1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**Gigabyte Super OC GTX 480's - VERY LOW PRICES!**

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Gibbo, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. AzZ

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 27, 2011

    Posts: 384

    Location: Manchester

    Depends on budget really. I wouldn't pay more for power I'm not going to need, unless you know your going to run an SLi/xfire setup in the future.
     
  2. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    i like to keep multi card options open. That's why I got a 1kw
     
  3. mel d

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2009

    Posts: 588

    cheers for the input 850 incoming,should do for a while. i sense some cable routing :D
     
  4. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    Decided on brand yet?
     
  5. mel d

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2009

    Posts: 588

    xfx black
     
  6. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    Good choice :D
     
  7. Optimouse Prime

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2011

    Posts: 9

    Hey guys im also part of this problem now bought the SOC had artifacting even when voltage was increased to 1.1 and when clocks were below standard 480 clocks, changed drivers 5 times to different ones each time 275.27 i think and then further back again and again still didnt resolve the issue so maybe it was a complete dud? checked in OCCT got thousands of errors in less than 2minutes no matter the voltage or clock got told by OCUK that OCCT isnt a good test etc as ive seen people mention on this topic, so sent the card in got a message saying all was fine and that it was shipped back to me bearing in mind id asked them to test Batman AA as thats where the artifacts were most noticable that didnt get tested and i was charge £22 for testing and postage bearing in mind it cost me £22 to send it back which i couldnt get back lol anyways had the same problem sent it back for refund but im unsure what to do next should i get another SOC and see if its anybetter etc? or get a 570 and OC it but the 570 seems to have issues with its phase control and blows up its VRM so im not sure what to do any advice?? id get the 570 from ****** as they have a evga superclocked 570 for the same price as OCUK's MSI 570 card

    No competitor mentioning please.
     
  8. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    You do know you cant mention competioirs right?

    RMA the card to Gigabyte and see what happens. If it is found faulty, ocuk will refynd you the testing fee. I have no idea how it cost £20 to send it to them. Shoukd only have been £10! Lol
     
  9. Optimouse Prime

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2011

    Posts: 9

    Nope just found out now :D wont be naming again didnt realise. It cost that because i had to insure it incase it was lost and that was £200+ insurance, also i had to send it next day with having uni work to do and my only machine being without a gpu =( ive sent it back to OCUK today for a refund so its too late to send to gigabyte but even if i could ive heard it can take 2+ weeks to get it back and i havent got that ammount of time to wait around for gigabyte to test it etc and ship it back. Am i best taking the 570 or trying another SOC?
     
  10. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    Royal mail special delivery whuch is insured up to £500 is £9.60:)

    I would get another SOC.
     
  11. dmxdex2020

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2008

    Posts: 2,925

    Location: West Midlands

    2 of oced 480s would get you how many fps maxed out on metro 2033 without physix on?
     
  12. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    2 of these cards wouldnt work very well. Thetd b too hot. Your case temos would rise a lot.
     
  13. MumboJumbo

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 2, 2006

    Posts: 8,194

    Well I've got two 480 SE's so I hope not. Though the second isn't in my case yet. Got to wait to go back home to get the sli bridge first.

    Figured it's only a problem with you have a poor cpu cooler and a poor case. corsair 650d should handle it...I hope.
     
  14. whipgeez

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 11, 2011

    Posts: 364

    why do companies not use occt for gpu checking?

    are they scared it will prove beyond doubt that a card is faulty?
     
  15. DTWD

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 19, 2010

    Posts: 582

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    It cost me £17+ to send my card back to OCUK as well. No idea how you managed it at half the price. The person behind the counter tried various different ways of sending it and £17+change was the cheapest.

    To be honest, I can think that is the only reason. Don't forget a card can be faulty but certain tests won't show up the error, just like certain games won't. The card lives on for weeks/months/years, and then something comes out that goes "well the cards are capable of X according to the reference specification, let's do it" and poof.

    You need a testing method that tests everything on the card, tests it all simultaniously and all at 100%. That's the only way to test it correctly, I doubt OCCT does that, but it's a damn sight better than running a game.

    I think OCCT should walk the fps and tests as well (it doesn't), a card maxed out doing 30 fps will behave differently than at 200 fps, especially with PhysX. If the card is maxed out (eg) rendering lots of little particles thats one thing, but what about maxing out the shader, maxing out the memory and maxing out the PhysX etc.

    When every bit of the chip/card is running at maximum and is still having it's temperature kept in check then the card can be said to be ok, but you also need to see what happens if you max out a, but only half max out b etc.
     
  16. DTWD

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 19, 2010

    Posts: 582

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    I am arranging my RMA with GB at the moment.

    I spoke to there tech support department to discuss my issues and his response was "if it's under 105 it's fine". Yeah...ok mate, your card is supposed to cooler and faster than the stock one. I would except maybe a few degree's hotter, but breaching 100 degrees is not ok.
     
  17. Buckster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 20, 2006

    Posts: 8,322

    I've not had much time toplay with mine this week-but core volts/scaling is very odd indeed

    765/1890 - stable at 1.025 (thats under the stock volts) - 20 mins of Furmark

    800/1900 - not stable even at 1.088V - thats a heck of an increase in volts for very little increase in core for still no stability

    whats odd is 800/1850 (stock memory speed) - is even LESS stable

    its a very odd card
     
  18. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    Send it in original packaging. card only. one layer of bubblewrap around the card and that should be less than 2kg. That should be £9.60 for RMSD

    I think he meant that 105 was max safe temp

    So have you tested in another system?
     
  19. paspc

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 1, 2004

    Posts: 129

    Sent the SOC back to overclockers and ordered an Gigabyte GeForce GTX 480 SE instead. Installed the SE and it is better in every way. Even clocked at 820Mhz it is more stable, runs on less voltage and runs 15 - 20 degrees cooler while gaming. Very happy with it. Recommend the SE over the SOC to anyone mulling it over.

    I noticed that the PCB revision on the SOC was version 1.xx while the PCB revision on the SE is version 2.xx .
     
  20. Cleeecooo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 22,327

    Location: Purley - Croydon

    maybe that was the actual problem?

    glad you got it sorted:D