1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Radeon VII Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. harmattan

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 22, 2015

    Posts: 122

    Location: hamshiretown heathamleton

    That definitely looks like there is something wrong with the I/O i.e. not driver or memory related. Was it doing this in every game?
     
  2. Dave2150

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 31, 2002

    Posts: 6,585

    Location: Wales

    Good shout - I assume Nash was using DP but worth checking what ports OCUK tested with, I assume they'd test both DP & HDMI?
     
  3. Thomasck

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 28, 2018

    Posts: 79

    Any idea why I'm not getting the same clock I set in Wattman? Maximum I'm getting is 1931MHz, reported by Wattman and HWiNFO. HMB2 reports 1200MHz fine.

    Is to 1990Mhz 1200mV, runs stable, no artifacts. TJ tops once at 95C, but sits around 87-89C 95% of the time while running FStrike Extreme.

    EDIT - Additional information,

    I've done washer mod with M2 nylon whashers and the info above is after it. Before I was not able to go further than 1965MHz 1150mV without a artifact here or there, and TJ was reaching 106C. In fact when breaking 100C is when it starts to produce artifacts. I had same behavior in the clock, reaching around 1925MHz. I run games at 1800MHz/970mV, and I got some rare peak at 1800MHz, most of the time runs at 1175MHz.

    EDIT 2 - Some power consumption numbers

    Idle total tower consumption 91W. Just GPU reported by GPUZ and HWiNFO 18-19W.

    Stock
    1800MHz/1082mV
    -20=369W 296-304fps
    0=432W 309-323fps
    +20=470W 316-329fps

    UV
    1800MHz/970mV
    -20 = 375W 311-325FPS
    0 = 389W 322-337FPS
    +20 = 402W 322-336FPS
     
  4. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex


    I am not convinced by the washer mod, I think just undoing the 4 screws and doing them up in a cross pattern gives the same result, by using washers you are removing heatsink pressure to the core. I have a feeling the X bracket on back of PCB from the factory are just tightened up unevenly.
     
  5. Thomasck

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 28, 2018

    Posts: 79

    Before putting the washers I've tried to tighten all of them and just one was not completely screwed down. I don't know what to think, but after the temp drop I was able to at least set a 1965+ clock and finish multiple runs in FSExtreme, thing that was not always possible before it.
     
  6. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

    I think instead of washers just undo the 4 screws and tighten up a turn each screw in a criss cross pattern would have the same effect. just tightening down one screw at a time will not allow the heatsink to sit flat on the core.
     
  7. Thomasck

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 28, 2018

    Posts: 79

    Well, let's see. I don't like the idea of the extra pressure on the gpu cause of the washers. I'd never know if is too much or not, even if the numbers where better. I just removed them, put all back together, screwing one by one and when back from work I'll test and report here. But, working like before or not, I still have this thing of the card not reaching max clock most of the time, just some peaks with luck.
     
  8. EastCoastHandle

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2018

    Posts: 403

    Where are the after market coolers???
     
  9. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,750

    Location: Ireland

    They may or may not be making them, none have been announced iirc.
     
  10. EastCoastHandle

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2018

    Posts: 403

    That's a real shame. IMO it wouldn't take AIBs this long to intro them. I wonder if they are any plans at all at this point...
     
  11. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 286

    Location: Mondas

    I suspect that there is not enough chips being made for it to be worth the AIBS trouble.
     
  12. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,478

    Location: Knowhere

    I bought a new psu for my Vega 64 & it's been faultless, Seasonic Prime Platinum 860 watt.

    This and similar issues.

    Yep DP, I bought one of the Club3d dp cables a month or so ago.

    I'm pretty sure we were told there wouldn't be any, everything I've heard about non-reference cards since then has been rumour.
     
  13. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,478

    Location: Knowhere

    When using Relive to record what difference does the Max Recording Bitrate make? At stock it's at 30 Mbps but can be moved on a slider anywhere from 1 to 100. What's best
     
  14. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 230

    Location: Cornwall

    You get very large files at 100mbps. My Vega 64 coped well with the few clips i did with that @ 4k/60.
    Around 1gb per minute as a ruff idea.
     
  15. definitelynotatwork

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 10, 2019

    Posts: 12

    Anybody here playing Division 2 beta with R7? What FPS are you guys getting and at what resolution/settings?
     
  16. vapor matt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2003

    Posts: 1,864

    Location: west sussex

    Under water I think these will easy go 2100mhz plus. air overclock below. I really like this card. this is on an old Mac pro 5.1 fire strike extreame http://www.3dmark.com/fs/18569491

    [​IMG]
     
  17. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 286

    Location: Mondas

  18. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 2,773

     
  19. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,478

    Location: Knowhere

    Hi, Did it improve the visual quality much? I'm presuming that's what it does.
     
  20. Chud_Jenny

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 5, 2017

    Posts: 230

    Location: Cornwall

    Ye, its the data rate so the amount of data the file has. The worst thing about recording at a nice high bitrates is if you where to update to YouTube they heavily reduced the quality. I've used google drive in the past to share the file at original recorded quality.
    So if you where to host on YouTube ect, I'd maybe leave it at 30mbps.