1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

******Official Star Citizen / Squadron 42 Thread******

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Raumarik, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. Uncle Petey

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 22, 2012

    Posts: 15,004

    Location: London

    Well, that's what we're going to find out.

    What's your motivation here btw? Is it anything more than the usual 'I must show how much smarter I am than everyone else' kind of thing, or do you genuinely believe you're saving souls or something?
     
  2. Malevolence

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 21, 2011

    Posts: 14,461

    Posting an opinion that you don't agree with ≠ trolling.
     
  3. Calin Banc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 14, 2009

    Posts: 1,061

    I thought you're speaking about the whole game. :D

     
  4. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,057

    Nah just patch 3.10 :)
    --------


    Salvaging progress...

     
  5. Darujhistan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 4,242

    So basically Callin, more whataboutery and time-based excuses. Claims made the extreme complexity, depth and quality of game systems and features etc but no evidence to support them.

    Time of course is exactly what Roberts is playing for.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2020
  6. Darujhistan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 4,242


    Oh come on man this isn't the Star Citizen forums...

    :D
     
  7. Calin Banc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 14, 2009

    Posts: 1,061

    People seem to be on "but that game!", failing to see there is no game to compare in complexity.
    No evidence? Well, you have the ships, the planets, the almighty physics grids, some sort of quests, locations, etc. Of course you'll say "only that?", it has been said since the hangar was available, then the quick death mach with other ships, etc. I think or should be available a type of Battlefield sort of game.

    I get it, some people wanted here and now instead of postponing something with the aim to gain more. Is the human nature.

    In general, it is funny to see people wanting this to fail while probably blaming other games that don't innovate enough. :)
     
  8. Darujhistan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 4,242



    "The Almighty Physics grids" - :D 8 years and $250M+ and we're talking about physics grids! is that gaming has come to?

    I don't want to see SC fail as the damage is already done, you have all informed other devs and publishers just how far much further they can push the "give us something for nothing" envelope with your idiotic spending.
     
  9. Vega

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 12, 2010

    Posts: 1,567

    Location: Washington D.C.

    Anyone who thinks by far the most complex/ambitious game software development ever initiated was going to be accomplished in 1-2 years, no matter what was "said", doesn't know anything about software development.
     
  10. varkanoid

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 31, 2007

    Posts: 9,901

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    Wasn't that Chris Roberts ? :D
     
  11. Calin Banc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 14, 2009

    Posts: 1,061

    Well, you seem to take what you want from the discussion and minimize everything that is progress. But a point of view like that is not that bad, at least is keeping some pressure on the project. But I fear that upon lunch, even if is good, the tune will change into "only this?".

    Exactly. Plenty of examples to go around.
     
  12. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 7, 2008

    Posts: 16,381

    Fixed using USA VPN connection
     
  13. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,057

    I discovered today that if you log out of the launcher, close it, and log back in it fixes the 16007 issue....
     
  14. Matmulder

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 21, 2004

    Posts: 2,463

    Location: South Staffs

    That didn't work for me - even after resets, validations, all kinds.

    The only thing that's fixed it has been changing my DNS servers, and flushing the DNS. No idea why - but switching between ISP, OpenDNS, Google and the like fixes it first time.
     
  15. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,057

    Ah ok :)

    [​IMG]
     
  16. bmad

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 22, 2007

    Posts: 163

    Well 3.9 is broken for me. On the rare occasion I do get in the game it crashes pretty much every time. I've not managed more than 10 minutes. 3.8 was fine. Bloody annoying as it's looking more like a proper game now.
     
  17. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,057

    What GPU?
    Do you have any custom Page File Settings? it doesn't like that...
     
  18. jonneymendoza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 7, 2008

    Posts: 16,381

    3.10 should be out in 3 weeks time or so. Also once free flight is over, servers should be a bit more stable
     
  19. bmad

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 22, 2007

    Posts: 163

    2080ti. I looked at the page file as per another guide and it looked ok. What exactly do I need to do with it? Cheers!
     
  20. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 34,057

    Well that's plenty of GPU..... Let Windows do the page file, i remember locking mine to 16GB because of SSD space and it didn't like it, i have a larger NVMe drive now..

    Once i'm in it runs for hours without crashing.