1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** AMD "Zen" thread (inc AM4/APU discussion) ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Boomstick777, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. labbby

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2017

    Posts: 637

    Location: the ghetto

    true in some ways which is great for bang for buck... its been a while you could pay less for a cpu and push it more than expensive ones... i went for the 1800x because im sad and want to see how far i can push it under custom water setups :) i should get out more :D
     
  2. woppy101

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 14, 2007

    Posts: 2,877

    Location: newcastle

    It's a lg super wide and I'm just about to have a look for a bios
     
  3. Duvar

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 161

  4. woppy101

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 14, 2007

    Posts: 2,877

    Location: newcastle

    There is about to be a 1700x in the MM for almost 1700 prices
     
  5. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 18,669

    Location: County Durham

    Why not just return it? :p
     
  6. labbby

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2017

    Posts: 637

    Location: the ghetto

    All sorted ?
     
  7. loxocemus

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 12, 2017

    Posts: 233

    even with their problems pc's with ryzen cpus are still usable, i know that seems silly to ask but i have to after all the problems...
     
  8. mattyc1977

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 6, 2014

    Posts: 201

    Has anyone benched/tested a 1800x today? Just wondering if it's still 20 degrees hotter than the 1700 or it was early bios and program reading problems?
    I have my 1800x sat here but crosshair has been delayed AGAIN. it's still sealed up and seriously debating returning the 1800x for the 1700 but I can't bring myself to do it. I feel the 1800x must be better than the 1700 and it's just teething problems? Anyone else feel/think the same? Surely amd wouldn't mess this up so much and make a cheaper, lower tdp chip better/faster than a cheaper chip?!?!?!?!
     
  9. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 18,669

    Location: County Durham

    Check TwsT's thread below this one.
     
  10. woppy101

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 14, 2007

    Posts: 2,877

    Location: newcastle

    I never feel right doing that
     
  11. alexp999

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 19, 2010

    Posts: 305

    Location: Dorset, UK

    Just built with an 1800x what temps should I be looking for?
     
  12. labbby

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2017

    Posts: 637

    Location: the ghetto

    someone did put a post up with 1800x benches but im not sure if there are temps on it, when is your crosshair due ? mine is coming tomorrow so i can test temps but mine is going under water so im not sure if that is going to help.
     
  13. MDPlatts

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,422

    Location: 2nd City - Manchester.

  14. woppy101

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 14, 2007

    Posts: 2,877

    Location: newcastle

    Yep apart from my monitor, for some reason if it doesn't detect a signal right away it goes to sleep and I can't stop it doing it so I can't get into the bios to do anything
     
  15. old gamer

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 6, 2011

    Posts: 4,317

    Location: bristol

    i think you may be right,
    I'm thinking the same as you, I have the 1700x on order and thinking about changing it for the 1700 but have this niggling doubt that I should stick with the 1700x
     
  16. SupraWez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 17, 2007

    Posts: 2,040

  17. labbby

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2017

    Posts: 637

    Location: the ghetto

    can you not use the tv to run the bios update ?
     
  18. MDPlatts

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,422

    Location: 2nd City - Manchester.

    Mine idles at 50c at present but case is missing 2 of the input fans (2 x corsair 140mm) and the H110i isnt software controlled yet. Under the blender benchmark I just posted it goes upto 70c for the 36s the test takes to run. This is at stock speeds.
     
  19. labbby

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 15, 2017

    Posts: 637

    Location: the ghetto

  20. woppy101

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 14, 2007

    Posts: 2,877

    Location: newcastle

    Too far away from my router