1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**Official Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Discussion Thread**

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Nelly, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. smithy83

    Hitman

    Joined: May 8, 2007

    Posts: 921

    there was a post here about not being to flash your bios via front usb

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1239993/...rt-thread-and-club-ud5h-ud3h-d3h-and-all/1090

     
  2. matt66

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 4, 2007

    Posts: 15

    I don't really want to flash the BIOS, as I'm fairly new to all this, and knowing my luck something will go wrong. As things are, everything is fine bar the front usbs.

    I've updated those drivers, and still nothing.
    Since my initial post, I bought a Benq FP241W off my brother for £50 and that has usb ports in the side, so I'm happy with that.

    Thanks again to you all for your help!
     
  3. Nelly

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2003

    Posts: 6,915

    Location: Grimsby, UK

    Well compared to my MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) I wasn't able to boot into Windows at 5GHz even at 1.40v+, with this Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H I got into windows 5GHz @ 1.38v but cooling is against me, I reckon it needs around 1.43v.

    I bet it would be stable on water cooling at 5GHz. I'll get on with clocking it to 4.8 to 4.9GHz, will post screenshots etc later this evening. :)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2012
  4. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 26,774

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    your much safer flashing the bios on those boards,they have a manual bios switch so you can change to the back up bios if anything goes wrong,its best to be using latest bios as it fixes bugs and improves stability ect
     
  5. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jan 17, 2010

    Posts: 66,849

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Using the Qflash in the BIOS is idiot proof.
     
  6. Mario

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 5, 2008

    Posts: 1,858

    what is wrong with Qflash?
    i know that @Bios is not good way to flash,but Qflash..?why?
     
  7. Nealio

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 16, 2008

    Posts: 146

    Location: Clevedon

    I've flashed my BIOS 3 times with Q-flash, using the front USB ports, didn't realise that

    1 - it's not recommended
    2 - it doesn't work
     
  8. Mario

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 5, 2008

    Posts: 1,858

    it doesnt work with FRONT USB (not for all tho - there are many users in GB forum who flashed uefi easily with front usb)
    you better use mobo's "original" USB
     
  9. ssmacc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 5, 2007

    Posts: 2,103

    Location: Macclesfield

    Just used Easytune, and I'm now running Prime95, does the below look OK?

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  10. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jan 17, 2010

    Posts: 66,849

    Location: weston-super-mare

    That does look ok.
     
  11. ssmacc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 5, 2007

    Posts: 2,103

    Location: Macclesfield

    Cheers, not sure about overclocking so just wanted a little reassurance!
     
  12. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jan 17, 2010

    Posts: 66,849

    Location: weston-super-mare

    If it passes a night of Prime95 its solid.
     
  13. scwba06

    Hitman

    Joined: May 5, 2012

    Posts: 879

    It's probably been asked before and it's a pretty nooby question but what's the difference in performance between the z77x-ud3h and the z77x-ud5h performance wise? Better overclocks?
     
  14. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 26,774

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    not much really,better power phases on the ud5
     
  15. scwba06

    Hitman

    Joined: May 5, 2012

    Posts: 879

    So the £70 markup on the ud5 isn't really justified?
     
  16. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jan 17, 2010

    Posts: 66,849

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Features or overclocking?
     
  17. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 26,774

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    there might be other features thats missing off the cheaper board,usually the sound chip is lower spec ect

    ive seen the ud3 overclock just as well as the ud5 so its down to the features that you can do without,might be missing an onboard display port needed for lucid mvp on the ud3 you need to check
     
  18. scwba06

    Hitman

    Joined: May 5, 2012

    Posts: 879

    Thanks, both features and overclocking really. I'm probably not going to clock past 4.5ghz so I'm sure the ud3h will easily handle that. I was mainly just wondering what features the ud5h has that the ud3h doesn't, if the difference is better onboard sound I can just get a sound card somewhere down the line
     
  19. covenantuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 23, 2012

    Posts: 2,015

    Location: Edinburgh

    The difference is about £40-50, and "today" you can actually get a UD5 for £146.

    Aside from better power phases, UD5 gives MUCH better sound, more 6gb/s SATA ports and an extra LAN port
     
  20. scwba06

    Hitman

    Joined: May 5, 2012

    Posts: 879

    Hmm that's a brain teaser, I can see myself needing more storage in the future or getting spend crazy and going for multiple ssds. Il not need a board for about 2-3 weeks so hopefully the ud5h will drop a little lower during that time. Which offers better bang for buck? The ud5h?