1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Which brand CPUs does your company/employer work with?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by 4K8KW10, 24 Oct 2020.

  1. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 29,322

    Location: Hampshire

    I think that's a bit of a generalisation, there might be some trusts with 32bit Windows kicking about but suspect a lot are on 64bit now, especially given the 1 year grace period on Win7 goes EOL has now expired. meaning many will have upgraed to Win10 (and used that opportunity to certify apps on 64bit).
     
  2. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,250

    Location: South Manchester

    Our local trust still had some XP machines last time I visited with work a couple of years ago! When wannacry hit back in 2017 we immediately pulled the links to the NHS.
     
  3. fs123

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,040

    NHS is upgrading to Win10 at the moment and my own pc was upgraded last month from an old Intel dual core Celeron to a Lenovo Thinkcentre AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 3400GE (4C8T) and Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit. It is discontinued on Lenovo's site so I assume our NHS trust bought some older stock for cheap. Some of my colleagues who got their new pc's a couple of month earlier got 6 core Intel i5's. It probably differs from Trust to Trust but I think some are realizing the AMD cpu's are more energy efficient.
     
  4. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,250

    Location: South Manchester

    Intel supply issues likely to factor into that as well.
     
  5. AStaley

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,641

    Location: Kent, UK.

    I’ve got some very good ties with Dell so have Dell servers, PC’s and laptops. Historically I’ve always used low powered i3’s as my company uses RemoteApp’s but I’ve started refreshing hardware with i5’s as we start using more and more cloud services including Teams.
     
  6. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 9,776

  7. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    Hard to know what point you're making.

    LOL look at Intel
    or
    LOL companies don't replace all their hardware that quickly
     
  8. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 9,776

    To be honest, I don't see any willingness from the majority of the companies to shift away from the slower, and less technologically advanced Intel proposals.
    They still buy new Intel systems with low performance and expensive Intel CPUs.
     
  9. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    A 5yrv old Intel system isn't more expensive than replacing it with a new AMD one. Especially if 99.9% of your staff don't do anything that requires the extra performance.

    We've only just replaced a system that was running on Dec Alpha's. It's been running for a quarter of a century.

    In a few decades of working in IT there's been very few times I've been able to solve a problem with faster hardware. Usually it's software charge that prompts a change in hardware, or a failure. I have had projects that faster hardware was important. But very rarely.
     
  10. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    We've replaced all our laptops and desktops across our organisation recently and I'm pretty sure performance never was a consideration. It's whatever hits the price point.
     
  11. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 9,776

    If the tables were turned upside down, the narrative would be the opposite - how much the performance actually mattered.
    When Intel is competitive - oh, look at the benchmarks.
    When Intel has nothing to offer - oh, look, the benchmarks don't matter.


    Screw all - the power consumption, heat, noise, lag from slow applications, super high prices, security bugs, etc.
     
  12. dave28

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jun 2013

    Posts: 1,228

    MetOffice, Dell / Intel combo. They hung onto Win XP and finally switched to 7 but only after it had been out for AGES
     
  13. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    You're seeing conspiracy where none exist.

    I bought my first AMD here on OcUK 20 years ago. You think this is new. It isn't.
     
    Last edited: 25 Jul 2021
  14. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    We switched to W10 and Office 365 and the cloud about 4 months before Covid. It was that that prompted a change of hardware not performance.

    We are likely to do another hardware refresh to facilitate hybrid working and hot desking. I think a lot will swap desktops for laptops. People like developers will keep both a laptop and desktop.
     
  15. tommoT.Striker

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Jun 2019

    Posts: 348

    Puget took some time to be convinced, but continuously their own benchmarks showing the superior performance of AMD meant they had to promote their AMD based machines as well strongly, I think that's what their tweet does. I don't know how many workstations they ship in the US, but they have a strong reputation so it's good to see. Intel are always going to be in people minds because of the volume they can ship. Apparently they've sold a lot of tiger lake machines last quarter and they ship more 10nm than 14nm now. I know where I work, Devs will get Dell Machines or Intel based Macs - they don't even need much grunt. But Puget supply big workstations for rendering and content creation and Intel are inferior in those quarters.
     
  16. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 9,776

    "Conspiracy" is a fabricated term to protect the masses from seeing facts that are not in the interest of the ellite.

    I mean this headline:
    Intel Doesn’t Want to Talk About Benchmarks Anymore
    Intel Doesn't Want to Talk About Benchmarks Anymore - ExtremeTech

    I am quite sure that AMD has still headroom to sell more CPUs that are not flying fast enough from the shelves.

    The consumer DIY market cannot help a lot because the large volumes are in the OEM market.
     
  17. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    Meh...The people who are interested in top end performance are a tiny % of computer users. So those articles are not pitched at the masses. But a tiny % who are mostly IT literate enough to see through those "articles".
     
  18. 4K8KW10

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 2 Sep 2017

    Posts: 9,776

    What laptops did you get?
    Some slow i3 or i5, that run hot and loud?
     
  19. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    As it happens they are Ryzen 5 Pro.

    But the difference in benchmarks and the Intel equivalent is marginal. Sometimes the AMD is faster sometimes Intel. Not much between them.
    Power consumption and heat is more or less the same, intel idles slower.
    The only marked different is the integrated GPU on the Ryzen. But since it never used for games, it makes no difference.

    But I know they were bought simply because of price alone.
     
  20. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,773

    TBH if I was looking for a fast enough, energy efficient CPU in a laptop I would get a M1.
    But the form factor doesn't suit, software compatibility is an issue. But is primarily the cost kills that dead in our place.