX11 and my crashing has disappeared.

    Things seem stable.
     
  3. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Apparently Div 2 DX12 has issues with NV Pascal and older cards and is down to drivers. 1 year now Nvidia hasn't fixed the issue.

    Use google to "Division 2 DX12 crash" and you will see what I mean.
     
  4. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,450

    Location: PA, USA

    Apex Legends had a CTD for a VERYYYYY long time until a driver a few weeks ago. I have no idea how anyone was able to play it until now with an Nvidia card. Anywho...

    Try a variety of games. I know I got issues in Warfighter (old game now) with a GPU overclock for example, but not in anything else. Same with benchmarks/test software, they stress the CPU/GPU in different ways.
     
  5. LeMson

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2012

    Posts: 3,153

    I find d2 on 2070super very crashy on dx11, dx12 seems fine tho
     
  6. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 20,024

    Location: London

    I think someone mentioned that there are issues Nvidia haven't fixed with Pascal cards and DX12. I know they did a lot of work with the developer when the game launched to fix DX12 as there were known issues, but these fixes must of been for Turing.

    When I play the D2 with DX12 I get a CTD eventually. No issues at all in DX11.
     
  7. Panos

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 13,200

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    By using DX11.

    Turing is not Pascal :p
     
  8. LeMson

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2012

    Posts: 3,153

    I know, just it was a horrible experience on dx11 for me, ctd every few mins, managed about 7 hours on dx12 with no issues last night tho :)
     
  9. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,450

    Location: PA, USA

    so.... that CPU....
     
  10. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: Nov 8, 2007

    Posts: 12,257

    Location: Outer Space

    Quite! I thought I'd stumbled into the GPU forum for a moment :confused:

    Please keep it on topic lads, thanks :)
     
  11. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 19,731

    Location: Planet Earth

  12. Grim5

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 6, 2019

    Posts: 3,626

    Exclusive or the same news we've been seeing for months?
     
  13. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 9, 2009

    Posts: 19,731

    Location: Planet Earth

    There is some other specific information which we have not heard off,especially regarding the status of AMD Milan production silicon. It looks Zen3 might be late 2020 at best or early 2021. There is also some more information about Zen4.
     
  14. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 2,145

    Location: bedlam

    New... Covid-19 as killed the production in China and Japan
     
  15. Bluntwrapped

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 20, 2011

    Posts: 3,488

    Location: Livingston

    Does anyone know if the 3900 non x supports eco-mode?
     
  16. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 2,145

    Location: bedlam

    3900
    Default TDP / TDP - 65W
    i thought eco mode was aimed at the cpu's over 100w like the 3950x

    the info says it will reduce TDP to 65w on the 105w CPU. i cant see how it would reduce the TDP of the 65w 3900 any lower.
    it only dose 65W at 100% load
     
  17. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 4,283

    Location: In dem hills

    10-15% is decent but yes would have expected a bit more also the way they were talking about it before. Only good news (if you call it that) from that info is that there will be less reason to go to Zen 4 if there's only gonna be a small increase from Zen 3.
     
  18. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 20,024

    Location: London

    DDR5 and maybe PCI-E 5 with Zen 4.

    Zen 3 is the last on the 'old' platform. Zen 4 will start the cycle again presumably.

    So imo, you skip Zen 3 and buy Zen 4. Because AM4 will be a dead socket soon.
     
  19. Bluntwrapped

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 20, 2011

    Posts: 3,488

    Location: Livingston

    Seems eco-mode applies to most including 65W (drops to 45W) if this is accurate https://www.techarp.com/computer/ryzen-eco-mode-guide/

    Just thinking it would be pretty nice to shoehorn a 3900 it into an air cooled SFF case.
     
  20. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 2,145

    Location: bedlam

    you could do that anyway, eco will only drop the clocks and maybe turn off come cores/smt
    eco is aimed at people with one system who spend all day encoding video, but there kids spend all night watching your tube