World first QD-OLED monitor from Dell and Samsung (34 inch Ultrawide 175hz)

Soldato
Joined
22 May 2010
Posts
11,581
Location
Minibotpc
Someone likely got some US stock as it's still in production and for sale in the US.
Think I did see that just before the Black Friday sales started.

Yeah probably, it was direct through Amazon though and not a third party seller.

It was just before BF actually started but it was during the BF sales. I saw it for maybe a day or 2 then it went back up to normal price.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Feb 2007
Posts
14,134
Location
ArcCorp
Yeah probably, it was direct through Amazon though and not a third party seller.

It was just before BF actually started but it was during the BF sales. I saw it for maybe a day or 2 then it went back up to normal price.

Yeah the DW's get snatched up quick as there are a fair few that want the physical G-Sync module.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Feb 2007
Posts
14,134
Location
ArcCorp
Thinking back i probably should have gone for that when i saw it while having a 4090 im sure i could have made good use of the G Sync module lol. Ah well, not gonna complain about the £660 DWF!

In all fairness I doubt anyone would be able to tell the difference between the DW and DWF in a blind A/B test.
 
Caporegime
Joined
4 Jun 2009
Posts
30,774
Gsync module isn't as worthwhile on oled since pixel response time is already instantaneous. The less VRR flicker and better handling/smoothening of fluctuating fps may have been a benefit but unless you have seen what a DW is like here, doubt you'll notice or care especially since you fps will be high with a 4090 so this won't be as much of a problem anyway.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 May 2010
Posts
11,581
Location
Minibotpc
First impressions after following some guides on setting this up.

WOW the blacks are so freaking black, i finally know what black should look like on a monitor. I have my Asus 27" VA panel next to it and that looks grey!

I've had a fiddle with the panel and calibrated it using Windows HDR calibration app. Set my profile in Colour management so i know its right though by default it had already setup an ICC profile from factory.
I've set Smart HDR to off and set that to Display HDR. I know there's a Peak 1000 HDR but im worried about burn in with that setting?

Dark stabiliser at level 0 though i noticed its a little brighter if i set that to 1.

Also i might be more use to VA and TN panels cos the DWF looks a little dimmer but i only have Brightness set to 85% in SDR Mode.

If theres any settings you guys wanna share please do! Thanks
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
22 May 2010
Posts
11,581
Location
Minibotpc
Question:

Do you guys just leave your monitor on HDR Peak 1000 and then use the windows HDR toggle to switch between SDR and HDR?

@mrk so i followed your video for testing though i know you have the DW not the DWF, i set mine to Creator mode and gamma 2.4 with Smart HDR set to HDR Peak 1000 (windows HDR Off) but my whites look grey. Wondering if it's something i've set incorrectly. In colour management i've set the profile to the HDR calibrated one that i did using the windows HDR calibration app and i've removed the default Alienware profile.

However, changing back to Standard from Creator mode makes my whites look white again. I've set the brightness to 65% as im sat in a relatively dark room.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
27 Nov 2005
Posts
24,430
Location
Guernsey
The Box barely fit in my Mini... i was actually a tad worried :cry:



Dude, you haven't lived until you've brought home an Asus 43" in the passenger seat of an MX5!!! :D

I could only get into 3rd/4th etc :p

I wouldn't even try in a MX5 LOL! That's definitely committment right there :cry:

When i picked up my 65" OLED back in 2018 :cry:

CX2MObn.jpg
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
14 Dec 2013
Posts
121
Question:

Do you guys just leave your monitor on HDR Peak 1000 and then use the windows HDR toggle to switch between SDR and HDR?

@mrk so i followed your video for testing though i know you have the DW not the DWF, i set mine to Creator mode and gamma 2.4 with Smart HDR set to HDR Peak 1000 (windows HDR Off) but my whites look grey. Wondering if it's something i've set incorrectly. In colour management i've set the profile to the HDR calibrated one that i did using the windows HDR calibration app and i've removed the default Alienware profile.

However, changing back to Standard from Creator mode makes my whites look white again. I've set the brightness to 65% as im sat in a relatively dark room.
this is mrk's current settings for DW
 

TNA

TNA

Caporegime
Joined
13 Mar 2008
Posts
26,843
Location
Greater London
this is mrk's current settings for DW

Whatever you do, just use a bit more brightness than mrk :p
 
Back
Top Bottom