1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Far Cry 6

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Poneros, 10 Jul 2020.

  1. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,969

    Location: Kent.

    Have you disabled the Ubisoft Connect Overlay?
     
  2. Kronos

    Catwalker

    Joined: 11 Nov 2009

    Posts: 4,497

    Location: Edinburgh

    Thanks mate no luck.
     
  3. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,969

    Location: Kent.

    There's gotta be crash logs somewhere I'll have a look.
     
  4. Philip Mulligan

    Associate

    Joined: 24 Nov 2019

    Posts: 10

    Mine crashes as well on load screen on start up since the last update. was alright before that.
     
  5. Kronos

    Catwalker

    Joined: 11 Nov 2009

    Posts: 4,497

    Location: Edinburgh

    Have started a ticket with Ubisoft, posted on their forums and Facebook help page as yet zilch.
     
    Last edited: 22 Nov 2021
  6. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,969

    Location: Kent.

    I tweeted them about this, but no reply.
     
  7. Kronos

    Catwalker

    Joined: 11 Nov 2009

    Posts: 4,497

    Location: Edinburgh

    Just had this back From Ubisoft.

    Please try one of the following two workarounds:-
    a) Changing the keyboard language to US International.
    b) Copying the contents of the bin_plus folder in the install location to the bin folder.

    Did not work for me.
     
  8. Buffalo2102

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,261

    Just finished the main story after 109 hours of play. Had two crashes in all that time.

    As usual with Far Cry games, some of it is pretty repetitive but I enjoyed it overall. Well worth the £30 I paid for it.
     
  9. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 24,101

    Location: Chadderton, Oldham

    50-80fps (50minimum) at 4k ultra with ray tracing seem about right for a 3080ti?
     
  10. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,020

    Location: N.Ireland

    Nearly there for me. Currently 83% in, had one crash in that timeframe so far. Got it free with an SSD so well worth it, would have paid the £30 on MM if I didn't get the drive.
     
  11. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,020

    Location: N.Ireland

    OK Completed the main story last night. Enjoyed that, not explored the other stuff to do yet but in no hurry. Have RDR2 and HZD to choose from now!
     
  12. Buffalo2102

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,261

    Ah I just finished a re-play of HZD and enjoyed it more than the first time. Great game. I also just started RDR2 but I think my RX6800XT just died. :eek::mad:
     
  13. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,020

    Location: N.Ireland

    Oh, rma or just doesn't like the strain of the game?
     
  14. Buffalo2102

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,261

    RMA - no output after waking the PC from sleep. I've tried reseating, clearing CMOS etc. but no joy. I don't have another power supply or mobo to try but I've got a RX6900XT on the way so I'll see if that works. If it does I'll RMA the 6800XT and probably sell the replacement when it arrives.
     
  15. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,020

    Location: N.Ireland

    Ahh yes good idea, hope it works out for you!
     
  16. Buffalo2102

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,261

    Thanks!
     
  17. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,099


    I think I'm at about the same stage.. good game but feelings about the same. my biggest issue is theres not a lot of point in all the different guns, I've just used an MS16 all teh way through as it works well as a sniper with a laser sight too, even under fire, I find I most often have time to headshot enemies before I take enough damage to die. A couple of clothing enhancements like faster health regen and faster movement while crouched and less movement noise lets you quite easily stealth most situations, especially if you take the time to take out alarms.
     
  18. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,020

    Location: N.Ireland

  19. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,099

    ooh how do you get the stats? is that in game or in the ubisoft app?
     
  20. Von Luck

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,480

    Just finished it and have the same issue, most of the guns are pointless, as are the different ammo types. They seem to have spoiled a lot of the weapons from 3/4/5.

    Once you can get an MS16L with armour piercing ammo, suppressor and 4x sight that's virtually the only weapon you need. Silent single shot kills on everyone.

    On previous games it was always the .50 sniper that I aspired to, but didn't like it much this time, found the SVD a better option for those extreme range shots.

    The autocrat is the only pistol I bothered with and I hardly used it. Seemed op for such an early game weapon.

    Final slot RAT4 for anti-chopper duties.

    Lmgs seemed pointless, not enough dmg for the kick and noise - same goes for vehicle mounted guns, they seem rubbish this time out.

    Liked the shotguns, but as I play stealthy I didn't carry one often.

    Didn't even try the SMGs or bows!

    Whole game felt way too easy on the 'harder' skill level, with it pretty much a guarantee that I'd capture each base without even getting spotted. The 'special forces' didn't appear any more of a challenge than the normal troops, they just had a slightly different noise when I headshotted them.

    Enjoyed it despite the usual FC gameplay repetition but they really need to improve NPC ai to make it more of a challenge. Oh and the pointless 3rd person sections in the camps were just weird, why did they do that?